We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis in the Middle of Hollywood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the Middle of Hollywood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

I had friends coming in for a visit with 3 kids, and spent a week scouting locations when someone suggested the Magic Castle. I stopped by and met Gabi, who showed me around. I was looking at 2 rooms so mom & dad could have some privacy, but Gabi showed me a one bedroom suite that was perfect! I texted photos and my friends booked before I left the property. From there, it only got better...

I was emailing Gabi weekly with questions, and she was incredibly helpful with suggestions ranging from florists to baby sitting services. The front desk staff took delivery of gifts for the family, which they put in the room before my friends arrived. The gifts were actually snacks, which were completely unnecessary, since they were able to have anything they wanted whenever they wanted it. My favorite part was the artistic display of chips someone set up on the dining room table when we walked in!

Upon check in, my friend asked to put down a credit card for incidentals, and was informed there WERE no incidentals; continental breakfast, unlimited snacks & a pretty nice DVD collection, all included. Oh, and the pool's open 24 hours! OK, so the kids are in heaven.

The service is hands-down the best I've experienced in the city. The entire front desk team went out of their way to make sure every guest was happy at all times. They knew where to go (thanks Zeeshan), what to do (thanks Nick), and where to get a pizza delivered at 10:45 on a Tuesday night (thanks Joslin). I was also given a guest parking pass for the duration of my friends' stay (yay Zeeshan).

Housekeeping is quick,efficient and always has a smile & a hello whenever you pass them...even in the garage.

I live a mile away, and I do not stay at family friendly hotels...ever! I don't have anything against family centric hotels, but don't have children and place a high value on peace and quiet when I travel.

While I did not stay here, I did spend a considerable amount of time on the property. In spite of being one block off Hollywood Blvd, family centric, and having a pool that's open 24 hours, I felt relaxed every time I walked through the front door. I can't wait to book a stay-cation here!

Gabi, Zeeshan, Nick, Joslin, Marzia & Lisa--BRAVO & THANK YOU!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,220
    564
    121
    51
    23
See reviews for
1,386
777
67
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

I just came back from a vacation to southern California, and my children and I stayed in three different properties, the Magic Castle being our last one before heading to Las Vegas.

I had booked a room at the Hollywood Hills Hotel looking forward to a great view. When I was checking in I had the great honor of being checked in by the most gracious gentleman I had ever met. Z. was very upbeat and suggested I stay at the Magic Castle, and pointed out the benefits of staying "down the hill." The pool "up the hill" is not heated, all the snacks, breakfast, and parking are all "down the hill." I told Z. that the only reason why I booked up the hill was because of the view I was looking forward to. He told me that the room I was getting didn't have much of a view, but it was my choice if I wanted to go up or stay down the hill. The price was the same, so I decided to stay at the Magic Castle.

He was very, very professional and made me feel like the most important person to him. He really made me feel very welcome and at ease. My kids were able to get all the snacks they wanted, plus sodas and that was a big hit with them.

We stayed in room 213 and I was knocked off my feet to see what a bargain this place really is. It's got a humongous living room with a queen size sleeper sofa already made. It has a comfy king size bed, bathroom with regular amenities. It has a comfy full size kitchen with stove, fridge, microwave, pots, pans, glasses, plates, spoons, etc. etc. The dining room has a table with chairs where you can have a really nice meal.

The hotel is only one block from Hollywood Blvd. and the Walk of Fame, and I kid you not, my teenage kids opted NOT going to Universal Studios, but instead we went on a Hollywood/Beverly Hills tour the day we checked into the hotel, and the next day they spent the day on the Walk of Fame taking pics and buying souvenirs. I rested in the room and when they came back from walking, they took a nice dip in the pool. They loved it, loved it, loved it.

If I would've known about how great this place really is, I would've booked the room for all of the nights I spent in California.

I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Parking garage is a tight squeeze, but it's doable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Nereida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. Although my stay is not long, I was impressed by the friendliness of the hotel staff right from the point I stepped in the hotel. All the staff are very friendly and you feel so welcomed when you came back to the hotel everyday. The room was clean and comfy. More important, they have a large variety of snacks and soft drinks which you don't have to bother finding a 7 eleven around to get stock up. The location is also convenient. The surrounding area is quiet but just a block around, you will be in Hollywood and to the metro for getting around.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kero0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

My husband and I stayed for four nights mid June. We totally agree with ALL the positive comments made. The Magic Castle was definitely the best Hotel we stayed in during our 3 week trip on the west coast. We were put in a back room when we arrived. Nick asked how we liked our room and I said I was disappointed that we didn't have a balcony room as I had booked months earlier. He offered to change our room the next day. We packed our things together in the morning and when we returned later that day everything had been moved into a balcony room!!! Nothing was too much trouble. You couldn't not feel happy at this hotel as EVERYONE wanders about with big smiles. I must also say the location is perfect and we felt relaxed and recharged to continue our travels after our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room overlooking the pool. Be aware there are quite a few stairs to negotiate if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jkennedy232@Gma... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
124 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

I love this place. They call it the cinematographer's hotel, because they use(d) to stay here when they where working in LA for several months. This is one of the best places when in Hollywood, especially when you look at the price.

Rooms have fantastic size and it's quiet. Like I said in the title, this feels more like an apartment than a place to crash for the night.

Again: I love this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toekook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
The Garland
#10 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,890 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#13 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#19 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,473 - ₹ 21,678
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing