We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate, but not great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackberry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blackberry Inn
Ranked #9 of 24 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Adequate, but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

This hotel has potential, but needs some work. Rooms are kind of western town theme, a little odd, but different. Problem is in lack of upkeep, room needed some basic repairs, knob for heater was broken, half of the light bulbs in the fixtures were burned out. Just simple things that are not being done that wold make a big difference. Price is a little lower than staying in town, but not by much. Website states ocean views, and I guess if you look between the trees and across the highway you can kind of see the ocean, but not a very good view.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank medicman5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    65
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
129
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

This little cottage is absolutely adorable! Immediately put off by the strange house next door and it was hard to find, but it is SOOOO adorable once you get there. Pretty comfortable and the wine and basket of goodies that were awaiting us was wonderful. Don't expect any maid service the whole time you are there, as it won't happen even at $250/night. The place was mostly very clean except the bathtub was really dirty with debris and spiders in it....so we just opted for the shower in the other bathroom. The bed was comfortable and there was a lot of firewood provided and we really enjoyed the fires. The woods surrounding this cottage are beyond beautiful and majestic, although we did get a little creeped out when we were walking around outside and found a very fresh grape just outside the bedroom window???? It's not as 'off by itself' as you would hope but is surrounded by ghetto looking houses with teenage mutants. Still though, I just found out that this place was for sale and is pending....so no more Storybook :( That's sad, because even though it could have been cleaner and their may have been neighbor kids lurking about, and there was no maid service, I would have definately gone here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MalteseFluffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mts of western NC
Level Contributor
714 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

After a 3 week road trip this Blackberry Inn gets our top vote for favorite place to stay and the place we would definitely return. The gentleman that checked us in on 9/13 was as pleasant as could be and a real pleasure. We stayed 2 nights in one of the less expensive rooms and we found it extremely clean and very roomy. No odors, just nothing to gripe about. A very effective heating unit with thermostat was just one indication that this wasn't your typical inn. A welcome basket was given to us as well as two treats on the bed. The cute little 'village' theme of the Blackberry Inn was very inviting and the 'feel' of the area was very safe and secure. Just a delightful place to stay while visiting Mendocino. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hooked_on_travel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
150 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed at the Blackberry Inn for one night. Blackberry is very conveniently located although not really within walking distance of the main part of town. The rooms are laid out such as 'the Bank', 'The Baker, etc, which is really very charming. We were allocated 'Assayer' The young couple who own and run Blackberry were charming and very helpful. the room was fine - a fireplace in the corner, everything worked and catered for. Even to the bottle of wine we were given when we arrived. A useful touch was that there were menus of all the restaurants in the town on display in Reception so you could choose somewhere. The advice of a restaurant given proved to be very good and 'local' in feel. Good value for money. We were made to feel very welcome. Would recommend it and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pringle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Blackberry Inn is just outside of Mendocino so not walking distance to local restaurants and bars. But I found this an advantage with being more serene and quiet. Similar to Bed and Breakfast with each room being unique but no breakfast provided. We stayed in the "Bank" room which had a nice sitting area and separate tub and shower. There is a partial ocean view from the property but realize that you are on the opposite side of the highway. It was a good value compared to places in town. There was a wood burning fireplace with wood already to go. We had a fire the first night there. A great place to stay unless you have to be in middle of town.

Room Tip: Not worth paying for ocean view room in my opinion. There is a common sitting area to get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
1.4 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
1.4 km away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.3 km away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
1.3 km away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.8 km away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#15 of 24 in Mendocino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry Inn

Property: Blackberry Inn
Address: 44951 Larkin Rd, Mendocino, CA 95460-9751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,640 - ₹ 16,154
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackberry Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackberry Inn, nestled a half mile above the historic town of Mendocino, offers guests the best of both worlds. Surrounded by sylvan trees, sunny meadows and breathtaking ocean views, the Inn is perfect for those looking for tranquility and luxury. Whether you enjoy strolling through town, hiking the many surrounding beaches, biking the idyllic Hwy. One, or relaxing on your redwood deck with a glass of wine, the Blackberry Inn offers serenity and proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Blackberry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackberry Hotel Mendocino
Blackberry Inn Mendocino Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing