We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Magic Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Westin Los Angeles Airport(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$ 157
US$ 145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 278
US$ 244
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza(Los Angeles)
US$ 294
US$ 265
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 348
US$ 276
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 278
US$ 262
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$ 186
US$ 170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Beverly Hills Hotel(Beverly Hills)(Great Value!)
US$ 1,114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$ 386
US$ 377
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$ 328
US$ 221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,209)
Filter reviews
3,209 results
Traveller rating
2,392
608
129
55
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,392
608
129
55
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree snackspopsicle hotlinefree laundry servicehollywood boulevardice cream machinemelrose placeone bedroom suitefull kitchenheated pooldvd playerchinese theatreapartment complexuniversal studioscontinental breakfastdining tablesofa bedhome away from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,874 - 1,879 of 3,209 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We booked a room here based on the great reviews on Trip Advisor. The staff was very nice and attentive. However, we arrived a little late due to some traffic issues, so ended up with a room away from the main courtyard. It was roomy. Really an apartment. However, it was very noisy, because the only separation from a neighboring unit was a flimsy door with a big space beneath it. Very noisy when the family next door (looked like it was still an apartment) started arguing after we went to bed. They also never made up our room when we were out shopping, though they offered to late in the day. I assume they never got to us before we had to get back for our 2 year old's nap, since we in a different building from the main part of the hotel. Overpriced for what we got. Pool was fun, though I was hoping that we would get a courtyard room, so that I could watch my 8 year old in the pool from our room while the 2 year old was napping. Conveniently located to Hollywood sites. Breakfast was ok, though heavy on the carbs. Some source of protein would have been appreciated.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room in the annex.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCCaliChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

After marrying in Vegas myself, husband & daughter drove to LA for a 4 day stop over and stayed here. Firstly, have to say that the rooms themselves are very dated and could seriously do with a freshen up and being brought more up to date. The rooms are pretty basic but we found them to be clean and comfortable. It is clear that this was once an appartment block which has been converted into hotel suites. But if you put that to one side we cannot fault the service you recieve, little touches like finding a daily weather forcast in your room every morning, the maids went to the trouble of putting my bouquet in a larger vase, the staff regularly come round the pool offering ice lollies to all, list of free snacks available at reception and a massive collection of DVDs to borrow. When you are at the hotel plenty to keep you going. The breakfasts are served from the reception area and can be eaten on the patio, or taken back to your room/balcony. Simple but enough to start your day. The parking is secure underneath the hotel with card key access. Ultimately we picked this hotel due to its location and it is perfect. One block from the walk of fame/chinese gruamans theatre, and a view of the Hollywood sign! Each night we would find somewhere nice to eat in this area and enjoyed the atmosphere of Hollywood. We have to recommend the El Capitan movie theatre which is almost opposite the kodak theatre. We went to watch the Avengers there, thinking it looked a little old school and had a wonderful cinematic experience. In short if you can look past the dated accommodation then this is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

What an excellent experience at the Magic Castle. The staff are superb, very helpful and willing to advise. Hollywood Blvd is only a 5 minute walk from the front door with all that it offers. The rooms are comfortable, very clean but could do with a bit of paint especially in the bathroom.

Would recommend this hotel every time.

We hired a car through the hotel and tripped to Santa Monica beaches, again helpful advice was provided and the car arrived as expected

Checkout the 25degress resturant on Hollywood Blvd (part of the Roosevelt hotel, the Guiness milksake is definitely one to try. This place was recommended by the guys at the hotel and it lived up to this recommendation

Thanks Magic Castle

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaunmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This hotel is great! Very attentive and kind staff. The rooms are good sized and the beds are very comfortable. Right in the center of Hollywood, and a short walk from Hollywood Highland center and Hollywood Blvd. Great pool and cucumber water.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyanddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We have stayed here twice in the last few years, it has everthing we need & a great location, both the rooms we stayed in were excellent, and we love the complimentary breakfast each morning, the staff are very helpfull and friendly, highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews