We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Highlands Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mill Creek Resort(Mill Creek)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antlers Motel(Chester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seneca Motel(Chester)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
The Hideaway Motel(Greenville)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
72
17
2
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
17
2
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesranch resortpastaattention to detailfire pitlassen national parkhot tubsalmonheated floorslive musictwo nightshigh endbeautiful settingowners and staffdining experiencehidden gemsnow shoes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2017

We stayed (June 2017) here for the close location to Lassen National Park which is a big plus. The resort is very pretty, cabins are nicely done with many upgraded touches and concern for the environment. We stayed in Serenity, Cabin #3 which was very comfortable with comfy bed and pillows, beautiful large bathroom and like I said many nice touches. The owners and staff were wonderful and helpful. Your stay includes a delicious breakfast which we always ate on the deck overlooking the beautiful meadow, cows, trees and mountains. We also ate dinner there and everything we had was delicious (I'm a vegetarian and had delicious options). As far as street noise, yes it is a bummer to hear that as we had to keep our windows open at night to let in the cool air as it was very hot during the day. When windows were closed you didn't hear it. Nothing is perfect in life so was easy to deal with as there are so many good things about the resort. Not much WiFi but when we are on a trip in beautiful country we don't care - you can get some service in the lodge sitting area if you need. We would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank 517janettem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands36, Owner at Highlands Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thank you. We're pleased to see reviews like yours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

Really nice, 'modern Ranch style' accommodations with extraordinary views and a very good and beautifully designed on site restaurant and bar. We were thrilled to land in this idyllic setting on our way from Oakland to Mt. Shasta. It was extremely quiet this time of year which was a bonus for us. Sitting with a glass of wine on the deck, at sunset, we swore we saw a bear loping in the distance along the tree line beyond the sparkling river...

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ariagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands36, Owner at Highlands Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thank you! We are so happy when others see our vision.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

We stayed at the RV park across the street (also owned by Highlands Ranch) Our camp host raved about the food and encouraged us to enjoy a 5 star meal. We asked our host if is was ok for us to wander over to shoot some photos of the meadow as we planned to make a dinner reservation. He said "absolutely!". Well, we walked across the street with our well behaved collie on a lead. We were met with nasty signs saying "no pets allowed on property". My wife decided it was best to respect their wishes and waited in the parking lot near the road while I took a few photos. Within a minute some one emerged from the building and said "dogs are not allowed on the property, you will need to leave now!" I explained that I just wanted to take a few photos and then come in to make dinner reservations. The person said he was just an employee and did not make the rules and repeated "The owner wants you and your dog to leave the property immediately!". We left... for the first time in our lives we truly understood what it felt like to " be discriminated against". It was awful. Our only crime: we walked our dog in their parking lot.

It could have been avoided if our camp host had warned us about walking our dog across the street. BTW: the RV park is run down and awful. We left a day early and walked away from our prepaid RV rent. This is a good place to drive past as fast as possible. Another BTW, This property is right on a very busy highway with cars and trucks coming by at 60 mph. Certainly not the serene, tranquil place they advertise. If you are camping, a much better option is the NFS campground a mile away called Gurney Creek Campground.

We can't comment on the food as we were refused service.

Room Tip: Drive on by!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank wintercreek2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands36, Owner at Highlands Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

I'm sorry that your feel you were treated unfairly about our no pet policy on our property and protected meadow but it is our responsibility as stewards of this beautiful place to preserve it. I'm sure you know that not every pet is well behaved or has a responsible owner at its lead who will not allow their dog to do their business in our parking lot while people are dining in our steakhouse gazing out at (what should be) beautiful views of Lassen Park. Our reality was once we opened, people stopped here to let their pets relieve themselves, did not clean up after them and let them run around on our property, hence the signs. It's a decision as property owners we made for our resort, it wasn't directed at any one pet owner.
The property across the street is under renovation and will eventually be a beautiful place to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

I just returned from my first visit to Highlands Ranch Resort ... and I'm already looking forward to a return visit. The resort is located a few miles from the entrance to Mt. Lassen at approximately 5,000 feet in elevation. The cottages all face towards the meadow as all other distractions (parking lots, highway, etc.) are omitted from the view from your room. Cottages are very nice ... an extremely comfortable bed, heated floor tiles in the bathroom, an efficient gas fireplace, and hardwood floors. We stayed in the Meadow's Edge cottage which was wonderful ... not only is it the most private cottage on the property, it also has a private outdoor hot tub (for two) that faces towards the meadow. It was perfect during both nights of our stay ... it didn't matter that the first night was 33 degrees or the second night was snowing ...the hot tub was very comfortable. A FULL breakfast is included with delicious options. Dinner is reasonably priced and the quality is excellent ... highlights included the duck, fried chicken, and the salmon/crab special. The architecture of the lodge (dining room, bar, and main fireplace) is impressive. Lots of attention to detail provides a rustic, but elegant environment. Staff were friendly and accommodating to the needs of guests. As I mentioned before, I'm looking forward to my next visit to the resort.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We have been coming here since opening weekend. We like to take visitors and family to the Highlands to show that the Mountains can have a very nice upscale Restaurant and entertainment. We have never been disjointed in the quality or quantity of food or drinks.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank enochslmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews