We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Nice Chinese history in downtown Marysville, CA

北溪廟 - We like to travel and see some historic part of the town. We found this little treasure in... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Lv K
,
South San Francisco, California
You gotta go

This very old Temple is so amazing. There are very few authentic Chinese Temples remaining in this... read more

Reviewed 28 May 2018
Carey C
,
Winter Garden, Florida
Read all 18 reviews
  
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
8
8
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
8
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chinese temple local history piece of history parade artifacts restored chinatown
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

北溪廟 - We like to travel and see some historic part of the town. We found this little treasure in Marysville next to the river. Unfortunately, it was closed. However, it has a nice garden, arches, pagoda, Chinese writing which was interesting. We met a person who works next street down from this place, he shared a lot of local history to us. Library is about two blocks away which gave us place to rest in a hot summer afternoon walk.

Thank Lv K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

This very old Temple is so amazing. There are very few authentic Chinese Temples remaining in this country. The Docent was very kind and took the time to answer all my questions.
Very few visitors, we were told , are allowed downstairs in the “museum” area. We were so lucky because we saw the most fabulous restored Dragon Head. It was brought from China, and used in parades until the 1930’s. Then it was retired, and brought in for restoration. This old piece is hard to describe and must be seen to be believed.
It is only open on the weekends, but so worth it

Thank Carey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

This was very neat and it has a cool story behind it. Really enjoyed the architecture but I think k it would be better to visit in the spring when everything is bright green and flowers are blooming.

Thank Juli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

A restored mural, artifacts and more are interesting things to see when touring this historical Chinese Temple. Featured on a PBS show and a tour with one of the local guides is a must. Open the week end each year during the Bok Kai Festival and Parade.
In the neighborhood is also the old school and lovely mural by a local artists

Thank lawton212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

So much of Marysville history is here, from back in the gold rush days when the town was made prosperous. Artifacts from ancient times are shown here. Marysville has a Bok Kai parade every year to honor the heritage of the Chinese temple. Much is owed to those who came before us

Thank 557jeannec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Nice excursion. Grounds are really pleasant. Plenty of 'on' street parking. Nice restaurants almost next store so you can park, tour, and lunch all within steps of each destination.

Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

We had the opportunity to visit the Bok Kai Temple in Marysville, CA recently as was astonished that is temple is still a functional temple, operating for generations since the 1800s. We must admit, it looked a by creepy at first, but talking to observing people who come to the temple on a regular insight gave us a better perspective of the temple. The curator, Mr. Tom, who gave us a tour was also helpful on bringing back the colorfulness of the history of the temple. We must credit Mr. Tom, who is also an historian, for telling us wonderful and interesting stories of yesteryear, of the temple, and its origin.
Without people like Mr. Tom, much of our history will be lost.

Thank photograher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016

This was a fascinating piece of local history. Our favorite visit was during the Bok Kai festival when we were able to go inside. Otherwise, it is simply a nice photo op. I would recommend trying to visit when it's open.

Thank not2many
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015

A must see. It's a piece of local history and very interesting. I'd recommend you stop over and walk around.

Thank hrman835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2015

If you are in the Marysville area on a Saturday afternoon, be sure to stop by and check if the temple is open. It is a not to be missed piece of the History of California. The couple, who keep it open are more than happy to share the history of the temple, and explain the Taoist Gods, and the religious practices of Taoism.

1  Thank Allan152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews