We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A place to forget the world and all it's troubles!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MacCallum House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
MacCallum House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
“A place to forget the world and all it's troubles!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

A wonderful experence. Our room included a complimentary breakfast each morning from a number of items on their menu. The service was fast, the food was excellent and the coffee strong. :) The mainhouse is right out of a classic movie set, as well most of the town.

Room Tip: #32 - great location, wonderful view, even better bed....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    147
    50
    51
    35
See reviews for
72
339
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We went for a weekend up to Mendocino from San Francisco because the weather had been so clear and we figured it would be gorgeous and it was! We chose a suite in the luxury suites building up the street from the main house. It was just lovely. Breakfast was included and was amazing as well. The restaurant wasn't open for dinner as they were doing some remodeling. I can only imagine how good it would be if breakfast was that fantastic!
We are looking forward to going back in the fall. We would probably stay in the suites building again as it was really quiet and had great views. Why stay anywhere else in Mendocino? Loved it!

Room Tip: Browse their website. You can choose which room you want right on there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

After purchasing a LivingSocial voucher for a price 50% less than the regular rate, we stayed two nights on a holiday weekend in Room 26, Josephine's Garden. It was luxurious! One of the nicest places we've ever stayed.

The pictures on the website -- we are usually skeptics -- did not distort what awaited.

MacCallumn Suites are up a hill, only a two-minute walk from the main streets. Not much of a shoulder to walk on, so you might consider driving when you go back and forth.

Breakfast was gourmet and organic. The spa was as private as we'd been led to believe. The room was quite modern and spacious, and quiet, too. Without repeating all the amenities that are already listed on the accomodation's website, we'll just leave the rest to the readers.

If we visited again, we would pick a different room, only because they all seem different and we'd be too interested in sampling another to pick this one. Given the relatively mid-level TA ranking at the time of our booking, we can only figure that the other places in town must be even more impressive, or else it's something funky with the TA formulas, because our expectations were high and still were exceeded.

If anyone needs specific questions answered, please message me directly. Thanks.

Room Tip: Look at the descriptions, and consider whether you want the modern luxury of the Suites in the mansi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChairmanYow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the MacCallum House for 2 nights a few days before Christmas. We got a great deal through Groupon, and we weren't disappointed. We were in the Attic Suite (Room 6) in the main house, and it was really nice. There are 2 bedrooms (one with a queen bed and one with a full size bed). The bedrooms have tiny windows and not much light, but the sitting room has a window with a lovely view of the bay. There are 2 couches--one by the window, and one by the TV. There's also a fridge and microwave in the room and a "fake" wood stove that heats the room nicely. The jacuzzi tub is not much larger than a regular tub, but the bathroom itself is sizeable. The only bad part was that the bed wasn't the most comfortable and we could hear the garbage trucks in the morning.

We ate dinner at the Inn both nights, and the food was fantastic. You get tokens for $7 of credit per person per night for dinner. The only catch is that you can't combine your tokens. We had to use $14 one night and our other $14 the next night. You can use it for drinks or dessert though, if you want to eat dinner someplace else. For the included breakfast, you get to choose one of about 5 or 6 main dishes along with coffee, tea, juice, or a mimosa. I ordered a side of scrambled eggs with my pancakes and figured I'd be charged for that, but I wasn't.

The people at the Inn are really friendly, the service is excellent, and you get a "green credit" of about $10 if you don't have your towels and sheets replaced. The Inn is just a couple blocks up from the main street of Mendocino, so it's an easy walk to everything in town. All in all, an excellent stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bioteacher1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Had a great time at The Mac House in Mendo. Room 10 aka The Carriage House, was large, very clean and had it's own private hot tub. Love the l'occitane products in the room.

Breakfast, that was included, was in the main house was delicious and service was great. We also had drinks at the bar the night before in the main house and they have a tasty and fun cocktail list.

It is located right in town, so there is easy walking access to everything.

My only small complaint was when we tried to check in at 2:30, the guy at the desk gave me a bit of a dismissive attitude and told me check-in was at 4:00 and the room would not be ready until then. Very minor...

Overall a great stay and I would stay again.

Also, fast and free WiFi, which seems to be rare in Mendocino and they have a large flat screen TV with cable in the room. It may sound crazy saying that in 2012, but I got the impression not all places have cable and WiFi.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zacharymia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.1 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
12.3 km away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
13.8 km away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
7.4 km away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.2 km away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacCallum House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacCallum House Inn

Property: MacCallum House Inn
Address: 45020 Albion St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,084 - ₹ 14,133
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MacCallum House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a classic Victorian boutique hotel located in the heart of Mendocino. Situated on 2 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds the MacCallum House has a full service fine dining restaurant, casual cafe, and bar on site. We offer wedding and group services as well. Our accommodations feature a number of standard amenities including concierge services, 24 hour desk help. Our rooms have many luxury touches such as Shikai bath products,mini bars,gourmet in room coffee, robes, fireplaces, hot tubs, DVD players, Ipod docking stations, phones, and ocean views. We also provide free Wifi property wide so you can stay in touch with the rest of the world. As part of our collection of rooms we also have two vacation homes that are fully equipped and great for families. In addition our Suites property has large rooms complete with ocean views, jetted tubs, gas fireplaces, and large plasma televisions. Come discover why the MacCallum House is the most comfortable place to stay in Mendocino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your MacCallum House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maccallum House Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing