We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
364
62
10
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
364
62
10
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews border collie emerald room amber cottage jasper room breakfast room front lawn popcorn machine view of the ocean hot tub gas fireplace private deck breakfast was delicious each morning the cottages pacific coast first morning glass of wine
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We stayed in the Crystal room. It was beautiful room & beautiful view.
However, balcony was not sweep, outdoor furniture was not arranged and cushions were still wet from the last night rain. when we asked for dry cushions we were offered towels to dry the furniture if we liked.
Room was cozy. bed was comfortable.
Breakfast was scheduled from 8:30 until 9:45. There was some very weak coffee available but nothing was served until 9:30.
It was very minimal and i guess it was tiring to be special but was mostly uneatable.The small muffin was good.
My biggest complaint was that the host/ receptionist/ cook was continually trying to sell the ambience and weather and kept reminding us all that she had only been there 3 weeks and had no help instead of paying attention to the needs of the guests. She also had a strange way of asking "can I help you" which sounded like we were intruding and it was the first time she saw us. It might have been a cultural / language barrier.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank dwhiskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris T, Property Supervisor at Agate Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Dwhiskers,

We're incredibly sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Agate Cove, and want to sincerely apologize for your dissatisfaction. We have heard your comments and would like to address a few of these issues. Starting with Crystal's private deck, with all sincerity we apologize that the patio was not swept or in proper viewing condition upon arrival. We are looking to replace the outdoor furniture with a more weather resistant material in the very near future. In regards to breakfast, we are currently in the process of upgrading our coffee, our wonderful Innkeeper has been tasting local vendors to find the best fit for our guests and we'll make sure it will be much stronger than the previous brand! We'd love to have you stay with us again sometime so we can show you that we've heard your suggestions/concerns and have made the necessary improvements to better the property. If you would be inclined to return we'd be happy to offer you one free night towards your next stay!

Sincerely,
Agate Cove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Under new ownership February 2018
We stayed a few nights. We tried to give the new owner our feedback directly, but she said she was aware of all the issues.

Breakfast - we were informed that breakfast was from 8:30-9:45. We're early risers and were ready to get out and explore. We arrived for breakfast by 8:30 both Saturday and Sunday. We were not served breakfast until 9:30 am. Half the breakfast was cold, the orange juice had turned, and the cloth napkins were dirty. We felt like we had to follow her schedule, so we paid for breakfast elsewhere on Monday morning.

** Obsidian suite $400 per night
Bathroom - no hot water in sink, owner said have to run the shower at the same time just like it says on the website, I said that wasted water, she said it doesn't matter
- ants on my cosmetic bag
- cheap toilet paper
- toilet seat scratched
- bathroom counter cracked
- no decent lighting
- all towel rods moldy
- make-up mirror broken
- tub rusty and ceiling paint has bubbles from water damage
- no safety bars for 16" tub
- shower curtain cut up the middle by hand
Room - mattress old & lumpy, feet higher than head
- only heat from gas fireplace, if you are a light sleeper, you'll be woken all night by the gas fireplace turning on and off (sound and light), frogs and highway noise
- thermostat was set at 72, we woke up in the middle of the night with the heat up to 85
- electrical outlet coming out of wall
- circular window above bed has water damage
- dresser drawer's entire face fell off when pulled handle
Entry- need interior mat, it's raining outside

** Sunstone $275 per night
- we were told we had to be out of Obsidian by 11am. After finally eating & finishing breakfast by 10am, they were knocking on our door at 10:30.
Room - mattress old & lumpy, feet higher than head
Bath - no privacy, either inside or from outside
- two sliding doors between bed and bath which don't fully close, no handle to easily pull one side
- there was a window with no blinds right above the tub, my husband confirmed he could see in from outside, we didn't bathe that day

The only reason we didn't give this place a terrible rating is because it does have breathtaking views, gorgeous landscaping, and we could see it was once very loved.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank wendyfreeman2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris T, Property Supervisor at Agate Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear Wendy,

We sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay! We have heard your comments and are working to get each one fixed as soon as possible. Unfortunatly during your stay we were in the middle of finding a new maintenance man, but thankfully we have just hired a wonderful new maintenance man who is currently working on fixing each of these issues. We'd love to have you stay with us again sometime so we can show you that we've heard your suggestions/concerns and have made the necessary improvements to better the property. If you would be inclined to return we'd be happy to offer you one free night towards your next stay!

Sincerely,
Agate Cove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

After looking at several inns to stay at I decided on the Agate Cove Inn. We stayed in the Sunstone room which is closest to the ocean. We were greeted by the new innkeeper. Her first day at this inn. Very friendly, showed us to our room, which was clean and the bathroom as described. Trying to use the WiFi was a challenge as they have a couple of different passwords on 2 different pages in their ‘how to’ book. Took it to the office after several attempts and the owner was there and when she was questioned about the different passwords she crossed out one and said oh the other one isn’t right either and told us the correct password. Instruction sheets should be retyped and not just crossed out. It is a beautiful property but is in some need of maintenance. The bed was comfortable but the pillows definitely need to be replaced. One was so hard and old and the others were so small, barely slept as I just could not get comfortable and ended up with a headache. As for the breakfast it was ok. The hot
cinnamon rolls and sausage were the best on the buffet. The bread pudding and quiche were so soft and mushy, I chose to pass. Definitely not the breakfast that other travelers have taken pictures of. These comments are made to give constructive criticism. I would stay again, but will try a couple of the other inns first.

Room Tip: Sunstone is the closest to the ocean
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank azwineluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

We booked 2 rooms for our family stay, both rooms were really well presented and the beds incredibly comfortable. The location of the property is good, despite being between 2 roads- we heard very little road noise. The bathrooms are very dated, like something out of the 1980's! There is no heating in the bathrooms, with our stay in February- you had to be very brave to have a bath our shower in this room! The whole place is poorly insulated, with huge gaps around the door frames and you could feel the cold coming through the floor. I dare say at other times of the year these things would not be a problem, but in February they were! The breakfast was not as good as expected, its a lovely open plan kitchen breakfast room with a fabulous view- but with not much food and nothing cooked fresh to order. That said the staff were friendly and we do not regret staying.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Whyand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

We have been coming to Mendocino once every few years for 20 years. This was our first time at Agate Cove Inn and its our new favorite spot! Loved being on the coast side of the highway, just a quiet little road between us and the ocean. We enjoyed walking to the headlands from here. Breakfast was amazing! Thank you Charles! You can’t beat the view from the breakfast room. Our little cottage room, the Sunstone, was cute and comfy. Everything fresh and clean. WiFi was very good, thank goodness because cell service is almost nonexistent is this area! The fireplace is gas and on a thermostat, which means easy on and easy off. Two awesome leather chairs in front of the fire and facing the ocean view windows made this a great spot to rest between nice long hikes and eating out. We will be back!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank cyndym_cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews