We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Treasure!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Ranked #23 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
San fransico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Hidden Treasure!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We Stayed there as a family and we throughly enjoyed our stay. The price is a great deal for the Monterey area. Located across the street from the mall and Whole Foods grocery. A very short drive to Cannery Row and all the attractions there.Places to eat all around the hotel. The rooms are very clean, beds comfortable, and they have microwaves and mini frig'. Coffee makers, blow dryers. This Hotel is nestled into a tree area and is lovely. The staff is very friendly, and helpful. The breakfast is light and good if you like fresh fruit and great muffins. Thumbs Up for this one. We have already been back, and we will be going back again. Makes Monterey very affordable if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: the two story rooms towards the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark35363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    422
    201
    62
    53
See reviews for
295
384
62
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We were driving from San Francisco to LA and were just looking for cheap clean accommodation and this property fitted the bill. For a small fee we had a clean room with good bed and continental breakfast for 2. We didn't want to live in the room just somewhere to sleep and this was good enough for that. We walked to the Fisherman's wharf area for dinner and down to the corner of the block for coffee, it wasn't the Fairmont but it was all we needed. The operator gave us great information for our travels the next day and I thank him for that.

Room Tip: Just arrive and take a chance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

According to the Days Inn website, the Jacuzzi Fireplace Queen Suite is supposed to have: "2 Queen beds with 1 Queen sofa bed, separate Living room and Bedroom, 25" television with remote, tea/coffee maker, telephone, air conditioning, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, iron & board, free high-speed internet, free local calls, refrigerator & cable TV".

I had reserved a queen suite online before our trip and was excited to have a separate bedroom, so that our toddler could go to bed before us without problem. Well, when we got to our room, we were disappointed to find that the suite was merely a room with a fireplace (by the front door) and a separate room that was only big enough to fit the jacuzzi and a sink. There was NO separate bedroom. When I approached the front desk about it, he said that they didn't have any rooms that offered a separate bedroom from the living room. Had I known, I would have just booked a normal room. Unless you really want to have a large bathtub, save your money, and go for a normal double queen bed room. The location of the fireplace by the door made it very unappealing. Otherwise, the hotel was fine. I just don't appreciate the false advertising.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 115.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jm_2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

just stayed here for a spur of the moment weekend getaway. I was pleasantly surprised. the room did need some updating old tv., bed could have been better.but it did have a refrigerator and microwave,( not sure if all rooms did).smelled and looked fairly clean.location was very good. walking distance to down town. and if you want to stretch your legs a little more to fishermans wharf. maybe 2 miles my guess. a lot of restuarants and higher end hotels very close by. which i think says that its in a nice area. staff was nice and very welcoming. all in all a nice hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank res0nshn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
203 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

This was the first stop on our coach tour and initial impressions were of a motel style appearance with a double row of rooms. Found it to be a bit basic and that the towels we had didnt appear to be the freshiest. Pleasantly surprised to have a complimentary breakfast included. Well able to walk to Fishersman Wharf from here and to explore that attraction.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marrowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.4 km away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#33 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
2.6 km away
Ramada Limited Monterey
Ramada Limited Monterey
#28 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Park Crest Inn
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Monterey Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Property: Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Address: 850 Abrego St, Monterey, CA 93940-3104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,041 - ₹ 15,189
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Monterey Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launch your California getaway from Days Inn Monterey hotel, where value and friendly service come included. You are going to love being just four blocks from historic downtown Monterey, five blocks from Fisherman’s Wharf and only one mile from celebrated Cannery Row when you stay at our Monterey, CA, hotel. Our Monterey, CA, hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium offers air-conditioned rooms equipped with modern conveniences like a refrigerator and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Start each day with free and delicious Daybreak breakfast then take a dip in our outdoor hot tub. We offer a variety of rooms to suit your needs, including king rooms with an ocean view or fireplace, non-smoking rooms and Jacuzzi suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Days Inn Monterey Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Monterey Downtown Hotel Monterey
Monterey Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing