We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was just ok...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #17 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
204 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“It was just ok...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Portola Hotel for a work sponsored activity this past weekend and had an average time at the hotel. Some positives and some negatives led it be just ok.

The good: location is a plus, close to the pier and Alvarado Street with shopping, restaurants, bars, etc. The decor is new, nautical and lovely. The beds were AMAZING. Heavenly in fact. It has a Keurig as previously mentioned and when I put a tea packet in, it did not taste like coffee had ever been ran through it, a huge plus!! There is a safe in the room which was nice.

The not so good: upon check-in, which we were one of the few to check in first, they let us know my husband and I got two beds, not a King like we requested. I was not happy and the person who checked us in could care less and said they were fully booked, so that's what we got. We were also told we would have a Harbor view, but when we got to our room, it overlooked the courtyard area. Oh well. The worse part was the noise. It wasn't from the street, it was from the paper thin walls. I could hear every word the people up stairs were saying and the kids in the room next to us, even their parents, "shhhh'ing" them. It was not great for someone who sleeps very light. The shutters did not shut all the way which I was not fond of since I sleep in no clothing and we called Valet to pick up our car, got down there 15 min later to find out no one told them, so we waited another 10 for the one person working to bring up our car. We got to our dinner reservation late. Not happy at all about that either. We did get an apology regarding that situation.

All in all, we did not pay for the room, but if I had to, lets just say I have been other places in Monterey, and I would go there first if I had a choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,062
    743
    312
    153
    72
See reviews for
693
821
75
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

It´s a beautiful hotel, close to the Pier, with good and confortable room and very good services. I think that it´s so good (but you have to rent a bike to go to the Monterey Aquarium Bay).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larissa_Farias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Topnotch service from the moment you pull into the valet. Everyone was very friendly, and treated all customers with a high level of respect. It was a nice surprise to have an individual beverage machine in the room. The bed was so comfortable, I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Spent 3 nights at the Portola Hotel in Monterey. The location is right next to Fisherman's Wharf which is very convenient. The lobby is nice and the breakfast buffet at Jack's is pretty good (for a buffet). The hotel does allow pets (saw several dogs), so be aware you might have a noisy neighbor. The front desk staff was very helpful and the free cookies when you check in are delicious. Parking is $17 a night. You can definitely walk to locations like the State Beach, Aquarium and Cannery Row (1+ miles away).

Room Tip: No A/C, so crack open the door to let air in at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tygareyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Nice hotel. Room we had was adequate. Only issues- overlooked walkway that got a little noisy. Also, could not control air in room; only heat. Saving grace was the overhead fan. Rooms were clean, beds comfy.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gbmars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.8 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
3.3 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.9 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
0.2 km away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#16 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#13 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Property: Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940-2419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,078 - ₹ 27,241
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing