We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at Best”
Review of Crimson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crimson Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Title says it all. This is an average hotel. It no frills. The location is close to the beach and LAX. Lots of Restaurants in the area. The room was clean, but tired. Could use a makeover. The pool was clean, however, the weather would not cooperate. Staff was freindly and helpful. Breakfast was the usual Comfort Inn selections. If need be I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zebrasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 109 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2010

The room has no ventalation. When you shower the whole room is wet. The staff is rude. There is no privacy. There are bed bugs.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank risla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suurge2000, General Manager at Crimson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2010

This guest claimed there were bugs in the room. Immediately after the guest reported this to the front desk, the guest was moved to a different room that they found to their liking and actually extended their stay for an additional night. The room the guest claimed had bugs was also inspected immediately after the guest had moved. We did not find any eveidence of bugs. In any case, all bedding was rewashed, the carpet was shampooed, and the flooring and walls were treated. The guest was also given a 30% discount for the inconvenience of having to move to a different room. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

We booked this room through priceline after reading the good reviews it had. We DID NOT have the same experience. We booked 1 room for 4 people. We requested a cot on priceline before booking as well since the 2nd bed wasn't a couple. The front desk gentleman could not have been more hostile about providing a cott. He was a pretty scary dude. He said we only booked for 2 people which wasnt even true. He then would not even provide pillows. One of our friends had to sleep on the floor with all of our blankets (they couldnt provide anything). Several things at this hotel were broken, including the shuttle. We were taken to the airport in a pickup truck. The internet also did not work, the safe was broken, and so was the hot tub. The rest of the staff was really nice but this gentleman ruined our experience. If you book here i hope someone else is working on that day.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marymelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Having been assigned a room with a very noisy bathroom fan, I was given keys to two other rooms to decide which was less noisy and without obvious problems. Having decided on one of these, I moved all my bags to the new room. Much to my surprise I awoke to find the the bathroom sink area was crawling with ants along the sink and up the walls.

The breakfast consisted of watery waffle mix to be made on a dirty maker, stale bagels and over ripe fruit.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChicagoGerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

My husband and I stayed here for one day and night and because I rely on Trip Advisor to help me make my hotel choice I thought this would be good. First, I must say the people that work at the hotel are very nice and helpful. Our room had a king size bed that was nice. The location was a nice walk (17 min.) to Manhattan Beach.
The carpet and furniture were very old and dirty. There were black ants everywhere in our room. The safe did not work properly and we were afraid to use it for fear of having our things stuck inside (this actually happened before). There was very little air circulation in the room and it faced the pool, so it was either air or noise. The free breakfast was hardly worth not spending the extra money for a clean room. Maybe if they offered oatmeal packets or a wheat bread choice.....

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mshtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
0.6 km away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
343 reviews
0.8 km away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
2.5 km away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Seaside Motel
Seaside Motel
#9 of 19 in Redondo Beach
125 reviews
1.8 km away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
793 reviews
2.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crimson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crimson Hotel

Address: 850 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-5925 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range: ₹ 5,314 - ₹ 9,397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crimson Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Manhattan Beach, The Crimson Hotel is your ideal getaway on business or pleasure. We feature a 45 unit limited service hotel just over 1 mile walking distance from the Manhattan Beach Pier and 5 miles south from the LAX airport. Centrally located we are close to major los angeles and beach side attractions. Our rooms feature flat-screen TVs,cable tv, Free hi-speed WI-FI, Free underground garage parking, Complimentary continental breakfast as well as a heated pool and spa tub in the outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Crimson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing