We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mendocino hotel is the heart of the villiage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
santa rosa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“mendocino hotel is the heart of the villiage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

wow free mimosas with Sunday brunch ! a very beautiful and romantic Inn wonderful and friendly staff

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaRosaLolita69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    138
    96
    68
    39
See reviews for
54
321
37
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Enjoyed our stay, but glad we took advantage of a special price. We had a very large garden suite which was luxurious but showed a little wear. The lobby/bar area was a nice place to sit, enjoy a glass of wine, & look at the view. The staff, for the most part, needed to take some "nice" pills.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Judy_the_accountant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Mendocino hotel is adjacent to the ocean.... We were originally booked in one of the garden suites (Denslow building). Something about that room didnt feel quite right.... I dont nessasarily believe in "ghosts" per se, however there are tales of this hotel being haunted. Due to feeling "uneasy" about our room, I requested to be moved to a different room in the main hotel. The hotel staff was very accomodating and promptly moved us. The hotel staff was very friendly, accomodating, and pleasant.
The hotel has a very victorian period feel. Some of the rooms do not have tv's in them, and some have shared bathrooms.
The restaurant attached to this hotel had incredibly delicious food. My husband had the giant scallops dinner and I had the salmon dinner. Both dinners were delicious and melt in your mouth good!
We would definitely not hesitate to stay in this hotel again!

Room Tip: For a truely authentic feel get a room in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendybird23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder Creek, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

The location is perfect, the hotel is charming and cozy. I liked having a bar and restaurant right downstairs. Although the rooms were a bit pricey, the location made it worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pitbuell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

I loved the location and proximity to the ocean! The lobby and bar are beautifully appointed with a cozy appeal. The room we were in, a Victorian Room, was not what I expected however. There's certainly a charm about a Victorian room but for $180 a night, I'd like an upgraded version (it was a bit worn, light on towels, etc). The bed was pretty comfortable. Our room opened to a narrow, shared deck which eventually led to the view of the ocean which was lovely. The biggest concern of ours is that the substantial noise from the kitchen somehow made it to our room each morning and evening. It sounded a lot like someone moving furniture in the room above you, for hours. The kitchen was below us, but the sound transferred into our room. Upon our checkout, the front desk said that happens in all the Victorian Rooms...... I don't know if I'd stay overnight again but I'm quite sure I'll be having a drink by the fireplace someday.

Room Tip: Upon our check out, the front desk recommended a garden room if we didn't care for the noise com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DayTripper1959_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.1 km away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
12.3 km away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.5 km away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.7 km away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#15 of 25 in Mendocino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
3.8 km away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites

Property: Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Address: 45080 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,029 - ₹ 10,956
Hotel Class:3 star — Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in 1878 and restored in 1975, The Mendocino Hotel Ocean & Garden Suites offers deluxe accommodations: luxurious, romantic, garden suites and cottages situated on two acres of botanical gardens with fireplaces, Italian marble vanities, private balconies and spectacular ocean or garden views. Enjoy antiques, fine art, down comforters, stained glass and Oriental carpets, 24/7 front desk concierge and two award-winning restaurants. ZAGATSURVEY reports “Victorian delights abound at this charming, period Mendocino Hotel restaurant with a California menu that’s right on the mark and sets the scene for locals as the "in place" and well worth the price." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mendocino Hotel And Garden Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing