We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Colton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colton Inn
Ranked #30 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Good basic place to stay. Rate is about right, given the its in the middle of Monterey. Rooms vary in size - we had a 3rd floor room w/ sofa and fireplace. The fireplace was not a 'built in' type, which others in our party (1st floor) had. Another one in our party had a balcony but it cut into the overall size of the room. Bed was good, room was sizeable, large DVD collection loaned out for no charge. Only 'problem' was the shower - cannot control the pressure and the shower head is similar to ones at the beach - basically a stream of water. Good continental breakfast and cookies in the afternoon. Located in a quiet part of town. I don't think you would consider this a 'party' hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonoSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 324 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2011

Good place to stay if you want to avoid huge hotel prices in the centre of Monterey. The room was spacious, breakfast ok, staff friendly. Can definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I really thought this hotel would be nicer inside given we paid nearly $300 for 1 night. The room was clean & beds comfortable. The bathroom was old, and there was an old stove & fridge near the door that we weren't sure if it even worked. Near the TV there was a newer nice fridge. The lobby area had great snacks til 11pm (cookies, fruit, coffee & tea) which we very much appreciated, and the breakfast offerings were good too. The deck area where we ate our breakfast was probably the best part of this hotel experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalMama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Good location. Easy walking distance to the wharf. Free DVD for customers. I just did NOT like the cat/dog hair on the bed! The furniture/room/hotel is dated. Needs to be renovated. Adequate breakfast. Stayed here because of the distance to the wharf.

Room Tip: As with all hotels, the earlier you book a room, the room rates are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLKian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColtonInn, General Manager at Colton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Thank you for your comments on our property. We do benefit greatly from our downtown Monterey location. Just a note that we do not allow ANY pets on our property or in our rooms.

We do constantly strive to improve our property and do appreciate your comments for improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This place, with TLC, could be wonderful. It's in a quiet neighborhood within level walking distance to downtown Monterey.
The problem is with upkeep, apparently directed by an owner who just doesn't care. For example, every time we turned the faucet on, it made a loud sound and didn't stop until the water was turned off. We mentioned it to the Management and we were completely ignored. That, along with the power shutting down while using the hair dryer. When we asked them to fix the problem, they said we were using too many appliances! We were only using THEIR wall mounted hair dryer! That's a bad attitude.
Outside one of our windows, dead plants and empty flower pots filled a window box.
The bed covers were lumpy and didn't make for a nice appearance. Our sheets the first night had a permanent stain right where we were supposed to lay! There were many cords running from the wall-mounted TV to the floor, with no attempt to conceal them. The pictures on the walls were faded and cheap. There was a stain right in the middle of the carpet.
The landscaping under the carports was horrible. I could go on, but you get the point. Cheap fixes would make for a much improved property. To the Manager of Colton Inn: Please get rid of the dead plants (or half-dead ones) in pots throughout the property. Plant ferns in the shady areas...they'll do fine unlike what's there now.
People like fluffy quilts and crisp white linens on the bed...and doing that alone would help your guests decide to return. We visit the Monterey area once a year but only as a last resort would we stay at the Colton Inn unless some improvements take place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank solchasseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColtonInn, General Manager at Colton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at our property. Of course, any comments directed at repairs needed with regard to the rooms or landscaping are taken seriously and given immediate attention. This is certainly the case with the specifics you mentioned. Thank you also for your comments regarding attitudes. It's always easy to deal with the many postive comments we receive about our property, but it is the sign of a well run property and management who pays attention to the people we most appreciate....our guests! Thanks again.

Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 km away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#19 of 56 in Monterey
684 reviews
3.5 km away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#9 of 56 in Monterey
333 reviews
0.5 km away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#40 of 56 in Monterey
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,552 reviews
0.9 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.4 km away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#29 of 56 in Monterey
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Inn

Address: 707 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: ₹ 6,729 - ₹ 13,843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing