We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't visit again!”
Review of Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avenue Hotel
Ranked #256 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Escondido, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Won't visit again!”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

One of the reasons I booked this Comfort Inn is because of the wonderful service I had at the Comfort Inn in Oakland. Maybe these people need to talk to Oakland. We went to breakfast at 9:10 and were told we couldn't get anything to eat. I talked to the manager and showed him the flyer in the room saying breakfast went until 9:30 (their flyer) and he said it was an old form and the breakfast ended at 9:00. I said I based my coming down to breakfast according to their information and booked the Inn because they served breakfast. While bickering with him, the woman cleaning up the breakfast area let someone else in to grab a few pre-packaged pastries. They did let us eat a few of the breakfast items. I will say, if you are white, you won't be treated as nicely as if you are not. The front desk people weren't very friendly either.

Room Tip: Be prepared to pay a parking fee and a tourist fee
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    87
    52
    41
    41
See reviews for
85
61
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

There are plenty of 4 and 5 star hotels in Los Angeles that offer impecable service and amenities that are as good as you'll find anywhere outside of Asia. But when it comes to finding an affordable hotel in a good location for under $100, that's a different story. There are a lot of scary places and hotels way off the beaten path. And what may only look like a 15 or 20 minute car trip on the map can often turn into a 2-hour nightmare on LA's infamous roads. That's why I have chosen to stay at the Comfort Inn whenever I want to take a few days in Los Angeles beyond what work will pay for. (I actually get to stay in many of the city's finest hotels for work but I'm not about to spend $300-$400 on my own nickel!)
The Comfort Inn is literally right next door to the city's Metro station that's just a few quick stops from Hollywood and the Kodak Theater. IF you don't mind a long trip, you can also take the train(s) to LAX, but it's at least a 1.5-2 hour journey.
It's also on several major buslines, including the Beverly bus that goes all the way through Beverly Hills and connects to busses that'll easily take you to Santa Monica and the ocean.
But what really keeps me coming back is the service and staff. Peter the manager is a great guy and his team are all efficient and courteous. They also offer FREE internet and a breakfast that includes eggs, sausage, waffles, toast, fruit, cereal and yogurt. The great irony is that the breakfast and internet would cost you an additional $30 or $40 bucks at least at the hotels that charge $300 and up a night!
Finally, the rooms are very clean with a flat screen tv, and a really nice shower with a massaging feature, a refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave right in the room.
Don't be concerned when you arrive - the street and outside could concern some people who haven't stayed in Urban hotels. But once you get in the lobby and are greeted by the staff, the experience will be a very good one.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevereviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed here for one night and everything was just right, including the price. The room was a great size and perfectly clean, with a big tv, a fridge, microwave & coffee facilities. Breakfast was basic perfectly adequate and all the staff were nice and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CornwallS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Stayed here for the first part of out trip for 5 nights. We took the LAX Flyaway to Union Station $7 and then the Metro Line red ($5 day pass, $20 for 7 days) to Vermont/Beverly Station. The Hotel is one building away to the left from the Metro station. We were greeted but a pleasant guy on reception and quickly checked in. The reception area looked clean and modern, we then took the lift (elevator) to the 2nd floor, the lift did not look as modern and looked like it could do with some TLC. The hallways in the hotel looked in a good state if a little dated, the doors to the rooms could do with a fresh paint job though.

The room was large with two double comfy beds with a bedside table and alarm clock between the beds, Two sitting chairs and table, A large unit containing drawers and cupboard below the TV, A large flat screen TV, Fridge, Coffee maker, Microwave, large walk in wardrobe (Closet), Ironing board, Iron and a safe. The room also had it's own air conditioning unit and free wireless internet access.

The bathroom was a good size with a large mirror and sink area, toilet and a low level bath and shower The shower did have a strange attachment that produced a rain effect as one of the settings.

The breakfast was reasonable including three cereals, a selection of cakes and pastries, bagels and bread that could be toasted and a waffle maker. There was also fresh fruit and plenty of juices and plenty of tea and coffee. A member of staff was regularly clearing up and keeping the cakes and pastries topped up.

The area surrounding the hotel felt reasonably safe, we walked along Vermont Ave (Left from the Hotel) in the afternoon and found a selection of shops, including a small supermarket and plenty of placed to eat including McDonalds about half a mile up the road. There are also plenty of petrol (gas) stations along the road. The area after dark felt reasonably safe, we felt safe enough to walk from the metro station to the hotel after midnight.

In summary - The hotel is a good location for travellers not using a car as it is in a great location on the Metro Red line that can take you to the Hollywood/Highland station where the Walk of Fame and Chinese Theatres can be found, Universal Studios (Universal City Station) and Union Street Station for Trains and LAX Flyway. The Hotel also has a car park and only a few blocks away from a free way.

The not so good stuff - The décor might not be to everyone's taste yellow and green in the room. Some of the paint was peeling around the edges such as at the bottom of the doors, the outlook from a lot of the rooms is onto other buildings, the breakfast selection is limited compared to other hotels and the breakfast room is small. The hotel is not in the centre of Hollywood and is certainly not near Universal Studios compared to other Hotels.

Room Tip: We booked online and signed up to the choice privaledges card to get the best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Si_uk_says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poway, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I would give zero star if I could. The owner/manager is the rudest and most unprofessional person I've ever seen in a hotel business, no smile, no greetings, just a plain stone face! All he cares about is your pocket and nothing more!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#115 of 350 in Los Angeles
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles
#140 of 350 in Los Angeles
290 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#46 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,484 reviews
Hollywood
Americas Best Value Inn - Hollywood / Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Property: Avenue Hotel
Address: 321 N Vermont Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90004-3510 (Formerly Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood)
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,755 - ₹ 13,588
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avenue Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles
Comfort Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing