We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“won't stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn - Monterey
Ranked #8 of 11 Monterey B&B and Inns
portsmouth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“won't stay again”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

stayed hear a few years ago but after this stay won't stay again. Beds have the cheapest mattress you could buy. Front desk folks act like it's their first day on the job. If you come in the warm weather make sure you ask for a room where the ac works...most don't. Interior is 2 grades below budget. No double locks on the room I stayed in. No in room coffeee. Suprised Choice hotels is still associated with this hotel

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredsmithjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    13
    17
    17
    33
See reviews for
11
41
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Electrical nightmare. Octopus plugs. Dirty walls. Fuses blew. Puddles of floating beer cans. No coffee in one room. No coffee or coffee maker in the other. Manager got TV working but unplugged fridge. Lost food in fridge as it warmed overnight. Office still closed at 10 to 8 a.m. when we left. No breakfast to be found - although part of room price.

Room Tip: Lots of choices on this hotel row - if they are not booked up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Staff rude and unhelpful. Light switches coming off walls. Tv, fridge , microwave plugs did not fit sockets. Advertised coffee maker in room did not exist. Carpet wet. Shower hanging off. Room smelt and looked dirty. Mattress broken. Left early hours of morning to find somewhere to clean up. Advertised breakfast nowhere in sight! Also is on north Fremont st out of centre and not Fremont as advertised

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Visitor140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson City, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

I made a reservation through Hotels.com at 1pm and was told that as long as I cancelled by 4pm, I would not be charged fees or penalties. After checking reviews, I did cancel this reservation by 2pm but I was still charged a $50 penalty. I called the hotel manager, who acted like I was bothering him, and he insisted that I made the reservation through Expedia and that there was nothing he could do. Of course, his information was wrong and even though I am due a full refund, I am out of luck. Just be warned that unless you want to throw your money away, either keep your reservation or don't make one at all.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dogs4dusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

The other reviews are nothing like our experience. The room was clean, we were given a room that we had booked online. We were looking for a cheap and clean place to sleep and it this place fitted the bill. It was a decent location and from here we got to the aquarium and other major attractions and straight onto Highway 1 when we left. Although on our one dealing with the staff they were a little abrubt. Overall a decent hotel for a couple of nights if your driving through

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 km away
Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street
0.1 km away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#27 of 55 in Monterey
169 reviews
0.6 km away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.2 km away
El Castell Motel
El Castell Motel
#24 of 55 in Monterey
805 reviews
0.3 km away
Super 8 Monterey
Super 8 Monterey
#35 of 55 in Monterey
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn - Monterey? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn - Monterey

Property: Rodeway Inn - Monterey
Address: 2041 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,185 - ₹ 15,387
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn - Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn - Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing