We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
San Mateo, CA
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We decided on Saturday to go to Monterey on Sunday for two nights. The two or three places we have stayed at in the past were booked so I looked around the web for other options. With a high rating from Tripadvisor and availability we booked our stay.

We had a King room on the third floor and it was very spacious with high ceilings, fireplace, large flat screen TV and two sinks in the bath area. Two things that we especially liked were they provided a rubber bath mat to use in the tub/shower so you don't slip and the remote for the TV has a sealed surface so it can be cleaned properly.

The staff was efficient and helpful. The breakfast was similar to what most of the chain hotels are offering now with three hot items along with the cereals, muffins, fruits, drinks etc.

The location is central to the area activities and we enjoyed our spur of the moment stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavenCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    632
    155
    50
    25
See reviews for
488
877
47
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We were looking for a hotel that was centrally located so that we wouldn't have to drive to the Aquarium, Cannery Row, dinner, etc. The Victorian Inn was perfect! Our room was clean, quiet, convenient AND ready for us when we arrived at 3pm (check in is 4pm). The hotel hosts a wine and cheese reception every afternoon at 4:30 and a very substantial breakfast buffet every morning from 7-10am. I have to say, my hubby and I are pretty picky, but we both kept saying that we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda94519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM-ManagerResponse, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thanks for the mighty fine review!! On behalf of the entire Victorian Inn team, we appreciate it! We hope you will make that return trip soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallatin, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

It was just ok for us. I was expecting nicer for the price we paid. Not a place for little ones. Had to carry the stroller up and down steps. The screen door in our room had no lock on it to keep a two year old in. The heat was turned completely off. Glad my husband could figure out how to get that on. First floor was not the place to be. View of only a noisy street. I will not stay there again.
Visiting from Tennessee. And not knowing the area and only going by reviews was not a smart thing to do. This place is not as good as some of the reviews implied.

Room Tip: Don't believe all the reviews. Think twice if you see a review that is less that attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim1252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Firstly, I want to thank this reviewer for taking the time to share their experience with us and with their fellow travelers; feedback from our guests is our best tool for making improvements, and we are always grateful for the opportunity.

That being said, I am sorry to hear that this reviewer was so disappointed with their stay. Specifically, I want to apologize that the elevators weren’t properly pointed out. Normally our hotel is well received by families, and we all regret that our hotel was not able to provide the kind of experience that was expected.

Should this reviewer, or any other traveler, wish to speak to one of our managers about a question or concern, please don’t hesitate to give us a call. We are always happy to speak with any of our past, current, or future guests.

Thank you,
the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugus, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Victorian Inn. Got a nice room with two queen beds, nice TV, fireplace and outside patio which had a sneaky way into the jacuzzi. Parking was $13 extra, but we ended up walking to the Cannery in the morning and left the car behind. We were 4 adults and had no problem. We didn't feeling cramped. Nice continental breakfast included with french toast, omelets, sausage, muffins, cereal, juices, etc. Free newspaper. Very tasty seafood restaurant down the street.

Room Tip: Our room was 124 and it had the back way to the jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turlock, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Our room was beautiful, clean and recently updated. It is very convenient for walking to Cannery Row. The afternoon wine and morning breakfast was very generous and delicious. Our room was on the street which was a bit noisy on a weekday morning, but otherwise fine. We got it for a fabuous price which made it a wonderful value.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler33197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,612 reviews
0.3 km away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,360 reviews
2.0 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.3 km away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,922 - ₹ 23,714
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing