We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monterey”
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Monterey”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Great place and location. 2 years new, contemporary. It was very nice and great having a lounge that served food. So if you were out all day you could just come casual and enjoy some light food. Service was good and willing to help.

If I had anything to say they need magnifiying mirrors in the bathroom and they should of put more installation in the walls and ceiling as you could hear the other rooms. I would suggest the top floor. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank long_karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,177
    772
    245
    77
    35
See reviews for
663
1,118
85
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We visited Monterey and were pleasantly surprised at Hotel Abrego. As we requested for a King bed (we were on our honeymoon) in our room, the hotel actually took the effort to surprise us with a bottle of wine and chocolates to congratulate us on our honeymoon. We thought it was really sweet and personal!

I liked the fireplace for chilly nights. The hotel is located near Fishermans Wharf and various eateries (Denny's is right across the road). Would have been better if there was all-day room service though. The restaurant is only open for breakfast and dinner, menu quite limited too. But whatever they did not have on the menu, the staff made up with great service. :)

Room Tip: Check the airconditioning before hand. Ours was broken.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crayolagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Abrego through a livingsocial deal, and were really pleased! I paid for the room upgrade, and so got a premier deluxe room with a fireplace and (sort of) a view. It was a spacious, stylish room with a small balcony, huge flat screen TV, gas fireplace, super comfortable king bed, and fantastic bathroom. They provided down-alternative pillows on request (they were so-so). They accommodated all the requests for the room that I had made, and we had a fantastic stay.

The restaurant leaves much to be desired, and the hotel itself is a few minutes drive from most of the Monterey attractions. But otherwise, I have absolutely no complaints. Staff was friendly and helpful, our room was quiet and comfortable and sparkling clean. A great find!

Room Tip: I didn't see any of the other rooms, but the Premier Deluxe King was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This was an old-fashioned courtyard-style two-story motel that got totally refurbished in the very recent past. Lovely, immaculate accommodations although I thought the bed was a bit on the firm side.

Walking distance to Alvarado St. with multiple dining and shopping choices, a movie theater, the Convention Center and proximity to the Wharf. And there are several decent restaurants, including the acclaimed French Parker-Lusseau Bakery, just across the street. The hotel itself has a restaurant although we didn't try it.

Free parking, free wi-fi, (though slow; you can upgrade to faster connexn for $3.59 a day,) wide-screen TV, an i-pod dock, plenty of electrical outlets. Lots of hangers, two bathrobes, shelves and a big safe in the ample closet. Good value for an expensive town. In the past, we've stayed at several more expensive hotels (Monterey Plaza, Intercontinental on Cannery Row) and at a cheaper one (Best Western, just down the street from the Abrego on Munras) but this was the best.

My only complaint is the hardness of the mattress. I even considered going to Costco in Sand City and getting an egg-crate. Luckily all the walking pooped me out and I was ready for sleep, notwithstanding the hard bed. But I hope they do something about that.

Room Tip: Not a kitchenette exactly, but a fridge and coffee machine with Wolfgang Puck coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netmorby110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The remolded rooms were beautiful. Fireplaces, plasma tv and very comfortable beds.Bathrooms were also new huge rainshower showers.Very clean. Great downtown location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.6 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.9 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.9 km away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.1 km away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Property: Hotel Abrego
Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,016 - ₹ 22,933
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing