We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We have stayed here several time only the past 3 years and initially our experience was above average. We liked the private feeling of the hotel and it is quite beautiful. However, during our last experience a couple months ago, the bed was EXTREMELY uncomfortable and in fact, it was probably "broken" and we had to change rooms. Initially, they told us they would switch out the bed, but they ended up moving us.

Also, on one of our previous stays, it was obvious that someone either had smoked in the non-smoking room or someone was smoking next door. They were also partying pretty hard and we ended up having to move rooms as well.

If you are planning to stay here, also let them know if you plan a spa treatment because the spa / gym building is on the far end of the property. Also if you dont like to be around kids playing and screaming in the pool, you should also request golf course facing rooms.

Service is extremely courteous and considerate of guests needs. However, the property maintenance and the preparation according to guest expectations may need a little work.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank augusttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,690 - 2,694 of 3,709 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Nicely renovated. Good for bringing your dog. Close to a very nice golf course. Walking distance to Monterey fisherman's warf.

Room Tip: Ask for golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1ajf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

After a stressful few days in the Bay Area, I needed a couple of days of quiet and sun. The Hyatt was perfect. It was actually important to me to NOT be on the coast because it was April and I wanted to lay in the sun and near the beach was too chilly.

I arrived early (12:30) and went to check in. Jamie at the front desk could not have been nicer to accommodate me. The lobby is a touch retro but in a very cool way. It almost has this Frank Lloyd Wright feel to it.

I had a room in the 2 building, facing the parking lot - but it was quiet and provided super quick access to my car, which was great because I was in/out a lot to go eat and shop, etc.

The room was very nice. Super clean (and not a hint of industrial air freshener), and the bathroom was very modern and cool. Fridge was a nice amenity for me. Bed was comfortable. The only thing I didn't like was that it was on the ground floor and while I felt totally safe, if I wanted sunlight in the room meant I had to have the curtains open, which also meant that people walking to their cars would have a view right into my room. My room was VERY quiet although the heavy-footed person above me made me know when they were in the room - not sure it would have been as noticable had they not been a stomper.

Spent both days at the pool. Immaculate, seriously - so clean. And for two days I could attest to the number of landscapers and maintenance people around. The flowers everywhere were so beautiful and everything looked well maintained.

It's mid-April, so pool not crowded, but it is spacious with comfortable new-ish lounge chairs and private cabanas in the shade you could curtain off. Hot tub too. No lifeguard, but didn't matter to me. What I would have liked was a waitress or some other way to get food/drinks at pool side - that would have made my day.

Had room service for breakfast - pricey (isn't it always) but well done.

I would go back there in a heartbeat. It's not the Ritz, but it's very comfortable, clean and the grounds are beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatsLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We arrived at the hotel late evening and stayed for one night as a stop over on the drive to San Fransisco. The hotel did as expected, and lived up to the standards set by a Hyatt Regency. The accommodation was clean and of decent size, and it was a comfortables night stay. The hotel facilities seemed decent enough but we didn't get much of a chance to use them, as for the restaurant, the menu was a little too structured and didn't provide enough flexibility especially when travelling with a toddler. However we decided to drive to the town and found a beautiful Indian restaurant, which will rate as some of the best Indian food I have ever tasted.
The breakfast was decent and staff were supportive and provided good care and service. This hotel met our requirements especially when using it for a stop off, the peace and quiet of the hotel was a benefit, and the hotel golf courses were excellent, if only I was on a trip with my golfing buddies ;-). Good hotel and would recommend, especially if using for a short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirMrMits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Recently visited the Hyatt Regency for a Conference and had spent some reviewing other reviews on Tripadvisor before I arrived. I was pleasantly surprised and overwelmed by the service. Other reviews made mention of incredibly negative experiences they had with management. I had zero problems with my room and with the staff. They went out of their way to make my stay 'perfect'.

This isn't a new resort and this isn't a Ritz Carlton. The Hyatt has done an amazing job at upgrading their resort and keeping it contemporary.

Excellent gym. Beautiful golf course.

I would definitely return and highly recommend the Hyatt Regencey Monterery to anyone and everyone visiting the area.

Thank you Hyatt for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IwaRuggerBuggerIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRVancouverGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear IwaRuggerBuggerIowa,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am glad you had an enjoyable visit and look forward to sharing your kind words with our team.

We hope to see you again and deliver another "perfect" stay.

All the best,

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
3.5 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.9 km away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
1.9 km away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 56 in Monterey
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Green Hotel in Monterey
#5 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: ₹ 11,104 - ₹ 22,017 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing