We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay!”
Review of Super 8 Monterey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Monterey
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Hayward, California
1 review
“Great Place to stay!”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I have stayed at this super 8 many times, The rooms are clean and the service is wonderful! Definitely my first choice for a random weekend getaway.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your kind words. We pride our hotel's cleanliness and always try to offer excellent service. We are glad you enjoy our property, and hope to see you again soon on your next weekend getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    271
    134
    25
    16
See reviews for
172
290
46
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dade City, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This is a very small Super 8, 20 rooms total. The breakfast area has one table so plan to take your food to you room. Breakfast consists of pastries and 2 cereals (frosted flakes and raisin bran), 2% milk, orange juice, regular coffee and wheat bread for toasting. Hot water for tea and instant decaf coffee, Jelly and butter for toast. No microwave for public use but they will take whatever you need to microwave behind the counter and warm it for you. There is a Denny's right across the street if you want a more substantial breakfast. Bathrooms are newly remodeled,thick towels and rooms are very clean. Again, small but plenty of room to sleep and get ready for your day. About 4 blocks from the road that takes you straight to Cannery Row and Fisherman's Warf. A few blocks from the CA 1 ramps. Many other small motels in the area. We felt very safe here, quiet area. If you are just needing a base for sleeping during your stay in the area, this places is perfect for the price! The county fairgrounds is right behind the motel (back exit) so it could be different during the fair (noisy maybe). One car per room and you can get the spot right in front of your room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridianAtHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the recently renovated rooms. While properties in Monterey are typically small, our property has tried to offer all the comforts of a Super 8 in a small package : ). We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Awful stay. Blood stains on the bed comforter. Cigarette burns on the blankets in a non-smoking room. Mold on the ceiling of the bathroom. The carpets haven't been shampooed for a long time. Peeping tom in the bathroom window. Television did not work. No remote for the non-working TV. Slowwwww internet.
You should get the hint by now.
Beware!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gurne100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Guest, Well, when your hotel stay is a lousy one there is nothing that is going to make it any better. I know any excuses or my apologies would not change your experiences . We let you down. Our staff reads every review and we discuss every issue and strive for future improvement when ever possible. In the future we will try to do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I had an extra day in my schedule and decided to spend it in Monterey. After finding this motel on TripAdvisor, I booked here and couldn't have been happier. While this motel was obviously built long ago, the owners have refurbished it with very nice, tasteful furniture, comfortable beds, and a pleasant, homey feel. In a city where motel prices are usually sky high, the price was super as well. The pleasant owners recommended a very nice Indian restaurant that turned out to be great as well (Ambrosia). Will definitely stay again whenever I get back to Monterey. I have to admit that I slept in, so didn't check out the breakfast....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocSavage_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for the kind words. We are getting up there in years, but we definitely try to stay in great shape :). We hope to see you again on your next trip to Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We got the 2br suite and my expectations were not that high being it Super 8. The locations is maintained Super Clean, the rooms are well maintained, fresh paint, and all accessories.
the parking area is also neat and clean. There is free coffee in the rooms, and the breakfast is basic but not different that what you get at the larger hotels, served in the Reception office (small, one table, but you could take it to your room if you want to). Overall, clean low cost solution if what you are looking for is a clean place to sleep in the Monterey area.
A surprising great meal value is the Monterey Cookhouse, just across the street from the hotel. Excellent service, GREAT food, and VERY reasonable priced wines, including local wineries from the Carmel Valley. www.montereycookhose.com

Room Tip: If you make the reservation through Priceline, you get a better price than at the Super 8 WEB site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear guest, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Super 8 Monterey. Our team works hard to keep things nice and tidy, so our guests can enjoy all the fun things to do in Monterey. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 km away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
2.9 km away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.3 km away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
3.7 km away
Super 8 Monterey / Carmel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Monterey? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey

Property: Super 8 Monterey
Address: 2120 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#18 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,715 - ₹ 20,670
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing