We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blair House Inn

Blair House Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blair House Inn
Ranked #24 of 24 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

My husband and I visited Mendocino for the first time and had a great stay at Blair House Inn. We highly recommend it! It was a relaxing and pleasant stay. The B&B is centrally located. We were in Eric's room and thought the room was very comfortable and clean. Norm the Innkeeper, was very friendly and knowledgable about the area. It was great chatting with him and learning about Mendocino and the history of Blair House Inn. Norm was very welcoming and made our stay an awesome experience!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 09Honeymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    4
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Some of the previous reviews made me a little nervous about staying there, but my sister and her husband, and my husband and I had a very nice stay there. We had Jennifer's room in the front of the house and my sister and her husband had Eric's room on the side of the house. Blair House is on a very large corner lot, so it was very quiet. Across the street is a "park" (open lot) so the view of the bay was great from Jennifer's room. Yes, the house is old and need of repairs, but it was built .in the 1880's. The house maintains the character of an old Victorian. If you want a spa exprience, stay somewhere else. The only common area was the dining room and Norm, the caretaker, said it was alright for us to use it in the evenings to play cards. The continental breakfast was good. There were fresh strawberries, cantalope and bananas along with a few pasteries, bagels and English muffins and cereal. I had checked online for quite a few B&Bs and feel that the value is good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlenNGloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

I had reserved the Blair Cottage for 2 nights. The cottager was not very clean inside. After waking from the first night stay we found fresh rodent droppings on the kitchen counter and my clothes that were laying in a chair. Told the Inn Mgr and he moved us into the main house to Angela's Suite. Basically no money is being spent to upkeep the property and you can tell. Sad as this was a city that we love to vacation in. The economy seems to have hit here too.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catblue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mendocino hotels

Cape Town
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

Many of the previous comments are true. It needs a thorough renovation as it is over priced for the quality.

However, it was awesome to stay in Jessica Fletcher's house (even though the used only the exterior in the TV programme.

They really need to make more of that theme if they are to attract clients. Would only recommend to "Murder, She Wrote" fans.

Norm was a great Inn Keeper.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie_in_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Anselmo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

The house was rundown and the grounds were very ill kept. There were two big holes in front of the house and you had to be careful you didn't break your ankle going to the house. There were water leaks showing on the wallpaper. The rooms were somewhat clean (clean enough I guess). The shades in the room were dirty and broken. The couch was broken and the chair was ready to break. The room was very, very cold. We had no linen or towel service for the two nights we stayed, and the towels had holes in them. There was a very modern kitchen with a 6-burner stovetop but we were served toasted bagels or english muffins with some fruit and boxed cereal. Really bad coffee; so bad we went to the local coffee shop for some great coffee. The landloard was pleasant but not inspired to do much in the way of any comforts (like change the towels or cook an egg). I'm shocked that I had to pay $148 per night for this slum. I will never go back. EVER.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustATraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.2 km away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.3 km away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.3 km away
Nicholson House Inn
Nicholson House Inn
#22 of 24 in Mendocino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.4 km away
Joshua Grindle Inn
Joshua Grindle Inn
#7 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blair House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair House Inn

Property: Blair House Inn
Address: 45110 Little Lake Street, Mendocino, CA 95456
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,460 - ₹ 12,967
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing