We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience El Matador State Beach
from US$ 175.00
More Info
from US$ 175.00
More Info
from US$ 146.32
More Info
from US$ 12.75
More Info
Reviews (720)
Filter reviews
720 results
Traveller rating
480
172
30
23
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
480
172
30
23
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock formations photo shoots steep stairs parking lot state beach porta potties low tide tide pools pay to park santa monica caves pch sand hike highway coast cars
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 720 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2021

A beautiful beach! We came to walk on the beach and hear the ocean sounds and watch the waves come crashing in. Saw a couple of starfish and at least one crab. Enjoyed walking around and through the caves/tunnels.

The day was cool and overcast so I wished that we had dressed a little warmer - we arrived around 8:30am and stayed a couple of hours. It did warm up some and I enjoyed walking in the surf.

The beach was almost empty.

There are quite a few stairs/steep decline down from the parking lot - no problem for us but just want to make others aware just in case it would be for them.

There was a row of porta-potties in the parking lot - disgusting as usual but a welcome relief at the same time!

At one point as we walked far down the beach (not into the area that was posted as private but at the opposite end) there was a "security" person there that said that some filming was going to be happening and that we needed to move out of that area. No idea if this was legit or a common occurrence but we moved back the other way.

Arriving just after the beach opened we were able to get a parking spot right where we wanted to be.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank Lorri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2021 via mobile

I was born and raised in southern CA. This is one of my favorite beaches in the Los Angeles Area. I prefer coming at low tide so that I can walk from El Matador to Lechuza Beach. But any time is a great time to go.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank sexylegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2021

We visited El Matador beach for sunset and it was absolutely gorgeous. There were definitely other people there, but I wouldn't consider it "crowded." There is a parking lot that is cheap and easily accessible directly off of the 101. You will need to walk down a long set of steep stairs to access the beach, so I wouldn't consider this accessible for people in wheel chairs or those with trouble walking or climbing stairs.

Date of experience: March 2021
2  Thank christineprogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 March 2021 via mobile

Stunning view of the sunset at El Matador Beach. Be prepared to be amazed. This is one of the three Robert Meyer Memorial beaches. In the summer time this place is packed and it’s impossible to find parking. But you can find parking along the PCH, but prepare to walk a long way to reach the beach.

Parking is on a cliff, so to get to the beach, you have to walk a few hundreds steps to get down. Once you’re down on the beach, the scenery is stunning.

Beautiful sea stacks are on the beach and in the surf. This is a popular spot for pro photographers to shoot swimsuit models and stunning sunsets.

Definitely check out the north part of the beach to explore the caves and arches in the rocks. The largest cave faces the ocean at the bottom of a huge flat rock that is connected to the base of the bluff. It’s best to visit these natural features at low tide. Continuing your walk north leads to La Piedra State Beach. If you walk south you will pass in front of stunning homes on your way to Lechuza Beach.

It’s best to go around sunset time. The only thing is that there will be a lot of people there to take photographs of the sunset too. So be quick to scout out a spot and then take your picture quickly.

After the beach, you can have a relaxing dinner in one of the well known restaurants along coast in Malibu and enjoy the ocean view at night.

Date of experience: March 2021
3  Thank 34regisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 March 2021 via mobile

An interesting beach, great rock formations and plenty of photo ops.
Pay to park in the lot and it fills up, you can park on PCH.
Toilets by the parking lot.
A decent walk down to the beach.
Would recommend.

Date of experience: March 2021
140  Thank bukagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews