We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great suite and superb staff!”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, great suite and superb staff!”
Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in room 224 and were really impressed to find it was a suite, newly decorated with some very stylish furniture and lighting. Large lounge, dining room, fully fitted kitchen, twin bedded room, main bedroom with HUGE bed (although it was very high and difficult to get on!) and a very cute bathroom with some original tiling giving a great retro feel.
We too were welcomed at the front desk during the check-in by a champagne glass of lemonade. The Hotel has definitely the best and nicest staff! The free snacks and drinks were a great added bonus as was the heated pool! Only 5 mins walk to Hollywood Blvd and Chinese theatre. We bought the 48 hour tour bus ticket and enjoyed the trips although the pre recorded comentary had a most irritating 'fake' English voice!
Booked at front desk for Saturday lunch at Magic Castle. Great buffet, great close-up magic and very interesting building.
Realised we were very close to L.A Ink so took a walk to have look and a photo... Left 2 hours later and with the addition of a fantastic tattoo and host of photos!
If we get back this way will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twosheffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,235
    567
    122
    51
    24
See reviews for
1,398
782
67
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We booked a room here based on the great reviews on Trip Advisor. The staff was very nice and attentive. However, we arrived a little late due to some traffic issues, so ended up with a room away from the main courtyard. It was roomy. Really an apartment. However, it was very noisy, because the only separation from a neighboring unit was a flimsy door with a big space beneath it. Very noisy when the family next door (looked like it was still an apartment) started arguing after we went to bed. They also never made up our room when we were out shopping, though they offered to late in the day. I assume they never got to us before we had to get back for our 2 year old's nap, since we in a different building from the main part of the hotel. Overpriced for what we got. Pool was fun, though I was hoping that we would get a courtyard room, so that I could watch my 8 year old in the pool from our room while the 2 year old was napping. Conveniently located to Hollywood sites. Breakfast was ok, though heavy on the carbs. Some source of protein would have been appreciated.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCCaliChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merriott, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

After marrying in Vegas myself, husband & daughter drove to LA for a 4 day stop over and stayed here. Firstly, have to say that the rooms themselves are very dated and could seriously do with a freshen up and being brought more up to date. The rooms are pretty basic but we found them to be clean and comfortable. It is clear that this was once an appartment block which has been converted into hotel suites. But if you put that to one side we cannot fault the service you recieve, little touches like finding a daily weather forcast in your room every morning, the maids went to the trouble of putting my bouquet in a larger vase, the staff regularly come round the pool offering ice lollies to all, list of free snacks available at reception and a massive collection of DVDs to borrow. When you are at the hotel plenty to keep you going. The breakfasts are served from the reception area and can be eaten on the patio, or taken back to your room/balcony. Simple but enough to start your day. The parking is secure underneath the hotel with card key access. Ultimately we picked this hotel due to its location and it is perfect. One block from the walk of fame/chinese gruamans theatre, and a view of the Hollywood sign! Each night we would find somewhere nice to eat in this area and enjoyed the atmosphere of Hollywood. We have to recommend the El Capitan movie theatre which is almost opposite the kodak theatre. We went to watch the Avengers there, thinking it looked a little old school and had a wonderful cinematic experience. In short if you can look past the dated accommodation then this is highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

What an excellent experience at the Magic Castle. The staff are superb, very helpful and willing to advise. Hollywood Blvd is only a 5 minute walk from the front door with all that it offers. The rooms are comfortable, very clean but could do with a bit of paint especially in the bathroom.

Would recommend this hotel every time.

We hired a car through the hotel and tripped to Santa Monica beaches, again helpful advice was provided and the car arrived as expected

Checkout the 25degress resturant on Hollywood Blvd (part of the Roosevelt hotel, the Guiness milksake is definitely one to try. This place was recommended by the guys at the hotel and it lived up to this recommendation

Thanks Magic Castle

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agoura
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This hotel is great! Very attentive and kind staff. The rooms are good sized and the beds are very comfortable. Right in the center of Hollywood, and a short walk from Hollywood Highland center and Hollywood Blvd. Great pool and cucumber water.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyanddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,913 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#21 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,411 - ₹ 28,370
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing