We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
McCloud Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunsmuir Lodge(Dunsmuir)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swiss Holiday Lodge(Mount Shasta)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
165
31
5
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
165
31
5
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bhomemade granolathe chicken pot piegame tablesrestored hotelcraftsman stylemount shastasage restaurantcomplimentary wineother guestsmodern amenitiesmade to order breakfastbreakfast was includedrooms are largespent two nightsbed was comfortableair conditioning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This is a really charming and cozy bed and breakfast hotel that I just absolutely enjoyed! The entire staff is to be commended and recommended! And the locale is just pristine.

We headed to McCloud for a wedding and chose The McCloud Hotel as our lodging of choice. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and checked in without delay. The hotel is a historic structure that dates back to the early 1900's and all attempts have been made to retain the period decor throughout the common areas and rooms.. Now mind you they didn't have TV back then so there are none in the rooms today. They do offer complimentary wi-fi for those who need to remain connected.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. Complimentary breakfast is served downstairs to all hotel guests. If you have a visitor they may dine with you for a modest price. The food is plentiful and hearty.

It is located on what can be considered the main street through town and everything is within walking distance. There is parking for one car per room for those trips into the countryside where there is plenty to do and see. Since we were only there for a couple of days we took in what we could. But there is hiking, fishing and camping to name just a few.

The combination of hospitality, location and locale, and the quality of our stay I would definitely recommend it to any and everyone!

Thank you again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usvi_bvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Beautiful historic county style B&B. We loved everything about this place. The rooms was so clean and uniquely decorated. It was fun just to be there in the room, reading the guestbook, taking a bath, and we usually just like to be outside. We had the most incredible in-room breakfast. We love that there is no TV, it gave us more time together. We usually stay in Mt. Shasta city but couldn't find a place, but were so happy to find this wonder B&B. This is very close to Mt. Shasta and truly a special place to stay and worth the little extra dive if you plan to play on the mountain.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtncpl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Only 10 miles or so east of I-5 from the town of Mt. Shasta, on Hwy. 89 toward Susanville and eventually Reno, sits the quaint mountain village of McCloud. McCloud boasts several small, outwardly appealing hotels and B & B's. I can't speak to the other spots, but the McCloud Bed and Breakfast Hotel is the real deal. Built nearly 100 years ago, it is utterly charming and welcoming. The room was airy and bright, the bathroom modern, the bed quite comfortable. A chocolate treat lay on the bedside table. The creaky staircase adds to the ambience, as does the absence of TV and telephone in your room (they are downstairs off the lobby). Guests can relax in the comfy reception where books and games await (and where complimentary wine is served in late afternoon), or can sit on the veranda or in the leafy back yard. Off-street parking is ample. The staff is friendly and helpful; for example, although I departed before the hot breakfast would be served at 8 a.m., a young man, Ryan, was happy to fix me a sack of goodies to take along in the car.
My queen-bed room was $108 plus tax. Obviously, the larger rooms, including suites with jacuzzi tubs, cost more.
A drawback is that McCloud has few dining spots, so driving into Mt. Shasta for dinner may be necessary. Fortunately, that doesn't take long. A plus, for hikers, is that several trails are located only a few miles east. One hike in particular leads to three scenic waterfalls on the McCloud river; only the third of these requires much exertion.
I save 5-star ratings for deluxe resorts and exotic settings -- places like that. But as small, remote-but-charming hotels go, it would be hard to beat this one. I give it 4 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the McCloud Hotel. The interior feels historic, not dated, and the relaxed, yet classy, atmosphere feels like you have gone back to a simpler time.

It's true that there are no televisions in the rooms or phones, but that's the way we like to vacation. The breakfasts are fantastic and they accommodated our vegetarian needs without a problem. The serving staff in the morning were great! As others have mentioned, the gardens are lovely. The rates were quite reasonable (we got the standard room), and the beds were comfortable.

We will stay here the next time we are in the area again! Book early! We booked in March for a room in July and they were almost out!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armandea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

This was our second stay. This time we brought along family from England and we were all delighted with every aspect. Efficiently run, private, wonderful area ~ the mountain of course and don't miss the drive to Burney Falls ~ great food, beautiful decor, very clean, quiet and peaceful, cheerful service, comfy beds, excellent showers. We felt like royalty. We plan to go back again and again and recommend it to everyone. Winter rates are fabulous ~ we were there in November and in April. But I'd happily pay more to be there in the summer as well. It cannot be beat.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank embee48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews