We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy, clean, friendly...a great bargain!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bayfront Inn
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy, clean, friendly...a great bargain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

My husband and I spent two nights in an upstairs, king bed room. We also brought our two dogs along and collapsible kennels for both. The service staff was very helpful and extremely friendly! Everyone we met struck up friendly conversation with welcoming smiles and pets for our dogs. The amenities were great including cold juice and water in the in-room fridge, a lovely little snack basket, treats for the dogs, and blankets for the dogs (you get to take these home with you which we thought was a very nice touch). We arrived early and the manager made sure the room was ready and had us check in early. She even showed us the room before we checked in to make sure that it would be big enough to fit our dog kennels. The rooms are very small but are impeccably clean and well maintained. The entire hotel is decorated very nicely and has wonderful outdoor areas to sit and enjoy the view. The continental breakfast is simple but more than adequate, plus, you get a voucher for yummy cinnamon rolls from the restaurant next door. We were very happy with our experience here. The manager made us feel very welcome and offered wine glasses and a wine opener to have in our room for the evening and have us advice on where to find an off leash dog beach. Yes, the rooms are small and nothing extravagant, but they are cozy, comfortable, clean and we spend most of the day out of it anyway. We will definitely stay here again and will reccommend it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Courtney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attherock, General Manager at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you so much for these comments. We really try hard to please our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    153
    43
    20
    14
See reviews for
87
263
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed one night on our way to Carmel. I guess the best I can say is we got what we paid for. Tiny, tiny, tiny room, basically no closet, and EARLY in the morning the waterfront workers start their trucks so you get awakened by the beep, beep , beep as they backup. Okay, so we could see the rock --that is thru the electric wires -- but we could have spent a little more and found a much better and restful place to stay

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attherock, General Manager at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
All of the electrical lines along the waterfront, where we are, are underground so I don't know what this guest is talking about when she refers to seeing the view from between electrical lines. This guest stayed here in February at an extremely discounted rate. They occupied room#12, a picture of which is online. Our rooms are fully disclosed on the website. This room offers a Queen bed, a desk, and you can see the alcove closet. While it works for some of our guests, it doesn't for others. Our closet areas are open alcoves providing shelves and a hanging area - quite adequate for a short stay. This guest was here for 1 night. Pictures of all our rooms, and views, are posted on our website.
Currently on the waterfront, the City is putting in a new water line to better serve the City. This is a short term project and must be what this guest is referring to. They do not start until 8am. The project will be completed in May. Unfortunately, this complaint is one we can't control.
Sorry this guest didn't mention how clean our rooms are and all the perks they enjoyed with along with their discounted stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

My mom and I came over to the coast from the Central Valley of CA for the weekend. We stayed at the Bayfront Inn for the first time. It's a very clean and cute place. Staff is friendly and there are some nice places to sit and relax on the patio areas. The rooms are extremely small, but again, very clean. The only downfall of this place is that it is old and the walls are thin. If you like to sleep in, this won't happen. People seem to rise early at this place and we had a family that was very social and stood outside of our window and gabbed from 7:30 am til nearly 9.

I would stay here again, but next time, I will bring earplugs...LOL! Seriously, it's a perfect little place to stay on the Embacadero. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attherock, General Manager at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay in our little place and sorry about your next door neighbors. We post Quiet Time at 10pm ... maybe we should institute a Quite Time from 10pm to 8am. Lots of guests who stay at the sea and here because of our great location like to rise early. We begin our continental breakfast at 7am because of this. Sorry about you not being able to sleep in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

These ladies are great! My mom and I stayed in a downstairs room. The wifi and cell reception was inconsistent and they graciously moved us upstairs. The move remedied the problem and there was no charge for the upgrade. These ladies will bend over backwards for you if they can.

The building and rooms were well maintained and clean. Linens were really nice. The view of the bay and Morro Rock was fantastic! I highly recommend this place to anyone who likes a good deal and great service. A wonderful way to really experience Morro Bay.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room. The view and cell reception is much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attherock, General Manager at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to make review. We try so hard to please our guests and when we can't we are sorry...and take slack for it even when we try. Really appreciate this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here recently and were extremely disappointed because we paid extra for an "ocean" view room and were given a room where at least 50% of the view was of a wall and the rest was of Morro rock and a bit of the bay. When we inquired nicely about why we were given that room when we had booked an ocean view room, the woman who checked us in gave us what felt like a lecture that we got that room because we booked on booking.com and would have gotten a better room had we booked on their site. She said we would have paid about the same had we booked on their site but we did research this in advance and did not find it to be the case. The way she talked to us made us feel like we had done something "bad" and we were baffled why she would talk to us in this way. We are seasoned travellers and have never experienced a rude person like this---Most proprietors truly do want their customers to be happy and have better communication skills even if they are unable to change the room. We knew the room was going to be small but the reason we stayed at this hotel was for the advertised view. We tried to make the best of it but the people in the room next to us sat in the 2 chairs outside and the area is so small that the guy's head was right in front of the limited view that we did have! The walls are so thin that we could hear what they were saying and we whispered to each other so the guests outside wouldn't hear us talking. This hotel should not advertise/sell rooms as "ocean" view because the property sits too low to actually see the ocean. A few of the upstairs rooms did have unobstructed views of the bay and rock which could legitimately be advertised as as bay view. I am not a complainer and have never written a negative review but felt compelled to write since I feel it is deceptive to rent that room as "ocean" view and have managemen seem to not care that it really is not.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attherock, General Manager at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
There is a view of the ocean from this room, from the window. Morro Bay sits on the bay. Beyond the jetty is the ocean. Low tide or high tide, you can see the ocean beyond the jetty and the sand spit. Yes, the property sits at sea level because we are directly across from the water. Admittedly, these guests would have had a more defined view of the ocean from a hotel that on higher level, and blocks away from our waterfront location. These guests booked their reservation with a 3rd party as they stated. There are pictures of the rooms and of our view online. There are pictures of the rooms and views on our website. The room that these guests occupied has a wonderful view from the window. The door to the room is not in a view location, but when all doors are closed, you can't see through them....hence the 50%. Upon occupying this room, these guests came down to the front desk and wanted an "upgrade" to a king bed room next door, less than 3 feet away from their window. We would have accommodated them if we had not been fully booked that weekend. We tried to explain this to these guests, but because they could not move they were upset. What we did explain to them was that because they booked with a 3rd party that the room is assigned by availability. If a guest books themselves directly on our website, then they can choose and book a room directly. It was not our intention to make them feel bad. Regarding the guests that were sitting outside of the rooms which these guests could hear; our quiet time is at 10pm, and we enforce this. All of our guests are encouraged to enjoy our landing and patios and to bring up extra chairs if they need them to enjoy the natural sea life and working harbor, and the truly wonderful sunsets. I wish I could post a picture. Sorry that this booking was not as happy as most of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
2.0 km away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.4 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.8 km away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Inn

Property: Bayfront Inn
Address: 1150 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2040 (Formerly Adventure Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,220 - ₹ 12,701
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront 16 Unit 2 story walk up Motel Revival, quaint,on Morro Bay's Embarcadero. Walk to beach, harbor, all entertainment, restaurants, and shopping. Many upper floor rooms have spectacular views of Harbor, and Morro Rock. Limited rooms Pet Friendly with additional fee. No smoking facility. Room Amenities: flat screen TVs, Keurig Coffee Makers, Sm Refrig, Hair Dryer, bottled water, juice packs, snacks, Expanded cable TV & HBO. Light continental breakfast each morning includes hard boiled eggs, cereals, bread for toasting, etc., Along with freshly baked cinnamon buns. Special rates and packages available all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bayfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing