We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect weekend”
Review of Old Monterey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Monterey Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Monterey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hansville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect weekend”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The owners of this lovely Inn are master Innkeepers. Katy, the owner, is a very gracious and knowledgeable host who greeted us warmly. She attended to dinner reservations for us with wonderful recommends, V.I.P. tickets to the Aquarium so we would not have to stand in line and was helpful in planning side trips. Cookies and hot beverages are always available as is sherry or port. In the late afternoon wine and appetizers are served in the living room. No attention to detail is spared. Warm, inviting, comfortable, gracious....perfect! Donna

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeisfortyoneborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    37
    13
    7
    8
See reviews for
30
362
20
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We spent a romantic weekend in Monterey at the Old Monterey Inn. We felt completely spoiled at OMI! Our room was incredible: huge feather bed, fireplace and 2-person jacuzzi tub.

The staff brought us breakfast in bed every morning: usually a delectable baked item that was well beyond my expectations, as well as fresh OJ, coffee and fruit. Every afternoon we enjoyed a wine and cheese hour in the main house.

Finally, they were expert at setting up excursions for us. They arranged a secluded beach bonfire for us one evening, complete with a beach blanket, s'mores, and roses. The next day they arranged a sea kayaking trip for us in Moss Landing, and made dinner reservations for us at 1833, a nice restaurant within walking distance.

The staff was so friendly, responsive to our needs, and generous. I wouldn't change a thing about our stay!

Room Tip: We had the Stoneleigh room... absolutely lovely. A king-sized bed with a fireplace at the foot, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sleaterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailuku, Hawaii
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We very much enjoyed our two night stay at the Old Monterey Inn. The rooms and grounds are well maintained, and the new owners went out of their way to welcome us. The breakfast each morning was freshly cooked, hot, and most tasty. The first day it was described as an asparagus frittata but when served it was really an incredible asparagus souffle'. Our second morning, we found a fresh berry french toast that was much more like a light bread pudding.You may chose to eat in the dining room or in your room.
The home is located a short walk from downtown Monterey in a residential area with lots of vegetation. The first morning I went outside at about 0645 and saw two deer in the yard.
I debated between staying in Carmel and at this location. I am happy we chose this B&B.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a larger suite upon arrival as a courtesy, but I am sure we would have enjoyed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ptcvineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilroy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I enjoyed everything about this wonderful place! From the beginning, I found the Innkeeper Katy very helpful. I called asking a few questions before booking and she seemed genuinely warm and sincere. I could sense right away that we would be taken care of and have a great experience at this place. When we arrived, we were immediately greeted with warmth. Checking in was like being welcomed into someone's home. The innkeeper gave us a tour of the inn as well as the beautiful grounds and gardens. It is truly a magical place. When you're there, surrounded by the gorgeous trees and landscape, there's so much to look at...we got lucky with the weather that weekend. My husband and I actually decided to eat our breakfast outside in the garden instead of in the dining room, because it was sunny! All we had to do was ask, and the innkeeper was happy to serve our breakfast to us in the garden. We stayed in the Dovecote room which is one of their smaller rooms, but once inside....it does not feel small at all. There was a separate sitting area in front of the fireplace and it was very romantic, very comfy. Even if it wasn't a huge room, it was just enough space. The room was very charming, very romantic. Perfect for a couple :) My husband and I absolutely loved this place and would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: The Dovecote was a very private room on the 3rd floor. Very charming room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia USA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We would second the many favorable reviews of the Old Monterey Inn, based on our first stay. The rooms and common areas are extremely attractive, breakfasts and wine/cheese offerings are very tasty, and the grounds are well-kept, spacious, and lovely. Katy and Lawrence are excellent innkeepers--very personable and welcoming, and pay attention to detail. The inn is an excellent base of operations for visiting the numerous sights in the area (don't forget the Pt. Pinos lighthouse and neighboring Asilomar State Beach at the end of the peninsula). We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: 7 rooms are accessed via the interior of the house (5 on second floor, 2 on third floor); the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ras15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.6 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.0 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
1.1 km away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
4.2 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.7 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Monterey Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Monterey Inn

Property: Old Monterey Inn
Address: 500 Martin St, Monterey, CA 93940-4491
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,276 - ₹ 28,551
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Monterey Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the most romantic bed and breakfast in Monterey, CA. Our Monterey B&B features luxurious rooms and suites with comfy beds, fireplaces and spa tubs. Enjoy a delicious gourmet breakfast or stroll the breathtaking gardens of our Monterey luxury inn. A peaceful and secluded atmosphere only minutes to everything in downtown Monterey. Experience what true luxury and comfort can be at our unforgettable Monterey bed and breakfast, a Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Monterey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Monterey Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing