We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location isn't everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Stevenson Monterey
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location isn't everything”
Reviewed 13 January 2012

They only had a room with one bed for my family and me (four of us). It was already past midnight, and their only offer was to cancel my pre-paid reservation and charge us full price on a room with two beds, with not one cent credit for which we had already paid.

When I asked the day manager why I couldn't have been offered a roll-out bed for a fee, he was extremely antagonistic and said the night manager can't leave his "post!" It was not like there was a crowd in the office at 12:30... If you stay here, I hope you don't have any problems, whatsoever...

The rooms are small, dirty, old, and the motel doesn't have nearly enough parking for that size of a building. Although it is downtown, is that so great? If I was a thief, I'd prefer their tiny underground garage to carry out my trade.

I'd rather be in the center of Pacific Grove or Carmel, and drive to the wharf!! If you have a problem-- these people will care less!! Bad Karma!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catsseat, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Unfortunately, one Third Party sometimes books rooms with one queen bed for folks trying to get two Queen beds. The lower rate with one queen bed is seen and booked by the unsuspecting guest and the Third Party rate plan will not allow us to change the bed type. This is likely what occurred in this instance. We find out the guest’s need upon the guest’s arrival.
We offered to place this customer in the room type they requested but had been unable to book originally with the Third Party. We only offered this because the room type was available upon their arrival. Our rooms are not small and in the last week the AAA inspector said our housekeeping department was great as no room cleaning issues could be found. We are located in the center of Monterey, a world class resort destination, offering 100% non-smoking rooms with free Wi-Fi and all newly refurbished rooms.
Craig Smith, Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    263
    142
    40
    27
See reviews for
177
289
33
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Monterey is a beautiful beautiful place. It has a charming historic European kind of feel to it. The hotel is very central - walking distance to Amtrak thruway bus stop at transit plaza. You can walk easily at a slow pace to Alvarado Street, Wharf and Cannery row. The walk to cannery row was very refreshing with great views.

If you are passing through Monterey, this is a great hotel. If you are on a week long honeymoon then it probably is not. The rooms are clean with a good TV and a safe ($1.50 charge). We stayed there for a night, explored Monterey on foot in the morning followed by a movie bus tour. But exploring this place and around needs at least a week as there's lots to see - big sur, lighthouse, bixby bridge, point lobos, carmel, pebble beach, 17 mile drive etc. You can get an overview by doing a movie bus tour.

Monterey is a very safe place. You can almost sense that it is safe. There is an Indian restaurant called Ambrosia about 5 min walk from the hotel (come out of the hotel and turn left) which is very good. Alvarado street has plenty of restaurants - a very charming street.

Wifi is free at the hotel. Breakfast is basic - cereals, bread, healthy oatmeal etc. It does the job fine. You can take it to your room as there are only three tables.

It is good value for the money. The other hotels are expensive - so it depends what you want out of your stay.

Room Tip: Switch on the air con to drown out any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prash123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catsseat, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for a great review. Many guests discover our location in the center of Monterey like you and you put it into words. Monterey is truly charming and does take some leisure time to discover.
Fortunately from here you can do it all on foot. Our breakfast room has 3 tables for 4 guests each.
And we have 4 more tables right outside. Breakfast is served each morning from 7 am to 10 am.
Coffee and tea are available in the lobby 24 hours per day. We will see you on your next visit!

Craig Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I had mixed feelings about choosing this motel after reading other reviews here... but in the end i am really glad we did!! My family and i stayed for 2 nights and were very pleased! The room was nicely decorated, clean, and comfortable. The staff was very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. The breakfast offered each morning included 2 kinds of cereal, oatmeal, boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, 3 kinds of juice, toast, and a variety of muffins. The only downsides for us were 1) we had chosen this location specifically for the pool so the kids could swim-- it is currently closed for renovations. 2) there is quite a bit of street noise. Running the a/c covered most of the sound except for the brakes on the buses. It wasnt terrible, but if youre a light sleeper, you may want to bring earplugs.

Overall this was a great place for a weekend getaway and we will visit again the next time we are in town :0)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klier_calling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catsseat, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you for the positive review. We are glad you stayed 2 nights and noticed the room was nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. Our staff is, as you stated, very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The new swimming pool looks great and will be open again next week. We started bringing many rooms up to date in the summer and are actually finishing these paint and tile projects now. We do take pride in the property. Come again soon!

Craig Smith
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

The good points - centrally located , room is clean and good value for money BUT if you are looking for a decent nights sleep then avoid . The position of the 'hotel' is right next to a petrol station on a busy crossroads so traffic noise is loud ALL NIGHT . Ok, so this is maybe to be expected ish , however the walls are paper thin and we could literally hear every conversation and every tv program that was going on in the next room . Ok in the day but at midnight when you have a long drive the next day , it is slightly annoying to say the least . There are plenty of other inns and motels further along Mundas ave so if you don't mind an extra 5 or 10 minutes walk to the harbour then I would definitely advise it , otherwise pack your ear plugs !

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wishiwasthere78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catsseat, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you for noticing a few of our strong points being centrally located, clean room and good value for the money. Traffic exists but is not all night long as Monterey is a small, quiet residential community right on the ocean. WE are 4 blocks from the beach The walls are normal and insulated. Some of our rooms have connecting doors. Our 24 hour desk is ready and willing to answer questions and any guest concerns. We have Pillowtop bed systems in each room. Many guests come back because we have these Simmons Pillowtop beds.

Craig Smith
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Please don't stay here without checking others first.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry33a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, 18 July 2015
Thank you for your review. Sorry there was a misunderstanding. You liked our location.
Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.5 km away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#18 of 55 in Monterey
554 reviews
0.0 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.4 km away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#35 of 55 in Monterey
531 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stevenson Monterey? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stevenson Monterey

Property: The Stevenson Monterey
Address: 675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-3107 (Formerly Monterey Downtown Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
#19 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#20 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,429 - ₹ 20,607
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Stevenson Monterey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 51 unit boutique hotel in one of the most central, city center locations in Monterey. We are a 12 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and the Ocean Front Rec Trail. We are 100% non-smoking with air conditioners, an outdoor seasonally heated pool, hair dryers, free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, a 24 hr front desk and a very experienced front desk staff. Monterey Bay is one of the most outstanding vacation destinations in the United States. The Stevenson hotel is perfectly located in historic downtown Monterey, California. Our Monterey hotel is within a short distance to the well-known attractions like Monterey Bay Aquarium etc. And minutes from exciting whale watching cruises, diving, amazing parks, wineries and restaurants. Our delightful hotel features two types of guestrooms, one Queen Bed room and two Queen Beds room, all rooms are spacious, stylish with a host of modern lifestyle amenities. Ideal for the family or romantic getaway and are equipped with the highest quality amenities, including air conditioning, wireless internet, HD TVs, Cable TV, alarm clock, iron, ironing board, lamp, safe, hypoallergenic pillows, hairdryers, and Eco-friendly bath amenities. Our downtown Monterey hotel places you within walking distance from the most popular attractions, golf courses, beautiful beaches, and restaurants. Monterey is home to the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, Carmel By-The-Sea, Pebble Beach, and 17-Mile Drive. The Stevenson hotel in Monterey is located very close to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row where fine cuisine and boutique shops await your visit and offers exciting glimpses of fabulous seafood. Popular restaurant boast a full range of excellent dining options such as Rosines, Lallapalooza, Bubba Gump Shrimp Company, Abalonetti Seafood Trattoria, and Monterey Fish House. Also, experience delicious culinary excellence at Old Fisherman's Grotto, Bistro Moulin, Restaurant 1833, Montrio Bistro,and Ambrosia India Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Stevenson Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Downtown Travelodge Hotel Monterey
Travelodge Monterey
Travel Lodge Monterey
Monterey Travel Lodge
Monterey Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing