We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb location”
Review of Bayfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayfront Inn
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Superb location”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Close to Morro Rock and an easy stroll down the Embarcadero to many fine restaurants and tourist type shops. I agree wholeheartedly with all the complimentary reviews and would certainly return to this location. My only regrets were the size of the room and bath and the telephone service. Three phone calls to the hotel itself could not be transferred to my room and this same difficulty happened on two different days. The staff is divine, warm and accommodating, but this insoluble phone glitch troubled my aged aunt who worried about me when she was unable to get through. The morning cinnamon rolls, free wi-fi and the offerings in the 'galley' of the hotel were wonderful. But when others mention that the rooms are small, they ARE. I had a large and small dog with me and when their beds were placed on the floor, getting around the queen bed, the dog beds, and the one small desk and chair made trips to the bathroom a bit of an obstacle course. The dog bones on the bed, dog dishes and other treats were most welcome, but there were four hangars in the closet, no drawers at all, and very little room in the bathroom for basic toiletries. The hospitality and location will tempt me to return, but if I have the pets with me, I will hope to find a larger room.

Room Tip: Ask for their larger rooms, but don't expect much storage space. If you are one the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    154
    44
    20
    14
See reviews for
87
266
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This motel is right on the front with a good view of Morro Rock. However, that also means it is next door to the power station - which emits a low 'humming sound' at all times (you are aware of it, but it is not particularly annoying.) It was fairly pleasant and a bit quirky - a change from chain hotels which are all the same. When we were there it was decked out for Halloween which made it even more 'eccentric-seeming'. The room and bed were clean and presentable, if a little on the 'quirky' side decor-wise and a bit on the small side.The breakfast arrangements were quite odd - with coffee, buns, fruit, yogurt and micro-waved oatmeal being available in the tiny kitchen for you to take back to your room. You could also get free cinnamon buns (which were delicious) from the on-site restaurant. This was all a bit of a palaver and it would have been easier just to give you a discount on breakfast from the restaurant. All in all we enjoyed our brief stay. Fine for a one or two night stopover. Wouldn't want to stay much longer.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neilsong18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attherock, General Manager at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay. The power plant is natural gas and only runs when the "grid" needs additional electricity. We are fun and quirky. Hope to see you again soon - Thank you for your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhode island
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed here overnight on a trip up the coast.

Staff was very friendly, the room was very clean, and there was a basket of salt water taffy and other treats in the room when we arrived. We chose a smaller room, because it fit our needs and was less expensive. The room that we rented had two twin beds, which was all we needed (mother daughter trip) and there was everything we could have asked for: refrigerator, coffee maker,,. hair dryer, tv, internet... and a gift card for 2 free cinnamon buns at the cafe nextdoor.

These were amazing buns, and so was the breakfast that we had. The hotel offers a continental breakfast as well. They had fresh, locally roasted coffee and fruit, oatmeal, etc... for all the guests.
The rock is right in the front yard, and the hotel islocated at one end of the main waterfront area.
Good restaurants and some shops were very close.

They also use all natural cleaners, wash all rugs daily, and love to welcome people with pets. The pet friendly rooms are treated with all natural cedar based cleaner after each use.

Though it wasn't fancy, this was a very nice place to stay! clean and friendly, it's not the Ritz, but still gets my top vote!

Room Tip: This is the first hotel I've ever found that had some rooms with twin beds. This worked great f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhodeygem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

On our way from San Francisco to Los Angeles we decided to spend one night in this hotel. When we arrived we were welcomed very warmly by a friendly lady who made us feel welcome. The hotel is located right at the harbor and gives you a nice view. When you are outside, you can hear the seals bark and see the pelicans fly. The room was nice and clean. We slept very well here. It was so quiet. Close by there are plenty restaurants. In the town of Morro Bay, absolutely nothing was going on. Extremely quit. Maybe off season, we don’t know. Reasonably priced, good value.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruud61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtz.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

convenient location to waterfront. great view of morro rock just outside your door. you can get in a nice leisurely walk to either the rock, restaurants, or stores.

Room Tip: Lower rooms have convenient access to parking. Nice little cafe called Frankies and Lola's just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boxersdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
2.0 km away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.4 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.8 km away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Inn

Property: Bayfront Inn
Address: 1150 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2040 (Formerly Adventure Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,299 - ₹ 13,565
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront 16 Unit 2 story walk up Motel Revival, quaint,on Morro Bay's Embarcadero. Walk to beach, harbor, all entertainment, restaurants, and shopping. Many upper floor rooms have spectacular views of Harbor, and Morro Rock. Limited rooms Pet Friendly with additional fee. No smoking facility. Room Amenities: flat screen TVs, Keurig Coffee Makers, Sm Refrig, Hair Dryer, bottled water, juice packs, snacks, Expanded cable TV & HBO. Light continental breakfast each morning includes hard boiled eggs, cereals, bread for toasting, etc., Along with freshly baked cinnamon buns. Special rates and packages available all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Bayfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing