We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend more”
Review of Wave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wave Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

It was dreadful, rooms were OK but it was sad, dreary, unloved and run down. We were next to the laundry, hot, noisy. Reception staff were disinterested and lacklustre, breakfast was pathetic. Shuttle, forget it, the guy often doesn't turn up. Needs a shake up, smile ferrchrisakes!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jo_price871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2017

I booked this hotel for 5 days and 4 nights. We arrived early around 10a.m. and they wouldn't let us check in early. The hotel we stayed was very disgusting. There was some bugs in the sink and bugs on the pillow. My son got bedbugs bite on the same day we arrived. My daughter got nose bleeding and I had a blood vessel pops which happened on the next day. It was so terrible that we asked to move to another room but the staff told us the rooms are fulled. So the staff gave us a "HONEYMOON ROOM" (room 220) instead with a king and a queen beds on the next day. But, the switch lights in the bathroom are not dimmed enough and we have to wait for 2 mins to get it bright. Also, the lights in the bathroom will go automatically off after 5-10 mins. It's kinda creepy. Inside the room it had a broken jacuzzi that we won't be able to use. And the lights were very dimmed. There wasn't any fridge in the room until we ask for one, the tv wasnt working and the wi-fii was terrible. The beds are not comfortable . We tried to use the pool but, it was dirty and the jacuzzi was empty. And the staff asked us to go to CRIMSON HOTEL (next door) to use their pool and jacuzzi instead. Also, the distance to the MANHATTAN BEACH was like 15-20 mins walk. There is Target from one block to the hotel. BASKINS ROBBINS, JACK IN THE BOX and O SHO SUSHI, THAI restaurants are across the street. And we were just 10-15 mins drive to the LAX airport. Besides, some of the rooms were still in renovations. Also, if you need help on anything, just ask the staff named CRYSTAL..she is very nice and friendly. Besides, the manager, Chris was not helpful at all. He was USELESS! . All he said, "I'm sorry to hear that but nothing I can do to help you"..That's to be honest here. I wouldn't recommend for anyone to stay in this hotel. After we got back home, we all got sick from this place. So disgusting and terrible service.

Room Tip: Room 123 had bugs and room 220 was very dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princesscali2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Worn looking building all areas, needs proper care, paint and maintenance, Disgusting looking pool and empty jacuzzi - take those off the list of amenities since unusable! Noisy refrigerator, desk drawer installed upside down and coffee maker rusty and unassembled! Construction workmanship needs more training as the light switch in the bathroom did not fully cover the wall cut out. the lighting in the rooms was very bright but not Dimmable anywhere especially over the beds. The beds were just just above bargain basement beds in that at least the springs did not poke into us and the pillows dont deserve to be called pillows perhaps a rolled up sweatshirt would be more comfortable.

idc about any hotel free wif bc I stay off of open public networks - much safer that way...just get an unlimited data plan.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed at The Wave for a couple of nights, arrived early but the staff were happy to check us into our room. Rooms are serviced daily and clean, continental breakfast was included. The hotel is undergoing renovations so the rooms are very spacious and modern. Found the hotel to be only a 15 minute stroll from Manhattan Pier, and close to shops.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

Easy fast checkin. Clean room & bathroom Lots of parking. Good Phone service, Wifi is crappy. Big room with a lot of space. Small fridge and no microwave. Nice flatscreen tv. Complimentary breakfast was ok. Helpful staff. Beds were comfy but dirty stained sheets. Had them changed. Dirty stained towels, had to be replaced. The pool area wasn't in the best shape. Hot tub was out of service. House keeping did not start until late afternoon between 5 and 6pm if you can wait that long w/o a clean room or clean towels. Sounded like renovations were being done all night long loud banging sounds. I went out for a few minutes and somehow I got got checked out without checking out, super weird and shady knowing all my stuff was in the room. Great price for a few day stay that's about it!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Marz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manhattan Beach hotels
0.8 km away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
0.6 km away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
325 reviews
1.8 km away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
514 reviews
2.5 km away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
727 reviews
0.7 km away
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wave Hotel

Address: 900 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-5927
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range: ₹ 7,361 - ₹ 9,446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wave Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated boutique hotel in the heart of Manhattan Beach. We are located just over one mile from the Manhattan Beach Pier and 5 miles south of the LAX airport. Polliwog Park is also within walking distance. We feature newly renovated spacious rooms complete with Flat screen Tvs, Hardwood modern floors, new beds, new showers as well as free high speed Wi-FI, free parking and complimentary continental breakfast. The Wave Hotel is your ideal getaway for a relaxing trip lovely Manhattan Beach. We are the heart of the South bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Wave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing