We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great story telling experience with facts to back up the legends!”

Ghost Tour of Old Monterey
Ranked #16 of 41 Tours in Monterey
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Relive the Fantastic Tales of Old MontereyOnce the capitol of Mexican California, Old Monterey was the center of fiestas and balls, the glamour of dashing Spanish horsemen and the throb of guitars played by romantic suitors. It was also a town of intrigue, murder, swindles and shipwrecks.Epic lives full of lost treasures, found romance, and amazing adventures. Visit the sites of the ghost in the garden, ancient burial grounds, hidden treasure, hauntings, hangings and frequent ghostly sightings.This 90 minute trolley tour, led by longtime residents and local historians, will bring you into a Monterey that few alive today have seen.
Monterey, California
1 review
“Great story telling experience with facts to back up the legends!”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I took my teenage sister on this tour during her visit to Monterey. She loves everything ghosts. Gary tells great stories at each location with pictures and documents that he has researched to verify the stories and legends of each site. I thoroughly enjoyed the stories and history and wish he did a complete walking tour of Monterey. If you love history and legends and are open minded to the possibility of ghosts this is a great experience. Even got photos with "orbs" in them which I've never gotten on any other ghost tour I've taken.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank ErinCeschini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    27
    3
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aromas, California
2 reviews
“History can be fun and spooky!”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We had a fabulous time on this tour! Gary is a great story teller and generous with his information about historical places to visit. My EMF reader went off like crazy at the first stop so we were excited. We also got a picture of an orb. We didn't get much after that except at the jail, but then ghosts aren't known for appearing on cue. Our teens were a little disappointed that we didn't see more ghosts, but now we know where to go back for further investigations! It was a very cool tour! We highly recommend it!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank MSuess0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
“Fun, Fun, Fun”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We were with two of our children, ages 10 and 12. Fun, fun, Fun!!!!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank NeedaVacaBad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Boo!”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

One might as well call this the Monterey vampire tour because it sucks.
The history and legends could just as well be learned from the Monterey library
and one can just as well visit the sites on their own.
The only thing scary about the tour was the high-spirtited guide.
Needless to say there were no ghosts.
Boo for this tour.

Visited September 2010
Helpful?
3 Thank Galway53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WineTrolley, Owner at Ghost Tour of Old Monterey, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Sorry you were unable to enjoy the epic stories, haunts and legends of enchanting Old Monterey. After 13 years of research and 10 years of giving the tour, our collection of historical paranormal events won't be easily found at our local library.....BUT if our tour can get you into doing research and spending some time in our local museums and libraries...THEN LET THE SUCKING BEGIN!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Photo Opps”
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We decided to try the tour to cap off the evening of our 17th anniversary. We had a great time. We enjoyed the tour, especially the fact that we had the opportunity to get off the trolley on a couple of occasions and were able to take pictures. I still have them on my camera, but I look forward to seeing them on a bigger screen. Who knows what may appear? The time flew by too fast and it was a really fun way to spend an evening!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Podgieree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ghost Tour of Old Monterey also viewed

 

Been to Ghost Tour of Old Monterey? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing