We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea Rock is a must stay kind of place”
Review of Sea Rock Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Rock Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mint Hill
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Sea Rock is a must stay kind of place”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Everything from making reservations to directions to service to view to atmosphere to breakfast, this place has it all. And on top of it all, it is reasonable and friendly.

Room Tip: Room # 5 has a fantastic view of the coast and surf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind accolades.

Cottage #5 is a very popular cottage as it has full ocean views from inside the cottage and out on the private deck. It was our pleasure to make your visit memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    85
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
105
539
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
arizona
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Ok, I get it, California is expensive. I have become used to that, and plan accordingly. So when we decided to visit Mendocino, we knew hotel prices were going to be high. So we chose a place on the beach, and holding our nose, agreed to spend $200 a night. First the place is clean, convenient to the town, and next to a lovely stretch of cove, perfect for watching the waves and sunsets. But otherwise - the room was small, with bizarre knotted pine paneling from floor to ceiling. We were really surprised that there was no refrigerator or microwave. Then we were really surprised about the tv - its a tiny 14", set up high on a shelf. I noticed they had binoculars for ocean gazing, and we joked about needing it to watch tv. Now, we did not come to town to watch tv, but like to after a day out, relaxing in our room. And we could have lived with it had we not just paid $200, more than we had ever spent on a room. They provide robes, but had no pen or paper in the room? To be fair, they did offer to move us to another room but we just didn't want to bother. Breakfast was pretty typical, nothing special, and it wasn't served till 8. We needed to leave earlier, but was told they coudn't set it up earlier. Its not like they had to cook anything, just put out the hard boiled eggs, bread and friut on the counter for heavens sakes! Realizing now how small the town is, we will use another hotel that does not charge outrageous prices because its on the water, a place that has the amenities that we expect from any hotel that we stay at. We'll give this one a miss

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ash067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Owner at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for you review of Sea Rock Inn. We did take your advise and upgraded our TV/DVD players to new larger flat screens. We also have available a microwave and frig to our guests as well as accommodations with full kitchens.
Thank you again for your valuable feedback.
Susie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2012

wonderful views, beautiful wood furniture. Only drawback was ancient small tv set but we neve used it anyway.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikemess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback on your visit with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our property with it's wonderful ocean views and breakfast.
We have taken your critique to heart and have replaced all TVs to larger flatscreen TV/DVD units.
Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed in cabin #5 while at Sea Rock. There was only one other couple there at the time so we quiet,perfect weather,fantastic view and cozy cottage. Loved the front porch to sit on,green lawn to use ,binocularies to use and walking distance to the town was wonderful..The only other thing that would have made it perfect would have been the food. We were served a small piece of warm quiche each day along with a platter in front of us with fruit, Safeway yogurt,an assortment of bread for us to toast and our choice of a cold beverage. Coffee you got on your own..Some fresh baked pastries and not a hard boiled egg would have made the breakfast more enjoyable..

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view. Cottage preferably..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

On our recent trip to the USA, our friends invited us to visit one of their favourite weekend destinations, Mendocino, CA. They booked the Sea Rock Inn which we all agreed was a lovely, friendly Inn overlooking the ocean. The room was cozy, clean and very well equipped, especially the welcoming wine and coffee maker. Each room had an instant lighting gas stove for the chilly evenings. Breakfast was delicious with home made scones, bread, quiche in addition to fruit, tea and coffee. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you. An excellent choice which we would return to if we came back to that part of CA. Our friends who live in CA will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockinRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Thank you for sharing your photos! It looks like you had wonderful weather for your visit to Mendocino, but in May the evenings can get quite chilly and I'm glad you enjoyed your fireplace, wine and hot coffee to keep you warm. We would love to host you again if you ever come back to this part of California in the US!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
1.2 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
1.1 km away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
623 reviews
2.6 km away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
708 reviews
8.4 km away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
634 reviews
1.9 km away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Rock Inn

Property: Sea Rock Inn
Address: 11101 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,494 - ₹ 24,722
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Rock Inn, a Mendocino Bed and Breakfast, offers romantic ocean view cottages and suites overlooking the Northern California Coast. Snuggle up in front of a fireplace or unwind in a two-person soaking tub while watching the sun setting over the rugged coastline. Come to the Sea Rock for comfort, privacy and the beauty of Mendocino. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Rock Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing