We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special but good value.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Park Crest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Park Crest Inn
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nothing special but good value.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Not quite in the town centre. Good value for the price. Clean, spacious room, helpful manager who resolved a special request quickly and with no fuss, usual BW continental breakfast. Comfortable bed. No a/c, which apparently is usual in older hotels in Monterey, not an issue during our stay but would be if very hot weather.

Room Tip: Second floor preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    239
    134
    33
    14
See reviews for
226
221
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

The hotel has some age but the staff is very nice. Breakfast is average for the hotel type but clean and plentiful.

My biggest complaint is though the room had been redone very recently, the carpet was still wet from shampooing and smelled musty when re-entering after being gone.

The location is good and as stated, the staff is friendly and helpful. I was only there two nights movoing son to grad school and was using points..so..Had I been paying I probably would have asked to change rooms due to musty smell.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank divenhike2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Spent one night here on our tour of northern California. Rather than saying this was the worst place we stayed I'll say it was the least good place - it wasn't bad, it was just an average motel with a need for modernisation. It was clean, quiet and the front desk staff were very friendly (unlike the staff at the Best Western Plus down the road where I stopped for directions). It's too far from "town" - the main street at the wharf - to walk so had to take the car.

The included breakfast was a typical motel affair, but the breakfast room is little more than a cupboard so got very cramped soon.

The room, a king suite, cost $148 when booked on the Best Western site. We stayed in much (much) better places for less on our tour but I suppose that Monterey prices. Had a microwave and full fridge in the room. No air-con, just a very big fan that looked like it was off an everglades boat. Did the job.

Probably wouldn't stay there again - I'd look for something a bit more up-market, but I'd have to pay more I reckon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flatliner3544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

extremely noisy! The shower was laughable. The head was so high that you could only get the water to hit you if you stood at the very far end of the tub. I am 5'8" and can't imagine anyone shorter even getting wet in there. The continental breakfast was your normal cheap carb fest served in a room the size of a closet. Seating for maybe 12 people max. I could not wait to check out! I will say that the desk clerk was super nice and tried hard to fix the problems.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank empalmer52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

So they have a few large family suites. This includes a small living room area with a pull out couch and a tv, and then a larger room with the two beds like a normal hotel room. The first thing we noticed, no air conditioning. There was a small portable fan. We also noticed a few univited guests, like spiders. Luckily my kids and husband were able to catch them and relocate them. Parking was full. I'm not sure where we would have parked had we not found our spot. There was a pool, but we didn't get a chance to swim. The breakfast area was rather small considering how packed the hotel was, but there was an area outside with tables that some people could eat at. This hotel was fairly close to some of the attractions in Monterrey like the Aquarium, but you still had to drive. But at least it didn't smell like Sardines outside.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckralston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.6 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
3.5 km away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
2.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Park Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Park Crest Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Park Crest Inn
Address: 1100 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4514
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Monterey
#17 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,217 - ₹ 34,686
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Park Crest Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Park Crest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Park Crest Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing