We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay”
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #14 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Responding to a a family medical emergency necessitated making last minute travel arrangements. Being unfamiliar with Los Angeles, we chose this hotel for convenience and moderate price, based on TripAdvisor reviews but not knowing what to expect based on the many customer opinions; however, we could not have been more pleased. The grounds were beautifully landscaped, the rooms non-descript but very clean, the bathrooms spotless and towels plentiful, the restaurant very good and reasonably priced, the pool area immaculate offering complimentary towels and lots of lounge chairs. The well-equipped exercise facility was a very appreciated amenity. Additionally, the staff was so friendly and helpful, from Skylar who handled our check-in to Liz who delivered my morning coffee. The hotel staff also arranged for an additional room for another family member, arranged transportation services, and booked an afternoon Hollywood tour on short notice. Traffic noise, as noted in other reviews, was not an issue and parking was plentiful, convenient and secure even though there was a daily charge.

Room Tip: First floor rooms facing the pool are very convenient to lobby, business center, restaurant as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debbieo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for choosing our hotel. We are sorry that it was a family emergency that made your visit necessary, but we are happy to hear that we were able to provide you some comfort in such a trying time. I am very happy to hear that Skylar, Liz and many of our hotel staff were able to provide you quality service. We hope you have an opportunity to visit our hotel in the near future but this time at your own choosing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,222 - 2,226 of 3,130 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

My third Holiday Inn that was 'ok' and not spectacular. This hotel would get a higher rating but for the price. A very average room - totaly standard - for over $200 - seems too much. The interiors were tired and nothing seemed exceptional. My room overlooked the parking lot and was very close to the freeway and the noise was audible all night. On the plus side, a centre court area with a pool was very relaxing and warm. Breakfast in the restuarant was very good and great service. I'm not sure what's up with Holiday Inn's right now but they don't seem to be really 'showing up' at all as anything other than very 'average.'

Room Tip: Check-in early and get a room that is either a few floors up or facing the inner court area. I did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EKRICHES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for choosing our hotel. I am disappointed that we did not meet all your expectations but happy to hear you were able to enjoy some of our amenities and Tula’s Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed a couple of nights to visit Universal. My only problem was the freeway noise & as a consequence I wore ear plugs during the night. However it is a good hotel, decent size rooms, lovely comfortable beds, good breakfasts & just has all you need. Free shuttle sevice to Universal is a real bonus & helped in the choosing of this hotel on this particular part of our vacation

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrissym52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for choosing The Beverly Garland for your visit to Universal Studios Hollywood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

OK first thing, the noise from traffic was crazy, and all that noise was through TWO double pane sliding glass doors. The room was nice, ok size. Ironing board, iron, coffee pot etc was all nice. Carpet was stained in several spots, kinda looked like the carpet in the living room of some seedy apartment. There wasnt any toilet papae in the room, small detail I know, but it pissed me off. No free breakfest. I guess thats their way of getting you into their overpriced resteraunt. For a $280 room I exspecter alot better. For the price, I would never stay there again, and thats my reason for the rating.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel. There is way better places to stay that will be alot cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irritated88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

We appreciate you choosing our hotel and are disappointed you were not satisfied with our hotel and services. We understand that there is noise from the freeway as we are located adjacent to the 101, however, many guest find our location to be a plus as it provides them the opportunity to explore all Los Angeles has to offer with ease. It is unfortunate that you did not find the two double pane doors to be satisfactory in restricting noise into your guestroom as it does provide quite accommodations. I also apologize if you did not find the location for bathroom tissue as it was located under the sink counter. We also understand your disappointment for not having free breakfast included, but the hotel does offer room rates which include breakfast but it is apparent that you may have selected a different rate. Despite your dissatisfaction with our hotel, we appreciate the comments as we are always looking at how to make improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We found this hotel to be clean, nice enough but lacked the warmth and friendliness that I have experienced at other Holiday Inn hotels. The rooms were clean, possibly a bit heavy on the bleach, it was like a bleach sauna in the shower. We were in a kids suite which is pretty much a normal room with a bit partitioned off for the children, it worked for us, there was a fridge, kettle, everything we needed. The staff were ok, we were a bit disappointed that on the two occasions that we alerted them someone was smoking something other that cigarettes on our floor and the hallways were Thick with pretty stinkysmoke, they did nothing about it - not even appologise - pretty bad for a non-smoking hotel ..... They have a shuttle to universal, that was handy, restaurant was ok, there was lots of parking (extra cost).I have stayed in much worse but I guess I just expected more

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlane00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for choosing us for your accommodations for your visit to the Universal Studios area. My apologies for my staff not showing their gratitude for you bringing to our attention that someone was smoking in the hotel. As you experienced, every guest that arrives at our hotel are made aware and acknowledge the non smoking policy. Unfortunately we do have some guests that feel they do not need to adhere to the policy but I assure you that we do take this seriously. We hope you had an enjoyable time and appreciate your comments as they are the best tool we have in making improvements to our facility and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#130 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,682 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 354 in Los Angeles
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 354 in Los Angeles
3,807 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#82 of 354 in Los Angeles
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: ₹ 14,268 - ₹ 23,780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing