We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel in a good location”
Review of Colton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colton Inn
Ranked #35 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Terrace, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great value hotel in a good location”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We booked the Colton Inn based on the reasonable price and location; both of these delivered. We could walk to restaurants and other areas easily. The room was large and spacious. The breakfast was a surprise--for the price of the room, we were able to have a completely fine breakfast with enough nutritious choices to make it good. We were also so glad to have picked Monterey as a location to stay in; in the midst of a pricey/high-tone area, Monterey was affordable and had the benefit of the wonderful Aquarium.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lee3nan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    209
    90
    23
    28
See reviews for
175
208
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Big, clean room with a fireplace. Good price. Good location. Quiet. Lots of free snacks. Staff was not warm but very efficient.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VentiCafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

A good hotel, short stroll to the main part of town and fishermans wharf, short drive to Cannery row etc. Room was comfortable and large. Free continental breakfast not the most exciting in the world, but enough to get you going. Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely town to stay in (more affordable than Carmel).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glenn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We have been visiting the Monterey area for the last 20 years and every time we stay at the Colton Inn. We like it because of the friendly and courteous staff and the fact that it is far enough away from downtown and the tourist areas but close enough to walk to anything you want to do. The rooms are very clean and modern with a very nice patio area if you want to sit and relax. If you are looking for a nice locally owned and run place to stay the Colton Inn is the place. We recently celbrated our 20th anniversary in Monterey and I have to say we did not want to leave.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is AWSOME!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Updating info from my last review. This hotel is a pet-free hotel. (I do believe pets may be allowed, with advanced notice and I also believe there is a daily surcharge for this service.) I found the staff friendly and very helpful. The rooms were clean with slight room blemishes. Such as, the bathroom floor tiles were detaching from the wall. Just minor cosmetic things that didn't affect our stay. The hotel allows up to three DVD to be checked out at any one time. Be careful, they do place a $20 hold the credit card PER DVD. In our case, when we checked out, the DVD charge of $60 was "moved" to another section of our bill by accident. After charging our credit card, the staff member noticed the mistake immediately and she promptly fix the error. Examples of items served for breakfast: coffee, tea, milk, hot chocolate, oatmeal, danish, bagels, muffins, etc. The cookies & hot chocolate available throughout the day was a treat my kids looked forward to when returning to the hotel. (Coffee & tea was also available for the adults!) From the hotel, the walk to the Wharf was approximately 0.70 miles, one way. Nice easy walk. Had no problems walking back and forth a few times during the day with the kids. Walking distance to Cannery Row is about 1.5 miles, one way. Our family stayed at the Colton Inn over Christmas in 2011. The hotel was quiet and had no problems with excessive noise from the street or from our hotel neighbors. This was our second stay at the hotel. We would stay at the Colton again.

Room Tip: If you want to use wifi, definitely request a room close to the lobby. From our previous stay, the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LLKian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.4 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.9 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.5 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#18 of 55 in Monterey
555 reviews
1.3 km away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#31 of 55 in Monterey
776 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Inn

Property: Colton Inn
Address: 707 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,711 - ₹ 16,325
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Colton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing