We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Galesburg, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very comfortable!”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed in the Barn for one night, chosen because it was one of few units that had a TV. The room was delightful and very clean, and the bed and pillows were extra comfortable. The bathroom was small but adequate. Ayla was very personable and helped us with suggestions for restaurants.

We were unable to use the lovely outdoor area because of a chilly rain, but it would be great in warmer weather. A highlight was the delicious breakfast brought to our room!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    88
    27
    2
    3
See reviews for
57
218
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This will make year #5, I have taken a BMW Motorcycle group to the Sea Gull Inn for an early tour. Jim & Ayla Douglas make this stay so easy for us. They help the group with the best up to date suggestions for dinner and make the reservations for us. It seems anything else any one needs is taken care of. The rooms are always super clean, well stocked with soft fluffy towels, comfy bed sheets and beds. The location of the Inn is great. Right in the middle of everything making easy walking distance all weekend. The best thing is sleeping in and having a really great breakfast delivered to your room. My wife really likes that. Best thing for me as tour leader, I never hear any complaints from the group when we stay here.

Room Tip: We like the LookOut #1 and the Driftwood with a king bed and gas fire place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xfil911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We received an off season $99 rate for one of the smallest rooms...the Abalone room. It is an ultra feminine, but charming room complete with rose patterned wallpaper, lace curtains, etc. it is very cozy. There is one chair in the room and no closet..although there is a hook with hangers. The bathroom, probably the former closet, has a decent shower and a small sink set in a recess. It was fine for me but difficult for my broad shouldered husband to brush his teeth. The bed is small, but comfortable. Because the room is so small, we played cribbage in bed and had our nice little breakfast in bed. The owners, Jim and Ayla, are lovely. Ayla gave us a wonderful warm welcome and provided us with information and recommendations for restaurants. There is no parlor or common area at the Inn outside of the lovely gardens so if you plan to do anything besides sleep in your room, I would suggest you spring for a larger room...particularly in poor weather.

Room Tip: If you plan to do anything other than sleep in your room, splurge for one of the larger rooms...part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We spent a weekend in February at the Seagull Inn and loved it! It's one block up from the ocean and half a block from the main street in town. If you prefer to leave your car parked and walk everywhere, as we do, the location couldn't be better!

We stayed in the "Shed", which is a cute little one-room building with a private bathroom. The room was small but definitely adequate for two - comfy bed (although it was a double or small queen). The bathroom was very nice with a large tiled shower. The Shed is the only room at the inn with a TV with built-in DVD player. The owners had a nice selection of DVDs that were filmed in Mendocino, and we ended up watching some of them. It was nice to have that option and fun to see the scenes around town in the movies!

Breakfast each day was a large, homemade muffin, fruit, yogurt, OJ, and coffee or tea. The staff brought it to our room at a time we selected the night before. Then we had the choice of eating in the room or taking our tray out to the wonderful little nymph garden beside the shed. Although it was cold, it was sunny, so we opted to take our breakfast out in the garden both days, which was a delightful way to start the day.

The only thing I thought would have made it even more perfect would be a small refrigerator and a corkscrew in the room.

I highly recommend the Seagull Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryljasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Innkeeper Ayla warmly welcomed me to The Sea Gull Inn after I'd taken a sketching class. She showed me my room, gave me a few helpful pointers to make my stay more comfortable (if you go out at night, switch on your porch light so you can more easily find your way back to your room). Little things like this make a difference rather than just handing over the key at reception! My room was spotlessly clean, roomy, cozy, and very comfortable. The heater worked great as the evening became a bit chilly. Breakfast was served in the room - simple but very fresh and tasty. Delicious coffee, yummy pumpkin muffin, fruit, a bit of yogurt, orange juice. The inn is surrounded by sweet old gardens, and Sophie the very friendly gray kitty adds the final homey touch. I'll stay again next time in Mendocino.

Room Tip: I stayed in "Geranium". There were two beds and a small sitting area. It was downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.3 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 km away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
623 reviews
0.1 km away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.5 km away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,159 reviews
1.3 km away
Blackberry Inn
Blackberry Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 44960 Albion Street, PO Box 317, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,733 - ₹ 14,577
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mendocino CA and Sea Gull Inn, one of the original B&B Inns on the scenic Northern California Coast. The house was built in 1878. A giant Holly tree shades the front porch. The private garden has several secluded sitting areas. Meticulously maintained, the inn and its grounds are very much a part of Mendocino's charm. All bed and breakfast lodging guest rooms have private baths and some have views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing