We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection on the Three 'P's...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dylan at SFO

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Dylan at SFO
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfection on the Three 'P's...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

From my perspective, every hotel has a value proposition that deals with the three 'P's: Price, Property, and People.

So, let's talk about those here.

Price:
The prices at this hotel are better than the local average and as a value, in particular for travelers coming in and out of SFO, this place is perfect. You will be hard-pressed to find a place as nice for under $200 this close to the airport, BART, Train, and other public transportation, shops, restaurants and other amenities.

Property:
We were in one of the deluxe rooms, with two beds, nice flat screen, microwave, fridge and coffee bar, as well as a balcony. First let me say this: The bed was the most comfortable I have slept in in years, and that is saying something since I already sleep in a heavenly bed at home. This rivaled a top notch bed in the best five star hotels. The pillows were a perfect balance of soft and firm and there were plenty of them.
The room was tastefully decorated, immaculately clean and left nothing to desire. The bathroom was small, but efficient, and also immaculately clean.
I've seen a few commentaries from other folks complaining about noise from the train station. Our room was right across from the station, and we did not find noise to be an issue at all. Furthermore, the benefit of proximity to the station by far would outweigh any issues we may have had regarding hearing trains.
Another thing I read that others were complaining about was that it was a former Travelodge, somehow implying that it wasn't up to a new standard. How silly! There was nothing whatsoever about our room that made it appear to be a 'lesser' establishment. Quite the contrary, the room was easily comparable with any number of 5-Star hotels I've stayed in around the world. The fact is that you can always redesign a property, and they have done a fine job on this property, so these complaints strike me as unfair or inappropriate.

People:
Well... if the Dylan hadn't done a good job with all of the above, then their people would have made up for all of it for sure! From the clerk who helped us with our reservation who was well-informed, pleasant, gracious, polite and considerate, to the gentleman working the desk when we arrived. It was crystal clear that the staff fully intended to see us well-treated and at home while here - and in that they did a fine job, indeed!

I highly recommend this hotel, and would stay here again without reservation... that is to say, I would make a reservation, of course, but without hesitation! :-)

Room Tip: Clearly the deluxe rooms are the better bargain, because they are in their own wing, and somewhat mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth_Bo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    349
    100
    31
    17
See reviews for
188
292
102
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napier New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Airport pickup and later drop off great. Very close to the Bart for access to Downtown. The beauty of the place is the value for money and the easy ability to get away from the crowds. Adequate restaurants close by.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

Includes wifi and breakfast. Fairly clean, well appointed rooms. Huge flat screen. The deluxe rooms are in separate wing and very quiet and comfortable. Wifi seemed slow, i could get it on my phone, but not computer. and supposedly you could run more than one device off same code.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travuler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

This prettied-up former TraveLodge presents itself as a boutique motel, but I wouldn't call it that. Our room was facing the train tracks and that was the main reason this admittedly light sleeper didn't get a minute's slumber. The trains ran later than the front desk person said they would. The free breakfast is sub-par in its poor presentation, selection and frozen waffles one must use a toaster to warm. Really? Front desk dude lacked friendliness and knowledge of the area. Shuttle from motel to SFO was late. Found cigarette butts on the grounds. At least the car was safe while parked for about 2 weeks and the rooms were sizable. Wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: If you must stay there, be sure to get a room not facing the train tracks. Unless you're a deep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank criticaltravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed at the Dylan for 3 nights while visiting San Francisco. We had just completed a stay at the Fairmont in San Jose and found the Dylan to be relatively comparable. The location is great, one block to Caltrain and Bart. The Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very large, updated furnishings, quiet and comfortable. Bathroom small and could use updating. I found the breakfast to be great! I was impressed with the fresh baked scones, bread pudding etc. that was served, quite an improvement from the usual choices at Continental breakfasts. Very reasonably priced for the area. I would highly recommend the Dylan.

Room Tip: Chose a room with an interior corridor and King bed which also included a microwave and refrig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
1.4 km away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
1.7 km away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
1.9 km away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.9 km away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dylan at SFO? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan at SFO

Property: The Dylan at SFO
Address: 110 S El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030-3121
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Green Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Business Hotel in Millbrae
#4 Family Hotel in Millbrae
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,888 - ₹ 16,037
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dylan at SFO 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family owned boutique hotel with newly remodeled guestrooms (2014) is conveniently located 1 mile from the San Francisco Airport (SFO) with free 24-hour SFO Airport shuttle bus service to and from the SFO airport. They offer free parking for your night of stay; however, no car is necessary as they are within 100 yards of the Millbrae BART (rapid transit)/Caltrain station-your gateway to San Francisco and the Silicon Valley. Aside from Their superior location, there are other perks that will make your experience with them even more special. Every morning guests will enjoy a free deluxe continental breakfast featuring hard-boiled eggs, ham & cheese, tasty in-house-baked goods, freshly made granola, fresh waffles and so much more. Come back to the front desk in the afternoon to enjoy freshly baked cookies, tea and coffee. Talk to their friendly front desk staff about San Francisco tour recommendations, they are happy to assist you with planning. The Dylan is proud to offer free high-speed wireless Internet throughout the hotel, making it easy for you to catch up on work or emails. Lounge by the fountain in their relaxing Tuscan themed patio complete with comfy seating and lantern lighting. They recently completed the remodeling of their guestrooms in 2014. They took an artistic approach to their new room designs and worked with famous surrealist photographer Thomas Barbey to select each piece of his dreamy artwork to display in their guestrooms. Look closely at the art and you'll begin to recognize icons from all around the world, including San Francisco. Each room is stylized to highlight the beauty of his work. If you enjoy unwinding in front of the TV, you'll love watching HBO on the 40 inch LCD flat screen TVs that they've provided in each guestroom. Their modern all American made furniture adds a touch of sophistication to their room design and unlike most hotels, they've incorporated ample USB ports and electrical outlets into every headboard and desk as they know the importance of staying connected to loved ones and colleagues. Their stunning new bathrooms feature spacious showers with imported Spanish porcelain tile, frameless glass shower doors and relaxing rain showerheads. For over 2 decades, they have been committed to offering their guests a quality stay at an extremely competitive rate. Their excellent reviews and awards, including the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, attest to this. Stay with them and see how easy and stress-free traveling can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Dylan at SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan At Sfo Hotel Millbrae
Travelodge Hotel Millbrae
Travel Lodge Millbrae
Travelodge Millbrae
Millbrae Travel Lodge
Millbrae Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing