We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place”
Review of Hill House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hill House Inn
Ranked #15 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Lafayette, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good place”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at the Hill House Inn for two nights (2/17/12 - 2/18/12) and were very pleased with the accommodations. The room was large and well furnished with windows on two sides and a pleasant view, While not in "downtown" Mendocino it is about a two block walk thereto and is convenient to everything in town. We have been going to Mendocino for decades and will certainly go back to it when we can.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are quiet but those on the ocean side are likely to be a bit quieter. The end unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drchef, General Manager at Hill House Inn, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
We enjoy hearing from guests who appreciate the Hill House, the staff and the great location so close to shops and restaurants! Our guests have been using the 15% discount at our sister property The Mendocino Hotel for some time and they always come back to the Inn happy and full.
Staying just outside of the village is peaceful and we always have somewhere to park! Remember to call for reservations on weekends as the season is fast approaching and we fill up fast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    141
    99
    48
    18
See reviews for
81
214
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2012

For my wife's birthday, I treated her to two days in Mendocino CA at the Hill House Inn. From the moment we arrived to the day we turned in our keys, they treated us as if we were friends or neighbors. The room was upgraded to a suite and it was clean and comfortable...we stayed in the Bette Davis suite. The weather was perfect for walking around the grounds and down to Mendocino.

The continental breakfast was as advertised, light but filling, and everything was fresh. We were referred to the Mendocino Hotel for dinner and the Albion River Inn and both places were great...our favorite (food and view) was the Albion River Inn.

Will return and thank you staff for a wonderful and memorable time.
Michael and Sandra Gordon

Room Tip: Enjoyed the suite, but second choice would be a room with a balconey or patio for sitting outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pollock Pines, California
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2012

My husband and I booked this trip through groupon and were looking forward to a VERY relaxing weekend away from work. The deal was great, HOWEVER, had we known that there was a birthday bash going on this weekend, we would have cancelled. The booming music was thundering through our room (which happened to be right next door to the "event room") until 1 AM IN THE MORNING! SO MUCH FOR PEACH AND QUIET! We did actually call the front desk, and they were of no help at all, basically so sad, too bad! Yes, and the party spilled out into the parking lot, very noisy! Did not enjoy our stay at all! The breakfast consisted of bagels and waffles and some juice. Advice for Hill House, either conclude parties by 10 or tell guests that there is going to be an event that is going to be obnoxiously loud and thumping till 1 in the morning! Give guests the option to "opt out" of staying! Additionally, there was some guy hanging out in the parking lot in a cab over camper, kinda creepy!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nedla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mendocino hotels

Sunnyvale, CA
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This is our third bed and breakfast in the Mendocino area. We used a groupon discount which provided a fantastic cost savings and included a free bottle of wine. We got a corner room with an ocean view and gas fireplace. As others have noted, the hotel staff is very warm and friendly, but the place is a bit shabby. We thought the rooms were fairly clean and comfortable, but dark, and, as you would expect, the hotel has alot of old furnishings. The breakfast even as a continental breakfast, is light and not exceptional but they do offer waffles and bagels. Only OJ, and limited fruit, but the coffee is pretty strong and good. For us, we like to hike in the morning and walk through the town and headlands. This location is a little difficult as the road is very narrow with not much room for pedestrians. Very dangerous to try at night. Still, with all the pluses and minues, we'd stay here again if we had the groupon rate. If it were standard rates, I'd look again at other places.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ECL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful two-night stay at Hill House. The hotel is located within an easy walk of the village. If you do the Mendocino Headlands walk, it's about a 2-mile loop from the hotel, all along the bluffs, through the village, and back to the hotel--probably a bit longer when you walk all the trails. We made a morning of it--took our time and absorbed the incredible ocean views along the trails, browsed the shops, had lunch, then went back to the hotel for a bit of relaxation. The hotel is more "shabby chic" than elegant, but that made it feel cozy and comfortable. And the staff was over-the-top friendly and helpful. We agree--we will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.7 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.8 km away
Blackberry Inn
Blackberry Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
224 reviews
4.4 km away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
152 reviews
7.9 km away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
622 reviews
0.5 km away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Inn

Property: Hill House Inn
Address: 10701 Palette Dr, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,960 - ₹ 15,599
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hill House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill House Inn is a premier hotel located in the historic village of Mendocino, California, with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The Inn is situated in lush Victorian gardens, open fields with native vegetation, towering rustic redwood water towers and magnificent cypress trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hill House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill House Hotel Mendocino
Hill Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing