We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We chose this hotel based on price, location and allowing all 5 of us in one room. The hotel was clean, nicely appointed, and had a friendly staff. The room was plenty big, and breakfast, while not the Ritz, was definitely more than adequate and offered everthing from yogurt to bacon to pancakes. Very gool location and value for the money. Parking was also good and free.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidwestMagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you so much for this review! It's so nice when things turn out better than expected, isn't it? :) We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Cannery Row hotel and were able to take advantage of our close proximity of local attractions. Thanks again for writing such a great review, and we hope to see you again next time you travel to Monterey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

494 - 498 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

Though an older remodeled Express it does fit the location image wise. We were on a top floor and found the wind noise from window leakage a bit of a bother. Short walk to Cannery row in one direction and 15 min. walk downtown in the other. Breakfast was okay.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

We're so glad that our location close to Cannery Row and the Aquarium worked well for you, and thank you so much for your compliment to our staff! We really appreciate that. Hope that you will come and stay with us again next time you're in Monterey, and thanks so much for writing in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed one night here and it was fine - good value, good location, and good breakfast - it was quiet for us on top floor, but our friends had people above them and said it was very noisy. No bottled water available, only soda machine and it only took dollar bills.

Room Tip: Stay on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Thank you so much for your review! We're really glad that you enjoyed yourselves here. And thank you for the tip about the sodas - there was a problem with the dispenser but we are working with our supplier to be sure to offer bottled water as a choice from now on. Thanks so much for bringing this up!

Thanks again for your review, we hope that you will choose our Cannery Row hotel again next time you're in Monterey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed on the 3rd floor and it was quiet but an odd array of stairs are required to reach it. Front desk staff were accommodating and breakfast was okay but the location is what makes this hotel worth it. Just steps away from a trail that goes ten miles down the beach. It's also a shortcut to cannery row. Right across the street is a very fancy hotel Montery Plaza so you can enjoy their courtyard,restaurants,and shops and the beach. It's so beautiful there. Also everyday in the lobby at 530 they have cheap wine,crackers and cheese which is a nice touch.The price of this hotel --almost 200/night is steep but it really is about location and comfy beds.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

We're so glad that you liked the hotel and were able to enjoy our convenient location on Cannery Row. Congratulations on being able to enjoy so many of the nearby attractions! We hope that you will be able to come and stay at our hotel again next time you're in Monterey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We spent 3 nights here and had a wonderful time. The property is neat, clean, and in a great location. It is an easy and pleasant walk to anything you would want to do in the area: Cannery Row, Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, dining, etc. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOB67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Thanks so much for letting us know you enjoyed the hotel! We're so glad that our proximity to Cannery Row was convenient for you and you were able to enjoy the local attractions. Please come and stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Cannery Row next time you're in Monterey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 km away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
2.1 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 56 in Monterey
345 reviews
1.4 km away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 56 in Monterey
1,348 reviews
0.3 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Address: 443 Wave St, Monterey, CA 93940-1424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: ₹ 9,955 - ₹ 27,951 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Pacific Ocean and historic Cannery Row - some rooms with ocean view! Luxurious boutique-style hotel completely remodeled summer of 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row Hotel Monterey
Holiday Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing