We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was more than i expected it to be.....”
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #14 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 July 2012

The ladies on reception were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very homey and clean-. We were lucky to be there while a tv show was getting filmed there so that was very exciting. The run a free shuttle bus to universal studios and to the subway. The breakfast buffet was worth the price, no doubt in mind it was yummy.
I would stay here again next time i go to the states......

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

We appreciate you choosing The Beverly Garland for your accommodations while visiting the Universal area. I am so happy see that you enjoyed the filming, we like bringing Hollywood closer to our guests. Can’t wait for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,235 - 2,239 of 3,165 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights. The room was spacious and clean. It was quiet and met our needs. It was nice having the shuttle to Universal. It is a bit out of the way for some of the other LA attractions. Don't eat at the restaurant unless you don't mind lousy service. Not a great neighborhood to walk to restaurants, but cabs are plentiful in LA. The pool was nice and the kids seemed to be having a good time. The grounds are lovely and quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you for staying with us. Our apologies for your dissatisfaction about our restaurant, Tula’s does a great job but it is apparent that we did not succeed when you dined with us. We appreciate you letting us know because we want to ensure every guest walks away with a great dining experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn in early/mid June. Excellent front desk staff as my travel agent hadn't paid the hotel for my room but they still assigned me to room 705 in the El Dorado building. The room is directly next to the elevator but had no real issues with noise. The freeway next to the hotel also did not disturb my stay. The courtyard/pool area is very tranquil. There is free in-room wifi, large flat screen TV, hair dryer, air conditioning but no in-room safe. There are different types of pillows available but I still found them to be too soft along with the mattress.

The car parking is charged at $15/night and there are ample spaces. There is a free hotel shuttle to Universal Studio which is close to the red line subway. There is a restaurant on site. Those with cars, there is a large Ralph's supermarket located south of the hotel on Ventura Boulevard.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sky0000547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you for choosing The Beverly Garland for your visit to the Universal Studio area. I hope you had an opportunity to utilize one of the many complimentary safes we have available at our business center. Hopefully your travels will take you back to our area as we look forward to having you once again as our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

If anything we were not too pleased about, it was a bit too far from downtown Hollywood. A bus ride easily accessible about every hour is good if you have the patience, only one dollar. A taxi ride to town between $15-20! Free shuttle to universal studios... Friendly and very helpful staff. Best holiday inn we have been in

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ssulliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you for choosing The Beverly Garland Hotel. We really appreciate your comment about the “Best Holiday Inn” you have stayed at. We try very hard to provide great memories of a visit to our hotel and happy to hear our staff stood out as one of your memories. We agree…they are very friendly and helpful…and also very dedicated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

After a 12 hour journey was told we had no reservation after refusing a single room we managed to get room we booked room ok but overlooked car park and for sone reason drivers started their coaches up at 6 to 630am and left them running very very noisy we were there two days and it was an ok base fior universal studios would I stay there again NO

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fbfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you for choosing The Beverly Garland. Sorry to hear we did not have a reservation for you but I am very happy to see we were able to find you a room which is very difficult at this time of year as we traditionally run a full house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#134 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,704 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,862 reviews
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#15 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,184 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: ₹ 13,658 - ₹ 21,620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing