We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dim sum, okay service ”
Review of Mayflower

Mayflower
Ranked #33 of 363 Restaurants in Milpitas
Restaurant details
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Five stars for food. Could give one star less for the service (not uncommon for a good Chinese restaurant).

We had dim sum that was all good. The chicken feet were particularly good. Best I have had in a a long time.

We ordered the noodles and lobster (special) and it was super good.

I would come here again.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2018

I have visited this restaurant many times. Their dim sum dishes are ok, but they are not as good as Koi Palace which is located on the next plaza. Their prices are lower, but service is typical Asian restaurants as they don’t seems to care much about customer services. Some of the waiters/waitresses need to be more customer friendly and more attentative.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Lisado976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Was here Friday evening for a large family gathering. Portions were very generous. Crab was outstanding: meat was sweet, tender and infused with flavor. Shrimp in mayonnaise a fusion creation and extremely tasty. One of our party was hungry for special order of eggs with tomatoes. Waiter cheerfully accommodated the request. Oh yeah the beef tenderloin with peppers and onions and Chinese mushrooms with greens were cooked to perfection.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 321miltony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

We have been coming to this restaurant a couple times now and finally getting around to writing a review.

All visits but one were dim sum focused. During this visit we made reservations in advance since the extended family was in town. When we arrived, the restaurant was full with small groups of people waiting inside and outside the restaurant. We thought we were going to have to wait but when we checked in the hostess directed us through a door off the lobby. I never went through it in my previous visits and was surprised it opened up into a decent sized room with just a few big tables. Only three were occupied and the most noticeable difference was how much quieter it was than the main dining area. This was a big plus! It allowed us to catch up with other without raising our voices.

We ordered a large amount of the standard dim sum dishes. In general all were hot, cooked well and tasted good. The standout for my kids was the beef tripe. It was very tender and tasty plus came in a large portion size compared to other restaurants. Also the e-fu noodles was another top dish that the kids gobbled up. The noodles were cooked to perfection and had just the right amount of sauce. The addition of the black mushrooms and veggies gave it more flavor than just the straw or white mushrooms used in other restaurants.

The only drawback being in the separate room was not always having a waiter refilling our tea in a timely manner. However we enjoyed eating our lunch rather leisurely and catching up without the pressure of the staff wanting to turn the table over for the next set of customers. When we finally finished, we packed up the little leftovers and headed back to the lobby. Surprisingly there was still a wait.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank wireless_in_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

This to me is what I grew up on. Multiple dishes. Good service. Tasty food. Satisfied experience.

This place is good for lunch and even better for dinner.

The seafood is diverse and freshly cooked and served.

Three of us meet here to catch up and it was great.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PaulLuehrmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mayflower? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing