We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, warm hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rio Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Monte Rio B&B and Inns
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Great location, warm hospitality”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stayed here for an August long weekend planned at the last minute, seemed to be the only place in the Russian River area that had a two-bedroom available without having to rent out a vacation home, so we gladly snapped up the room.

Host Ron was warm and friendly on the phone and again in person on checking in and throughout our stay. Two bedroom suite was a bit small with tiny bathroom and thin walls, but reasonably priced--and a stay here is all about the relaxing, atmospheric grounds and riverside location, so room comfort was not a big factor for us, especially considering how late we booked. Would absolutely consider a stay here in the future, but would likely try for one of the more well-appointed balcony rooms facing the river.

Monte Rio is a charming, quiet little place, tucked into the woods right on the river. Had a stellar meal at the Village Inn across the river at Ron's recommendation. So much to do in the area, river recreation, hiking in Armstrong Redwoods and the amazing coastal State parks, Ft Ross, stunning drives, seafood, etc...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CunningMcFar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    30
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
25
29
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed for 1 night the last week of Aug. in a regular room, with no river view. It was still a very nice 1 bedroom, super clean, well appointed room with a full kitchenette, bathroom with a shower and skylight, flat screen TV, and WI-FI. Ron checked us in--he was very pleasant, friendly, and helpful. The grounds of this little hotel/resort are incredible--cedar lawn and patio furniture, patio umbrellas, BBQ's, picnic tables, and a beautiful fire pit. After we went for dinner, we took our glasses of wine and sat in beautiful alcove of the garden and enjoyed the peace and quiet--so nice :) I would absolutely recommend this property to anyone lookng for a quiet, peaceful, relaxing place to stay

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bleepingfreezing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Loved this place. We stayed here on a weekend in March for my husbands birthday. We got a really good deal clubbed with a spa package from Osmosis. We stayed in the Deluxe River View Balcony, the room was very cozy and comfortable and the view from the patio is lovely. Nice breakfast too, and Sophies cellars is just opposite ;-)

Room Tip: rooms facing the beach are much nicer and away from highway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meg g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I had a wonderful stay and enjoyed every minute and did not want to leave. The owners went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had all the things we needed.
The fresh coffee, breads and fresh fruit in the morning was a treat! I so enjoyed sipping my coffee and watching the hummingbirds flit by. Floating down the river on a sunny Summer day was a tonic to my soul! Great selection of books and movies, cozy room and beautiful grounds.
I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Wonderful experience at hte Rio Villa Russian River Beach Resort! While it was our first time, we were treated as if we had been guests for years. Ron was incredibly helpful and had many suggestions of things we could do in the area with our toddler. The location is ideal, private beach, large local beach less than a block away and a short drive to the beach. Very close to excellent restaurants and a grocery store within blocks of the resort. The room was very clean and spacious. We especially enjoyed all the outside seating areas and the breakfast was really nice. We've decided we will make this resort our destination at least twice a year!

Room Tip: Book in advance if possible. The owners are very accomadating, but if you know you need a kitchen, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessChess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte Rio
16.9 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
15.6 km away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
24.5 km away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.1 km away
Village Inn & Restaurant
Village Inn & Restaurant
#3 of 5 in Monte Rio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
9.8 km away
The Jenner Inn
The Jenner Inn
#1 of 1 in Jenner
3.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Villa Beach Resort

Property: Rio Villa Beach Resort
Address: 20292 Highway 116, Monte Rio, CA 95462-9746
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Monte Rio
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Monte Rio
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,146 - ₹ 15,294
Hotel Class:2 star — Rio Villa Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our Bed & Breakfast Inn on the Russian River in West Sonoma's Wine Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Rio Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing