We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A historic hotel near Mt. Shasta”
Review of McCloud Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McCloud Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
Certificate of Excellence
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A historic hotel near Mt. Shasta”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stayed here on a trip to Oregon, and what a comfortable travel back in time. Built in 1915, but recently restored, each of the 12 rooms have all the comforts of home. The room furnishings are antique but clean and well-kept, but our favorite area was the quiet and beautiful garden, large enough to easily find a private place to sit and read. The included breakfast was delicious, and more than ample to start you on your day.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2009Benjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    30
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
109
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BOS
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This is a really charming and cozy bed and breakfast hotel that I just absolutely enjoyed! The entire staff is to be commended and recommended! And the locale is just pristine.

We headed to McCloud for a wedding and chose The McCloud Hotel as our lodging of choice. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and checked in without delay. The hotel is a historic structure that dates back to the early 1900's and all attempts have been made to retain the period decor throughout the common areas and rooms.. Now mind you they didn't have TV back then so there are none in the rooms today. They do offer complimentary wi-fi for those who need to remain connected.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. Complimentary breakfast is served downstairs to all hotel guests. If you have a visitor they may dine with you for a modest price. The food is plentiful and hearty.

It is located on what can be considered the main street through town and everything is within walking distance. There is parking for one car per room for those trips into the countryside where there is plenty to do and see. Since we were only there for a couple of days we took in what we could. But there is hiking, fishing and camping to name just a few.

The combination of hospitality, location and locale, and the quality of our stay I would definitely recommend it to any and everyone!

Thank you again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usvi_bvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Beautiful historic county style B&B. We loved everything about this place. The rooms was so clean and uniquely decorated. It was fun just to be there in the room, reading the guestbook, taking a bath, and we usually just like to be outside. We had the most incredible in-room breakfast. We love that there is no TV, it gave us more time together. We usually stay in Mt. Shasta city but couldn't find a place, but were so happy to find this wonder B&B. This is very close to Mt. Shasta and truly a special place to stay and worth the little extra dive if you plan to play on the mountain.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtncpl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, WA.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Only 10 miles or so east of I-5 from the town of Mt. Shasta, on Hwy. 89 toward Susanville and eventually Reno, sits the quaint mountain village of McCloud. McCloud boasts several small, outwardly appealing hotels and B & B's. I can't speak to the other spots, but the McCloud Bed and Breakfast Hotel is the real deal. Built nearly 100 years ago, it is utterly charming and welcoming. The room was airy and bright, the bathroom modern, the bed quite comfortable. A chocolate treat lay on the bedside table. The creaky staircase adds to the ambience, as does the absence of TV and telephone in your room (they are downstairs off the lobby). Guests can relax in the comfy reception where books and games await (and where complimentary wine is served in late afternoon), or can sit on the veranda or in the leafy back yard. Off-street parking is ample. The staff is friendly and helpful; for example, although I departed before the hot breakfast would be served at 8 a.m., a young man, Ryan, was happy to fix me a sack of goodies to take along in the car.
My queen-bed room was $108 plus tax. Obviously, the larger rooms, including suites with jacuzzi tubs, cost more.
A drawback is that McCloud has few dining spots, so driving into Mt. Shasta for dinner may be necessary. Fortunately, that doesn't take long. A plus, for hikers, is that several trails are located only a few miles east. One hike in particular leads to three scenic waterfalls on the McCloud river; only the third of these requires much exertion.
I save 5-star ratings for deluxe resorts and exotic settings -- places like that. But as small, remote-but-charming hotels go, it would be hard to beat this one. I give it 4 stars.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the McCloud Hotel. The interior feels historic, not dated, and the relaxed, yet classy, atmosphere feels like you have gone back to a simpler time.

It's true that there are no televisions in the rooms or phones, but that's the way we like to vacation. The breakfasts are fantastic and they accommodated our vegetarian needs without a problem. The serving staff in the morning were great! As others have mentioned, the gardens are lovely. The rates were quite reasonable (we got the standard room), and the beds were comfortable.

We will stay here the next time we are in the area again! Book early! We booked in March for a room in July and they were almost out!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armandea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCloud
0.2 km away
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
16.1 km away
Best Western Plus Tree House
Best Western Plus Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
15.1 km away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 km away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#6 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
25.7 km away
Comfort Inn Mount Shasta Area
0.3 km away
McCloud River Inn
McCloud River Inn
#1 of 3 in McCloud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCloud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCloud Hotel

Property: McCloud Hotel
Address: 408 Main Street, PO Box 730, McCloud, CA 96057
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > McCloud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,894 - ₹ 13,381
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The McCloud Hotel is an historic property located in the quaint, former logging town of McCloud, California. We are only 5 miles from the Mount Shasta Ski Park and 9 miles from the I-5 corridor and the town of Mt Shasta. McCloud is actually located on the southern slope of Mt Shasta! Our hotel offers historic hospitality along with modern amenities. We serve a cooked to order breakfast (that you order from a menu) and have a fine dining restaurant open to the public with seating available 5:30 - 8pm Wednesday - Sunday evenings. Dinner reservations are encouraged. Various rooms types and suites are available - all have private bathrooms. Good Wi-Fi and cell phone reception. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your McCloud Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing