We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Unique and awesome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Unique and awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

What a great place to stay in LA! Great staff, location (Hollywood) and apartments. Accommodations are spacious, retro and comfy. This is an older property, very well kept. Ask for balcony apt. Go to Japanese Restaurant. Lie around at the pool, Walk to Chinese Theatre and anything you need the staff will attempt for you. A real hidden gem in the Hills. Watch out for taxi costs-just rent a private limo-same price ($80)..or take super shuttle for $16. Perfect for families who need more space, or extended stay where you want a real home away from home. Great snack bar and lemonade upon arrival. Wonderful DVD collection to rent. I can't say enough about this place.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony room. If disabled, let them know-lots of steps to some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorB325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,142
    538
    117
    50
    23
See reviews for
1,317
755
64
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Defiance, Missouri
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Arriving and checking in at the Magic Castle was a pleasure after traveling all day. The staff made you feel welcome and were quick to meet all needs during check in and any need we had during our one night stay. The free continental breakfast was well done and had abundant selections to satisfy many tastes.

The location of the hotel is perfect if you want to visit the Walk of Fame, Kodak Theater, Chinese Theater and view the famous Hollywood sign.

Our room was a one bedroom facing the street. The building itself is vintage and room is not on par with more modern facilities. However, the hospitality and housekeeping staff are above par and makes the stay at Magic Castle worthwhile. The noise for street side rooms that has been noted by other patrons is appropriate however you are staying in the city so noise should be anticipated. The access to the hotel is controlled and parking is secured.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to see and experience Hollywood.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParadiseBlond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I stayed both here and at the best western in LA and for the price being the same (in fact I think MC was cheaper!) MC was soo much better.
Best location- just off the main blv but only a few minutes walk. To many homeless people to stay on the main Rd.
My brother n I stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment. I stayed in the lounge room on the fold out couch which was comfy and gave us space if ur travelling with family or multiple couples.
The apartment was on the bottom floor next to the clean pool with a kitchen and unlimited complimentary drinks and snacks from the receptionist which was a great touch!
The receptionist was the most accommodating person I have ever met on a holiday. He gave us maps and suggestions but most of all was just genuinely friendly!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lana_marie_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Spent one night here with three others. We got a two bedroom suite for around three hundred. At our arrival Gretchen was very friendly and offered a list of snacks and drinks free of charge to take to our room. In the morning, Ricky had an amazing spread waiting for us and we enjoyed our flavored coffee and our usa today. Lastly, Lisa was extremely helpful in helping us to plan our day in Hollywood. The staff was incredible, thank you to all of them.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wm49555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I travel quite a bit to Los Angeles and have stayed at a variety of hotels. I've stayed at the Charlie, the W Hollywood, the Standard (both locations), Sofitel, Luxe on Sunset, the Hotel Amarano in Burbank and have rented three homes from VRBO.

By far, my favorite is the Magic Castle hotel on Franklin. I like this place so much that it's become my default spot for business trips and our favorite for trips with my two young kids.

Why is this nondescript "garden apartment" style hotel my favorite? A few reasons:

1) The location can't be beat. You're in the heart of Hollywood with easy access to the major freeways.

2) You get access to the Magic Castle. While the drinks are overpriced and the food is mediocre, it's an experience not to be missed.

3) The rooms at the hotel are HUGE. They are all one bedroom suites and perfect for the visiting family that needs a kitchen and room for kids to relax.

4) The services is fantastic. Unlike the major chains, the Magic Castle doesn't nickle & dime you at every turn. The wi-fi is free, the snacks are free, they even gave us a free postcard stamp! It's the little touches. The staff and General Manager are all very nice and overly accommodating.

Don't let the modest exterior fool you. This is by far the best hotel deal in Los Angeles.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the recently remodeled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeluxoDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#17 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
The Garland
#12 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,110 - ₹ 22,325
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing