We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Ranked #54 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
399 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I stayed at the Universal Hilton for 6 nights during vacation, and I can't say enough good things about my stay. I was concerned about the location, but as soon as I arrived I knew I had made the right choice. The first room I was given was on the 19th floor, overlooking the 101 freeway. I called down to the front desk, and they were kind enough to move me to another room on the 17th floor, away from the freeway noise. I booked a king bed alcove room, and it was quite spacious. There was a couch and small mini-fridge in the room, and a wall of windows overlooking the mountains and Universal. As a Hilton HHonors member, I received a complimentary fruit plate and bottled water the first two nights I was there. Service was excellent all around! The hotel is situated right next to Universal Studios and Universal CityWalk, and there is a free shuttle if you choose not to walk. The Metro stop is at the bottom of the (steep) hill; I walked down, but took the shuttle/tram back up to CityWalk from there and walked back to the hotel. Hollywood/Highland is one Metro stop away from the hotel. Parking is easy in the underground garage, and freeway access is very close. The pool was heated perfectly, and the pool area was a welcome respite from the busy-ness of the surrounding area. I had no problems during my stay, and the service was top-notch. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Hollywood and/or Universal area!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Universal, away from the freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lirwin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,312
    1,188
    521
    197
    120
See reviews for
1,471
812
128
449
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location, less than 5mins walk from Universal Studios. The staff are very friendly and helpful, breakfast buffet is very good and the food is fresh. The hotel is spotless and rooms cleaned everyday. Would go here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room facing Universal Studios for an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 206trish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
243 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stayed here three nights. Perfect for going to Universal Studies, but that's also the reason I never stayed here before (too "touristy" a location for business). However, I was pleasantly surprised by the location. It's sandwiched between the 101 and 134 freeways... which means it's a good location to access the San Fernando Valley, Hollywood, or Pasadena whichever direction you want to go. From that standpoint, it's a pretty good base for exploring L.A. (only beaches are less accessible). Otherwise, it's a fairly standard Hilton. I was on a floor BELOW the lobby which gave it a subterranean feel. I would've appreciated more light and a view. Front desk staff seemed a bit clueless when the group I was with was needing to check in a little early (one staffer knew how to find available rooms while the other one had people camping out in the lobby for 30-60 minutes waiting for a room... finally, they talked to each other). Only other disappointment was that the pool was closed for repair.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyGuy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Very comfortable and upmarket hotel. Rooms are a little bit on the dated side but very well maintained. Very comfortable King Beds and pillows.

Our room was dirty on arrival but Rory on reception was excellent and sorted it out straight away and had a porter move us to another room which was lovely.
Great view of Universal Studios from the room. Food and room service fantastic - pool quite small but nice. Staff all very nice and courteous.

Up a VERY steep hill but there is a shuttle bus. We took a taxi down to the metro to go to Hollywood. This is a lovely hotel and although it is not centrally located it was worth the journey as you truly feel like you are a millionaire living high in the Hollywood Hills - plus the beautiful lit up palm trees outside the hotel at night are stunning.

The Sheraton's entrance ( next to Hotel ) was very poor and stark in comparison to the Hilton.

Room Tip: Get a high floor room with a view of Universal studios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angelauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I stayed here for business and didn't know much about the area. It's in universal city which is really touristy but the location was easy to get around. My room was really big and clean. Bed was quite comfy and they had Starbucks coffee downstairs so that was nice. I dont know that I would stay again unless I were going to go to universal studios as I don't love being in the thick of a tourist area, but the hotel itself was quite nice. I loved that the staff was extra friendly and helpful. Would recommend if you needed a hotel in this area for sure.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biztraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#95 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
The Garland
#11 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#104 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#151 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
The Tangerine
#1 of 20 in Burbank
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City

Property: Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#29 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#55 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,082 - ₹ 25,674
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Gold level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located steps from Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing