We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are after spicy Sichuan food ...”

YiYuan Szechuan Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 109 Restaurants in Millbrae
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 7 June 2016

A combination of Sichuan and other Chinese food. They do make the dishes very spice and hot. Staffs are courteous and foods are service soon after our order. They even make Sichuan stretched noodles in the restaurant, which is interesting to see. However, their menu mixes Sichuan and non-Sichuan dishes. You might be mistaken all of the spicy foods are Sichuan. They are actually not. Better go with someone who can tell the difference. They do not accept American Express card.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phil Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

The food was good, as well as the customer service. We were seated fairly quickly and the food arrived on time. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Date of visit: July 2015
1  Thank Vancouveritez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2015

Went back a couple of months later. Ordered the scallion pancakes this time - a bit starchy, but still very tasty. The beef dan-dan noodles are excellent: I love hot and spicy food and this dish delivers (they provide a lot of hot chili sauce on the side if you want to crank up the heat even more!). Their beef wrap is consistently well prepared. The final - and best - dish we had on this round was the seafood hot-pot. Our server remembered us and was again very kind and cordial. The place was packed and yet she and the other staff worked very efficiently to serve everyone in a timely manner. One vice: they did put a bit more MSG than I prefer (I had a to drink quite a bit of water to counteract its effects); it's okay - it's Chinese food after all! I'm still coming back here - Szechuan food is among my favorites and this place does a great job preparing it.

Date of visit: May 2015
1  Thank frtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2015 via mobile

Bonnie welcomed us at the door and made great recommendations. Kung pao scallops and dry green beans amazing. Clean bright and lively. Unique menu allows experimentation.

Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2015

YiYuan is very unassuming. It is in Millbrae, right on the border with San Bruno facing El Camino Real. Because of its relatively small size it is rather easy to miss. Once inside, there is an abundance of hot pepper aromas (which I personally love) and many native Chinese patrons (a very good sign that a Chinese restaurant is excellent). There is a large screen TV showing sports and a few Asian decorations; clearly nothing to write home about. Doesn't matter: it's the food that are clearly the superstars here! We ordered the hot braised eggplant with garlic (one of the best I've ever had), a beef tendon noodle soup (very succulent and tasty, with hand-pulled noodles!), mabo tofu (again excellent preparation and many hot spicy peppers - a bit too salty though). They were sadly out of sesame cake (it's an appetizer common in northern and western China) so we substituted a beef vegetable wrap which was succulent and very tasty. Service was very quick and the servers were friendly and helpful; they spoke with accents, but with great eloquence. The "take-home" message: forget the so-called "ambiance" within a typical Chinese restaurant, because you go there for the food. With Chinese there is a great variety and that breeds great differences in quality; these can range from 5-star magnificent to 0-star disgusting. Thankfully YiYuan falls into the former category: its interior is nothing special, but its food is top-notch!

Date of visit: March 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank frtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed YiYuan Szechuan Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to YiYuan Szechuan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing