We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The reviews are true”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The reviews are true”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

What a fantastic hotel!
Took it on recommendation from trip advisor reviews and have not regretted it.
It s the little details that make for a great experience.
The location is incredible especially for the price. There is parking. A heated pool in a shaded courtyard perfect for the kids. Greeted with a smile and welcome drinks on arrival.
Complementary snacks and drinks, great continental breakfast next to the pool. Info on tables telling you what day it is(!), weather forecast for day and what sport, concerts and other things going on that day. Free DVDs to borrow. Front desk so helpful. Only downsides - noise at night if light sleeper, room a bit drabby and when we were there lots of other Brits staying!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markwoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,234
    566
    122
    51
    24
See reviews for
1,397
781
67
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed three nights at the Magic Castle Hotel and loved it. The staff were all very nice and helpful. The apartments were very spacious and had everything we needed. They are a little old around the edges but we didn't even care as the service, location and facilities were excellent. The swimming pool is heated and there's a laundry! There are also free snacks and drinks and a free breakfast! Unbelievable value in a brilliant location! If we're ever back in LA we will definitely stay here again. The kids have both compared every other hotel since then to the Magic Castle Hotel and found them wanting.

Room Tip: Don't get a room at the front as the street noise can be disturbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melb-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stayed at the Magic Castle for nine nights and was pleasantly surprised by the fantastic service, given the price. The hotel is located one street behind Hollywood Blvd, so it's close to restaurants, attractions and more.

The staff were fantastic - from the security guard, to housekeeping, to the front desk - and were happy to provide directions to notable spots like the Hollywood sign (although they neglected to mention the three mile hike up the hill to get the best pictures!). The free mini bar was a treat and the breakfast was fantastic, which made up for the properties one flaw - the ridiculously sized parking structure. It's small,yet there is enough public transport nearby to not need a vehicle. We stayed in a one room suite which was clean, complete with all the basic amenities including a fridge and a safe. Loved the bathrobes, free wi-fi and the cookies in the lobby. Sparkling lemonade on arrival makes guests feel like they're staying at a four or possible five star. Gary and Nick were extremely helpful.

Loved the turn down service! Housekeeping provide chocolates and even a weather report for the following day right to your door.

Would definitely visit again - yet would opt for the full suite if we were to stay longer. I would recommend this hotel to families too. If you're looking for a hotel with a laid back atmosphere at a decent price in Hollywood, this is it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannaJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

One block behind the Chinese Theatre and walk of fame...the perfect location! You can walk to all the Hollywood sights and the Hollywood / Highland subway station is just under the mall - and just one station to Universal Studios. We chose a smaller room ( Next time I would opt for a bigger one!! ) but the service more than compensated for the tiny room on the 3rd floor (no elevator)...sparkling apple juice on arrival, great buffet breakfasts and unlimited snacks and sodas...Reception staff were extra helpful, and the coin laundry (free powder) a real bonus at the end of our trip. Great outdoor pool too. The only place to stay in Hollywood!!

Room Tip: Spend the money and get a larger room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gotigers80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed for three nights in 1 bdrm suite while in LA. Quick 5 min. walk to Hollywood Walk of Fame and Graumanns Chinese Theatre. Also near Madame Tussaud Wax Museum. Service was great. Everyone at the front desk were friendly and helpful. Parking was very reasonable at $11/night and always found a parking spot. Free snacks, drinks and breakfast were also a plus.

We did switch rooms after the first night b/c of the street noise. Our room was facing the main street. The second room was better even though I still heard some street noise. It wasn't as bad as the first room. I will say that the rooms are dated and old. But it was clean and all the other perks make it worthwhile. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1moretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
The Garland
#12 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,480 - ₹ 29,153
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing