We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
Ranked #44 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rancho Cucamonga
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good for the price”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We had looked at several places to stay in the Monterey area through America's Best Value Inns and the President's Inn was near where we wanted to be and was the most reasonable. With the ABVI card it was only $167 total for 3 nights. Not having stayed there before and reading some of the reviews, we were interested to see how it would be. We were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were perfect for our needs on this trip. The staff was friendly and helpful. I had left an item in the lobby and Jay reunited me with the item. The balcony was nice but we were always out doing something so we really didn't use it. Close to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, and the wharf. Also close to the Monarch Butterfly Sanctuary in Pacific Grove (the primary reason for the trip). Cold cereal, Danish pastries, hard boiled eggs, orange and apple juice made for an easy breakfast. The verdict...we would definitely stay there again. Good value for the price.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the second floor in the middle. A little walk to either end for stairs but they wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QMCS_Ret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PresidentsInnMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    100
    57
    36
    26
See reviews for
68
127
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Although it looked appealing from the outside and the room price was very reasonable, we would not repeat our stay there. The room had a constant smell of mold despite strong air-freshener attempts to cover it up. Opening the patio doors to gain some fresh air and avoid using the air conditioner in warmer weather meant a constant assault from traffic noise of busy Munras. But the worst part of our experience was being kept awake by partiers in the room overhead until well past 2 in the morning. When we suggested to the desk clerk the next morning that we'd like to change rooms--or perhaps change motels--he assured us that the offending group had checked out. Either they checked back in (likely?) or he was simply lying to us, as our sleep was interrupted again. We love Monterey and will return, but we'll look for another motel next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patandmaryjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the kind words in regards to the facility. It sounds like the staff found a reasonable solution to your issue. We advise all our guests to share comments, complaints and photos initially with property management via telephone or email. Furthermore it is appropriate behavior to contact the hotel franchise and exhaust internal discussion venues to arrive at an appropriate solution, compliment or improvement. Overall we find your review bullying in nature and creating a hostile environment towards our future guests and staff. As such it will be noted.

The innkeeper reserves the right to maintain the safety and security of the establishment at any time. Disruptive behaviors and threats of online review bullying/blackmail will not be allowed. Detailed records of events may be submitted to credit and law enforcement agencies for fraud and criminal behavior review. If further actions needed you may be escorted from the property by Monterey Police Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

San Jose, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two nights as my daughter attended a wedding in Cannery Row and I worked transcribing my reports. This was the least expensive hotel in Monterey and it gave you all the basic amenities. (We paid $79/night - Fri and Sat - plus taxes for two queen beds.) Although the hotel was dated and had no ambience, it was clean and quiet; we had a free continental breakfast and there was a coffee pot in the room. The maids did an excellent job with their daily cleaning of the room. The hotel was less than a mile drive to the Del Monte Mall and only a mile from Cannery Row - very convenient.

Room Tip: If you just want a place to just "crash" this is the place to stay. If you want luxury an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinYuppies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PresidentsInnMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We came late to Monterey and the cheapest we could find was a room here with two queen beds for 130 before tax, but it seems that's not too bad a price for Monterey. Nice clean room, on a central road but not much traffic noise, balcony towards nice pool which for once was a bit sheltered from road and parking. OK to walk to Monterey. Fine breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PresidentsInnMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traralgon
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Unfortunately it was a Friday night with a Jazz Festival on the weekend, rooms were all booked up, except here......$150 for the night, room smelt of I don't know what , hole in wall behind bathroom door, hole in bath, heater would not turn off. Cannot believe that this can be chatged at such a high rate. The girl in Reception was very nice and customer friendly and they did have a Continental breakfast in a small room behind the Office.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the kind words in regards to the facility. It sounds like the staff found a reasonable solution to your issue. We advise all our guests to share comments, complaints and photos initially with property management via telephone or email. Furthermore it is appropriate behavior to contact the hotel franchise and exhaust internal discussion venues to arrive at an appropriate solution, compliment or improvement. Overall we find your review bullying in nature and creating a hostile environment towards our future guests and staff. As such it will be noted.

The innkeeper reserves the right to maintain the safety and security of the establishment at any time. Disruptive behaviors and threats of online review bullying/blackmail will not be allowed. Detailed records of events may be submitted to credit and law enforcement agencies for fraud and criminal behavior review. If further actions needed you may be escorted from the property by Monterey Police Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 km away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#54 of 56 in Monterey
66 reviews
0.4 km away
Padre Oaks
Padre Oaks
#49 of 56 in Monterey
41 reviews
0.1 km away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Stargazer Inn and Suites
Stargazer Inn and Suites
#52 of 56 in Monterey
330 reviews
0.3 km away
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
#43 of 56 in Monterey
54 reviews
0.7 km away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#47 of 56 in Monterey
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Property: Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
Address: 1150 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4514 (Formerly Cypress Gardens Inn)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,105 - ₹ 29,947
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras Avenue is a historic location and played an integral role as a Tree Nursery in early Monterey Community. The current hotel has gone through several renovations since 1965 and is in alignment with industry standards for accommodations that fit the needs of the Mid Scale Consumer. We strive to provide guests with value beyond the room. These features include: Complimentary WIFI over the 1.5 acre grounds, A Very Large Pool with a relaxing Lounge Deck and Hot Tub (approximately 40' x 75') (Closed Winter), A private self serve breakfast suite for guests serving a continental menu (approximately 15' x 20'), A modern business center featuring a large computer screen and printer with internet access, An onsite walkable garden terrace featuring a cast of trees (approximately 40' x 40') , A private Conference Center that can seat 30+ classroom style (approximately 30' x 30'), A fitness center suite in renovation, and a charming guest reception to welcome all of our new and returning guest families and friends. Our approximate guest room dimensions for King Bed Rooms are 12' x 21' (living space) + 5' x 12' (Personal Courtyard or Private Balcony) = ~312 square feet of rental space in Monterey on Munras Avenue. Our Double Queen Bed Rooms 16' x 21' (living space) + 5' x 16' (Personal Courtyard or Private Balcony) = ~416 square feet of rental space in Monterey on Munras Avenue. Furthermore each room has an approximate 8' x 7' glass patio door to experience Monterey's Beauty from Bed or a quick step outside without leaving the comfort's of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn On Munras Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing