We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“***** 5 Star First Class Luxury *****” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malibu Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Malibu Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, az
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“***** 5 Star First Class Luxury *****”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I have traveled extensively, and rarely feel compelled to write rave reviews of a place, but the Malibu Beach Inn granted an experience that couldn't be ignored. The hotel property is immaculate and beautiful, the rooms clean, comfortable, and gorgeous. The location is perfectly situated and the rooms overlook, in my opinion, the prettiest part of Malibu including the pier. The epic part of the hotel however, is the service. I've stayed in many luxury hotels and none have surpassed this top notch experience!!!

A few examples...upon check in, there had been a mix up with the booking company, Luxury Link, and although 2 rooms had been reserved, only one showed. The General Manager, Tolga, and his assistant, Avi, were extremely courteous and welcoming. Never did they question the mistake, instead they welcomed us in our disheveled state (we had driven all day in a Jeep with the top down and must have looked a fright for such a chic place!), offered us a seat and a glass of wine, and remedied the situation themselves entirely, all the while making us feel comfortable and at ease. I overheard them on the phone with the Luxury Link people saying they weren't going to "just place an extra hold on my credit card" that they preferred to simply take my word for it and get the confirmation sent to the hotel in the morning when the travel concierge opened.

The over the top service continued from there. We dined 6 times at the restaurant in the 4 day stay, and Will, Sam, and Marcella, were absolutely unsurpassed in friendliness, smiles, and willingness to please. Food was great, which should be expected for the price, but it really was the service that was so incredible.

A special thanks to Courtney at the front desk. She took several of my calls and personally ran over everything from a toothbrush to some wine glasses within moments of asking. Most importantly, when I inquired where I could go to send a package to a friend of my starting chemotherapy, she took the gifts herself, made a basket for them, and sent them out from the front desk, all the while telling me she "loved crafts" and was "sorry about my friend." The whole experience with Tolga, Avi, Will, Sam, Marcella, Courtney, and Rico was unsurpassed. I've never seen a happier, more customer service driven bunch. Malibu Beach Inn definitely gets the award of any luxury hotel I've ever visited! Thank you all sincerely, what an incredible stay we had!

Room Tip: Be sure to understand the waves really do make a bit of noise from the ocean view rooms. Some people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natalieelisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
We can't thank you enough for your outstanding feedback! We are so incredibly grateful for your kind words and wonderful compliments. We are elated to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us and that you got to take full advantage of the Carbon Beach Club as well! We are blessed to have had the opportunity to host you and we hope to do it again soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    127
    36
    27
    18
See reviews for
93
238
30
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Spent 4 fabulous nights. The staff is extremely helpful and appears always happy! Location is the best. The rooms are beautiful, clean, comfortable and cozy. Many great restaurants within a few minutes drive. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marieclaude f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you so much for your short but VERY sweet review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Oh, and of course we're all happy... we work steps away from the beach in the most beautiful city in CA and we have the pleasure of serving wonderful clients like you! :) - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

This hotel was purchased and remodeled by David Geffen (music industry mogul-Geffen Records). It is impeccable. This is by far the best place to stay in Malibu short of your very own million dollar mansion on the beach.

The property is small (maybe 70 rooms) and the lobby is smaller. It has a very chic boutique hotel atmosphere. The hotel sits right on the beach and the lobby is consumed by the restaurant and bar area both of which overlook the ocean.

The small restaurant is one of the best in Malibu but make reservations. It has about 20 tables total but 10 are on the beautiful patio. If weather conditions are not conducive to sitting outside then they only have seating for roughly 35 so consider that when making your reservation. The bar/lounge area is tiny with seating for roughly 8 people total.

Now, before you get scared, remember that this hotel is also tiny. At no time did we ever feel crowded in the restaurant or bar. Frankly, enjoying breakfast on the patio in the sunshine was one of the highlights of our trip. Even more interesting,I asked the bartender ("Will" I think) to surprise me with something made with vodka. He made the most interesting drink I have ever had. It was a sweet citrus drink with a hot chili pepper in it. He told us that it didn't have a name, it's just something he created. I enjoyed it so much that I made him "create" it a second time.

The rooms all have an ocean view, even the "pier view" rooms. I was very pleased with our pier view BUT here are a couple of thoughts. The hotel sits on a thin sliver of land right between the Pacific Coast Highway and the beach. With the door closed, the view is spectacular including the surfers on the point on the far side of the pier. Where you will notice a difference between the Pier view and the ocean view is when you crack open your sliding glass door or sit on your patio. If you have a pier view room you will get equal parts road noise and waves crashing. The PCH in front of the hotel has a 45 MPH speed limit. If you do choose a pier view ask for one closest to the ocean which will put you equally between the PCH and the water. Obviously the farther you get from the water the closer you get to the road noise.

Valet parking is $27 a night. This is not obscene (particularly by California standards) but if you choose, you can park your car on the street and skip the fee. In the five days that we stayed we never once parked in valet and the longest walk we had was maybe 25 yards. That said, if you have a nice car (ours was a rental), it might be worth the fee to have the piece of mind that your car is secure.

The hotel places coffee, tea and varying sorts of breakfast breads out in the lobby each morning all of which were excellent. As for location, you really can't get any better in Malibu. You can get everywhere from this central pier location very quickly.

Room Tip: If you want to crack your sliding glass door and listen to the ocean when you sleep, do NOT get a pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WellTraveled282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you so much for such an outstanding review! We are so grateful that you enjoyed your stay and we really appreciate that you took the time to share the details of your experience as well as helpful tips for those who may be staying with us in the future. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I needed to give myself a gift. So I did. Stayed at the Inn. It was really nice. Excellent customer service. Friendly and polite staff. Food was also very good.

My Complain:The parking fee is ridiculously high.

Needless to say, it is a perfect place to relax and reward yourself.

Room Tip: Get an Ocean Facing Room. Otherwise, it does not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroadagain201011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you so much for gifting yourself with a stay at Malibu Beach Inn and taking the time to share your experience with us! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a relaxing time! We look forward to seeing you again soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012 via mobile

Great little hotel. Could not get any closer to the beach. The staff is excellent. Restaurant for breakfast was great. We sat outside and listened to the surf. Reminds me of a small intimate European hotel. Would definitely go back.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you so much for choosing Malibu Beach Inn and sharing your experience with us! We're delighted to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations in so many ways! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malibu
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Beach Inn

Property: Malibu Beach Inn
Address: 22878 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Malibu > Malibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Malibu
Price range (per night): ₹ 32,484 - ₹ 94,967
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malibu Beach Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently nestled right on the sands of famed "Billionaire’s Beach," Malibu Beach Inn is a spectacular ocean-front getaway within minutes of LA. Since its inception in 1989, Malibu Beach Inn has become a beloved destination for both leisure and business travelers. After a complete, contemporary multi-million-dollar renovation, Malibu Beach Inn re-opened its doors as the only luxury oceanfront hotel destination between Santa Monica and Santa Barbara, offering guests unsurpassed levels of luxury and service on the sands of exclusive Carbon Beach. The Malibu Beach Inn is approximately 22 miles from Los Angeles International Airport. The hotel embraces the serene beauty of the Malibu coastline through its landscaping, architecture and interior design. It also embodies the spirit of one of Southern California's most exclusive communities through the warm hospitality of its multilingual, European-trained staff, its signature beach club, and a unique collection of artwork by contemporary painter Glenn Ness. The Carbon Beach Club features California coastal cuisine with Pacific Rim accents that is complemented by an outstanding and extensive list of hand-selected small-production wines from California's premier wine regions. The dining room offers both indoor and outdoor dining, both of which boast breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and the sound of the tumbling surf below.Guest rooms feature private balconies, minibars, coffeemakers, hairdryers, bathrobes, DVD players, safes, complimentary high-speed Internet access, fireplaces (most rooms), and private hot tubs (some rooms). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Malibu Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Beach Hotel Malibu
Malibu Beach Bed Breakfast
Beach Inn Malibu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing