We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sushi grade!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loulou's Griddle In The Middle

Loulou's Griddle In The Middle
Ranked #5 of 297 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Diner, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Loulou's Griddle in the Middle is the tiny diner on Wharf #2. We always say we're "tiny but mighty." We cook with a lot of heart, soul, and deep care about every detail. We aim to make your experience comfortable, fun, delicious, and a little like being at a home-away-from-home. The kitchen is open so you can see our chefs preparing right in front of you. Our community of customers--both local and visitors from far away--also make Loulou's special. We bend over backwards to accomodate your requests, when we can, and we might crown you with a tiara if your requests are many....but all in fun. The diner opened in 1948, so it's rich with history. We're blessed with one customer, Henry, who has been coming EVERY morning since 1948 and he's earned a customized stool, a plaque, his own coffee mug, and a warm place in our hearts.
Paso Robles, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sushi grade!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Went to Loulou's with my wife and daughter. Small place on Wharf II but WOW! We had the Calamari, Seared Ahi and Fish and Chips. The Calamari and Ahi were Sushi grade. The Fish and Chips were greasy. No worries. You could cut the Ahi with a fork and melted in your mouth. It was bedded w/a great salad and laced lightly w/wasabi. The Calamari was very tender, which generally is not found outside of Hawaii, flavorful and the dipping sauce was awesome.
We made Loulou's tops as our "go to" place for a relaxing, value based place in Monterey.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DWiedmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    729
    245
    69
    28
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Verrua Savoia, Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice seafood on the Old Wharf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

I like this place, it is far enough from its extremely touristic neighbors on the newer Wharf.
Ideal for lunch, it opens for dinner as well (not until late). I have not Had my breakfast here, but it is quite fashionable for that as well.
Professional very informal service, what yo may expect in such a place.
It is nice sitting outside, if weather allows. Inside it is very nice as well.
The salad preparation is absolutely great! Same for sandwiches and burgers.
Seafood tastes seafood, which is not automatic in the surroundings.
I am returning back, when in Monterey ...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monferrato_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best place yet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Just finished a fabulous dinner at LouLou's. Calamari is incredibly tender, abalone was incredible. Teenage boys each had the comfort food special: skirt steak. Delicious! Tons of food in a quaint, lively setting. Great service, fun staff, excellent food. A must do in Monterey.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not exactly what was expecting...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Had the calamari appetizer and it was very greasy. Fish and chips were greasy as well. The fish was well cooked but there was nothing special with the 'chips'. Place is very small and we had a table inside unfortunately right next to the dish washing station so it was quite loud. Service was reasonably good given the crowd and the prices reasonable but I think I would be happier to pay a bit more for a bit better quality food.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank db6540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best place in Monterey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Forget Fishermans Wharf, go to Loulou's if you want good food and more! Cute, small place, great seafood and burgers, good beers, staff very welcoming. The chef turned the desert (cheesecake) into a culinary sculpture. And our daughter won the lotery: a free meal!

Helpful?
1 Thank Hugo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loulou's Griddle In The Middle also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Loulou's Griddle In The Middle? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing