We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, reasonable rates” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
Benicia, Ca
Level Contributor
115 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Good location, reasonable rates”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

We stayed 2 nights on the Memorial Day weekend; the room rate was very reasonable. The hotel is located right on the border with Palo Alto. It's about a 6 block walk to downtown Menlo Park & a short drive to downtown Palo Alto & Stanford. The Stanford Shopping Center is about 1/2 block away. Our room was very clean. There was a long vanity counter, which was nice. There was a microwave & refrigerator. The beds were quite hard. The fan in the bathroom was super loud; fortunately, there was a window in the bathroom so you didn't have to turn on the light every time you went into the bathroom. Parking is covered but it is not underground parking - the photo shows the parking situation. There is a TINY elevator - we chose to use the stairs. The wifi worked fine for us & there is a computer in the lobby that can be used by guests. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Riviera, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, 20 July 2010
Thank you for taking the time to document your stay with us on Trip Advisor. We love to read comments and work hard to improve our hotel based on what our customers experience. I will be working closely with maintenance to look into any issues with bathroom fans that we have through out the hotel. Thanks again for your comments!

Best Regards,

Beto Flores
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    53
    26
    9
    11
See reviews for
40
13
18
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

This was my 3rd trip to Palo Alto and longest stay of the three. Prices vary in almost every hotel by day and time of year. My previous two trips, I've moved between the Best Western Riviera and the Westin (Palo Alto) to get the best stay for the money but in this case I spent all 6 nights at the BW Riviera. Of the 5 different rooms I've stayed in over 2008-2010, Room 114 was by far the best of the lot for the following reason... the street traffic noise along with the BART can be easily heard from every room except this one... Its tucked away in the corner and is blocked by the northern most block of rooms as well as the main lobby bldg. I'm not sure but I'd think the room directly above this may be slightly louder cause it sits higher than the lobby bldg but is probably a good second choice.

Rm 114 has a comfortable queen bed, a couch/chaise and matching chair along with an office desk & chair. Cable and Wireless internet worked just fine. It has a fabulous bathroom (travertine floors and PERFECTLY CLEAN tiles), and new clean carpet (as of this writing). IF it had a flat screen TV, I'd put in on scale of a much higher end hotel. I've posted pics if your a skeptic.

Now for the (few and minor) complaints of this room... Digital alarm clock was broken, dorm fridge fan was noisy, and in all rooms, there's a 1 inch gap at the bottom of the entry door. Either unplug the fridge or do what i did and place a bar of soap under the front of it... that quieted it down (and its probably still there :-) I also covered the door gap with a towel and threw two pillows over it to help reduce the noise as much as possible. Frankly, I would've enjoyed staying another week if I could. Good luck on getting this room!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WileEToyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Riviera, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, 8 April 2010
Thak you so much for taking the time to write a comment on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate feedback and strive to improve based on what our customers tell us. Please note we will be looking into the issue with the alarm clock and noisy refridgerator. Thanks again for your comments!

Best Regards,

Beto Flores
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma WA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2010

This is my first time staying in Palo Alto so I didn't know what value hotels were in the area. I went straight to Best Western's website, as I was confident that if a BW hotel was avaliable in the area, it would be very good. I wasn't disappointed! The Riviera is a great value for this high-end part of the Penninsula. Next door is the Stanford Shopping Center, restaurants are within a block, and it is central to our needs. The Riviera itself is absolutely lovely. It has a bistro look with a small patio table and chairs in front of each room, ivy climbing the walls, and charming wrought iron railing all around. The rooms are what I've come to expect of BW - clean, spacious, and well appointed for its price range. Well worth the stay! Oh, there's a pool, small gym, substantial continental breakfast, PC, and wireless!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arlenejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Riviera, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, 8 April 2010
Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor. We here at the Best Western Riviera are glad you enjoyed your stay and our amenities. We thrive on feedback and are glad to know we've met the standards you've come to expect from Best Western. We hope to see you again if you're ever back in the area!

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2009

We were in Palo Alto to visit family & decided to go with a less pricey hotel since we wouldn't be there that much & we figured we could spend the money we saved on the grands. We have always had reasonably good experiences at Best Westerns & so chose this hotel (also closest to family.) One absolute must for us was wireless internet (preferably free.) This hotel advertised free WIFI but we couldn't get it to work, it seemed not to be turned on. So partner went to the front desk & was told they would send someone to look at it. When no one had come 36 hours later, he called the 800 number for the provider on the equipment & was told that they had not yet been connected - maybe in another 3 weeks. So their claim of Wifi was a flat out lie. They have a free continental breakfast from 6:30 to 9:00 but the food tended to run out about a half hour early. It appears that they have set a limit on how much food they want to provide &, when that limit is reached, no more food. Housekeeping ignored our do not disturb sign & tried to enter our room while we were dressing (the "deadbolt" lock didn't work - we were reduced to putting a chair under the door knob to ensure our privacy.) When they did clean, it was very cursory - fresh towels & maybe cleaning the bathroom & "making" the beds (ie throwing the top sheet & blankets up over the bottom sheet - not even smoothing them out) - no vacuuming & only occasional emptying of waste baskets. The sheets were not fitted, did not stay in place very well & had small holes in them. We generally showered toward the end of the time when the business travelers were showering & on 3 occasions we had to wait over ½ hour for hot water (really ice cold). One evening, we had the grands spend the night with us & one wanted to shower before bed - there was no hot water at 8:00 at night! We had asked 2 days in advance if it was OK to have the grands stay & if we could get a cot. We were assured that it would not be a problem & that the cot would be placed in our room when they cleaned it. Nothing further was said & 2 days later, when we returned with the children, NO COT! When we asked about it, we were told it wouldn't fit! No explanation for why they didn't know that when we had originally asked (& provided our room #) or why thay hadn't said anything in the meantime. Fortunately the children are small & could sleep in our beds with us. The parking is located under the building with one very steep ramp leading to El Camino Real (a very busy street). There is a bush located (on hotel property) at the top of the ramp - making it almost impossible to see the stream of traffic you are about to enter. The elevator from the parking area to the rooms is very tiny & smelled very strongly of mildew - the inspection certificate had expired on 02/05/08. The info about the hotel in the binder in the room indicated 2 free bottles of water but that happened only on 2 of the 9 days we spent there. The fruit in the lobby was sporadic also. The hot tub was not working. The room itself was OK & the water pressure in the shower was good (not always the case even in fairly expensive hotels) but the heating/cooling unit was under the sinks - right next to the bathroom which meant that often one walked into a blast of icy air as upon leaving the shower. Not enough to make up for all the shortfalls. Positives were a good location (right across from Stanford Mall) & the washers were only $.75 & the dryers were free.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandma_dst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Menlo Park hotels

Redding, Cal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

Stayed there for three nights while going to Stanford Hospital, not too bad.. told them that I would be coming back to hospital in two weeks and they said that we could have the same rate. When I returned they raised the rate $20.00 a nite. I reminded them of our conversation and that I would be returning every other week for two months. They did not care a bit and told me not to use the internet as the prices change dailey,,what? I went down the street to the Creek Side and got a better place for less. Won't stay at Best Western Riviera again. Don't count on getting the posted price.

Helpful?
Thank olfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
0.1 km away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
4.5 km away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
1.0 km away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#2 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
6.3 km away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
1.1 km away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera
Address: 15 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,126 - ₹ 31,421
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Riviera Hotel Menlo Park
Best Western Menlo Park
Menlo Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing