We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lot of Potential”
Review of Colton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colton Inn
Ranked #35 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A Lot of Potential”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The Colton Inn is a very cute little inn near downtown Monterey. It is beyond reasonably priced (which is a luxury when traveling to Monterey) and is a more than suitable place to spend the night. All of that being said, I cannot give it more than three stars and hope that they make a few key improvements to the inn to push it over the top. For one, I paid for a room with a fireplace in it, and while my room did have a fireplace, the room did not have a functioning thermostat, making the room far too hot to even consider using it. In fact, the room was uncomfortably hot as it was as my girlfriend and I were sweating as we relaxed and watched television at night. Secondly, our room had a shared porch with our next-door neighbors. While this created a large porch, it reduced from privacy and also created some noise outside our room as our neighbors utilized the porch at night. The continental breakfast selection could also be improved upon.

My last comment, which may have been unique to the room we stayed in, was that our faucet would not stop running. This clearly had been the case for a while as the drain had rusted heavily where the water was hitting it, but nowhere else. Our bathroom also had a musky smell to it, making it unpleasant to use it. Again, this was likely unique to our room, but I would like to see the hotel fix the faucet, as the rusted drain indicates that it's been going on for a little while.

I really believe that this inn could take a few simple steps to improve itself and become and upper echelon inn. It is in a nice location, has friendly staff, and has a basic foundation in place to improve upon. I would stay here again, as it was really fairly priced (which like I said, is hard to come by in Monterey), the room was clean (aside from the musky bathroom), and the bed was very comfortable. The in room DVD player was also quite nice. A few minor improvements and this place would easily earn 4 stars, and maybe even 5.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gournal3311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    206
    89
    23
    28
See reviews for
174
206
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This hotel was a bit off the beaten path, but within walking distance of downtown and the wharf area. The room was very clean, quiet, and spacious with nice amenities, particularly a comfortable bed, a list of hundreds of free dvds to check out, and fruit, cookies, and coffee for afternoon snacks. The continental breakfast was simple but filling with a variety of breads, cereals, fruit, orange juice, and coffee/tea. Fair price for Monterey, and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Likeshikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Friends shared adjoining rooms and each had separate balconies. Rooms were spacious, very clean, very well-maintained. Not the most snazzy place, but, who needs snazzy when looking for good location and good value? We'd stay here again. Lobby had complimentary fruit, newspapers, plenty of maps and brochures. Parking area also tidy and convenient. Walk anywhere. One of our party was unable to attend, so the charge for that extra bed was deleted without our even asking. An altogether nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suze L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Any negative reviews generally cause us to rethink booking a particular property. Despite some negative comments, we found the Colton Inn to be very clean, fresh, quiet and comfortable. It's location is excellent. You can easily walk to the wharf, restaurants and shops. A good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelers349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey,UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Colton Inn and were pleasantly surprised by it's comfort and of course it's brilliant location in relation to the sea front, Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and the Aquarium. All of these are a short walk away. The seas front about 10 minutes with Cannery Row about 25 minutes away.
The room was large, comfortable and clean. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful both with advice and help with booking any tickets.
This motel style Inn is the perfect place for anyone wishing to explore Monterey, Carmel, 17 Mile Drive etc, as it is aslo close to the main highway. It was quiet at night. If we go back to Monterey we will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.4 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.3 km away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#31 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,239 reviews
0.6 km away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#17 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.4 km away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Inn

Property: Colton Inn
Address: 707 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,275 - ₹ 14,933
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Colton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing