We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott needs to lift its game.”
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #17 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Mosman, NSW, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Marriott needs to lift its game.”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Marriott needs to shut this place down and redo it to travellers requirements for the 21st century. It is overpriced for what you get. The elevators are totally inadequate. The rooms are small and cramped and the overall ambience is tired. The staff are pleasant, as one would expect from any Marriott, but not enough to draw me back. The breakfast buffet is very average, by Marriott standards. Overall, a disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjpooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    526
    225
    72
    28
See reviews for
382
398
34
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

i don't know what the complaints are about - full disclosure: i stayed here during a conference, so i did not pay a dime; however, the 2nd floor (a.k.a., not a "renovated" floor) is just fine. i have a "city view" but meh, i'm not here for the scenery. the king sized bed has SIX pillows! to top it off, it's CLEAN. enough said :) rated 4 star since i am staying for free, and have no idea what the value for my dollar would have been. but, it's CLEAN. that matters.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Letty_AgMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012 via mobile

I was here on business and am a frequent traveller with Marriott. Overall the hotel was good, primarily because of the dated accommodations. I need to note that the staff across the board is outstanding. Very friendly, helpful, and knowledgable. Lobby and restaurant are nice and well done, however, the rooms seem a bit dated. They are very clean - just would have expected more from Marriott and the location.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank es_in_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

I probably should rate the hotel as average, but the staff saved the day. From the moment you get out of your car, the staff a very, very friendly without being pushy. The front desk staff was exceptional and the numerous valet and door attendants were on top of their game as well.

The lobby is nice, but really nothing too special. The location is great. Not on Cannery Row, but quite close to the wharf and the awesome recreational trail. It is a pretty long walk to Cannery Row, but it is a very pleasant walk if you take the trail.

The room was large. The decor was nothing special. Windows do crack open so you can enjoy the cool air. I had a partial bay view which was nice.

The fitness room was simply horrible for a Marriott. 4 men trying to work out in the tiny weight area was a complete joke. 3 treadmills. Sad.

As indicated, but for the staff, this would be an average Marriott.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank FTLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Clean but old and smells like a hospital. Other than that ok place and a bit old and out dated for this room rate from my perspective.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.9 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 km away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.7 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 55 in Monterey
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,609 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#9 of 55 in Monterey
581 reviews
0.6 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Property: Monterey Marriott
Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,522 - ₹ 30,787
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing