We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$275
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/06/22
Booking.com
$295
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/06/22
Destinia.com
$255
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/06/22
Priceline$295
Hotels.com$275
travelup.com$272
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,580)
Filter reviews
1,580 results
Traveller rating
797
592
139
39
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
797
592
139
39
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews venice beach fire pit abbot kinney small pool hot tub front desk staff skinner suite parking hammocks california hip uber
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,580 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2021 via mobile

This is a great, well-located hotel. We rated while visiting our daughter for a long weekend, and we had a very comfortable, enjoyable stay.
PROS-
Really appreciated that it was walking distance to restaurants, beach, Marina, and shopping— LOVE ABBOTT KINNEY ST! (Great shops and restaurants, a great California vibe vs another mall experience). Helped to avoid excess Uber/traffic etc.
The front desk was super helpful and available 24/7, which we have not always found in other post-Covid stays.
The hot tub and pool area was also a fun amenity to have onsite, and useable even when it was 55°!
Room was very spacious, the suite gave us plenty of room and loved the quirky California-Venice style.

CONS-
The room was clean, however a distinct musty smell— it smelled a bit like a pool, but being near the ocean I am sure it can be hard to keep the humidity out.
The carpet squares were kind of uneven and bumpy, and peeling up.
Water pressure was low, and not a lot of mirror space.

Overall, my first impression of the hotel was not great given the smell and disrepair…. but the hotel grew on me!We came to really appreciate the location and space, especially for such a great price!! I don’t think you can beat it in Venice, but depending on what you are looking for, you may want to consider neighboring Santa Monica or Marina Del Rey if you want something a little more upscale.

Room tip: Higher up rooms are quieter
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank msphilli77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2021

The worst hotel experience I have ever had. The keys didnt work. We asked doe a crib and it was broken and had strawberries in it! Dirty room and smelled bad. Then we called the desk for another crib and it was also broken, and we called the desk again and they hung up! His name was Alex. NEVER AGAIN. AWFUL hotel.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank vele09
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 September 2021

My boyfriend and I needed a location close to LAX for a one-night layover stay before heading to Mexico, and The Kinney was the perfect choice. Just a 15 minute drive from the airport, The Kinney offered a great location, fun and clever decor, and a comfortable place to stay the night. Although we didn't have time to use it, the courtyard and hot tub are nice additions to the hotel as well. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. While this isn't a luxury hotel, it is good value for your money.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank victoriamoriarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2021

A couple of nights in a reasonably-priced suite did us a solid this time around, would consider a return stay.

Things to like include easy parking and a location within walking distance of beachfront or Abbot Kinney - both about 15 mins away. Plenty of good eating and drinking options nearby, too.

The suite/room was well fitted out, clean and sizable enough. Comfy bed, decent shower.

The property itself is decorated with a lot of flair. A lot of it is a miss (especially the external carpet), but the outdoor spaces provide a nice meeting spot and will be a bit more vibey if/when the bar reopens. We did feel the loss of any onsite food or drink options.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank tropicalkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron Rhodes, General Manager at The Kinney Venice Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2021

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey. Your feedback is essential in our effort to improve our service standards. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate departments so that they may be addressed. We hope to have you as our guest when your travels bring you back to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2021

I stayed at The Kinney for three nights and was really surprised at the comfy the room and bed was. The customer service was awesome - Denise at the front is a gem. I requested a quiet room, and they put me on the third floor, facing a few peaceful hammocks. Our kids really enjoyed the table tennis and pool. The location is awesome. I'll be back!

Date of stay: April 2021
1  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron Rhodes, General Manager at The Kinney Venice Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2021

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your review. We hope to have you as our guests in the future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews