We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Special” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anderson Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morro Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anderson Inn
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just Special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Travelling on business from the UK I've tended to stay in Marriott's because they are soulless yet good quality.

So I thought I'd have a change and go I dependant. I'm sat here in a room over the water with the window open listening to the water lapping against the building. (with the ocasional grunting from the sealions!) Just lovely. The room has everything you could possibly require and - for once - there are no additional charges. Water, WiFi, parking are all included.

Ate at the 'in-house' restaurant which was truly lovely and very good value.

All in all a place to remember. I'll be coming back with my Wife as soon as possible

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coolvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    28
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
139
340
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

My daughters and I just returned from a wonderful weekend in Morro Bay. Made wonderful by our stay at the Anderson Inn. Molly and her brothers were so welcoming, and helpful. We felt as though we were visiting family. The Inn is absolutely spotless! Our every need was met, and beyond. The rooms were comfortable, with an over the ocean room complimented with a fireplace that keeps the room cozy and warm. The linens high thread count, and beautiful. As well as thick fluffy towels. Molly was so helpful with ideas of what to do while visiting Morro Bay. I would highly recommend staying here, and can not wait to return!!

Room Tip: Get the room over the water that is shown on the website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 93108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

What a nice inn! Very personable, absolutely clean, and not a single detail missed. No charge for bottled water, free wireless internet, ipod player, beautifully decorated - even the temperature controls were set up on a remote so you wouldn't have to get out of bed to adjust the temp! Here's the topper...REAL cream brought to your room after check-in instead of the powdered stuff for morning coffee. Wife was in heaven - and that's ALWAYS a good thing.

I can easily see why this has such a high rating. Only warning for those wanting absolute quiet is the live music next door that shuts down around 10-11 pm. Wasn't all that troublesome, but thought someone would want to know.

One other add is the Galley restaurant downstairs is a real treat. Great food and service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bick2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Royalton, Vermont
Level Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We picked this hotel based on other travelers' reviews, and we can only echo their positive comments. Our room (201) was wonderful, with a balcony and windows on two walls overlooking the harbor and the bay. Jeff Anderson was a welcoming a host as we have ever experienced, and he made us feel immediately welcome and appreciated. This is a well-run family hotel that is clearly the pride and joy of its owners (where else would you find pictures of the housekeeping staff in the welcoming in-room brochure?). The room was tastefully decorated, with a large (soft) bed, and huge bathroom with shower and tub (with spa jets). We loved the hotel, and found Morro Bay fun to visit, though the ghastly power plant on the harbor really takes away from the otherwise idyllic fishing cove look of the village. The way we were received at the Anderson Inn made us feel that we always want to look for similar family-run small hotels when we travel.

Room Tip: Room 201 at the corner of the building is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jhugon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

My hubby and I "stumbled" upon this gem of an inn and can't wait to go back!! From the moment you arrive you feel like they were waiting just for you and you are #1! Mollie and Jeff, two of the owners, warmly greeted us, escorted us to our room in time for a spectacular sunset and were so welcoming, we felt like we were family! Then we went to the restaurant and had the best oysters rocker feller I've ever had.......along with a great meal! And for the "entertainment" we were serenaded by the sounds of the sea lions and amused by the sea otters.......who needs Sea World?!? Hated to leave, but look so forward to going back!! Thank you Mollie and Jeff!!

Room Tip: We were in #2.....GREAT, but there are only 8 rooms so can't imagine any are bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGnome1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.5 km away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.8 km away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.5 km away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anderson Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anderson Inn

Property: Anderson Inn
Address: 897 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2147
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,967 - ₹ 18,889
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Anderson Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing